Jump to content

SithSinner

Members
  • Content Count

    29
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by SithSinner

  1. Does any know what happened to the support page you could go on for PDFs of rule books, FAQ and more. It was a long list of FFG games, including some that were out of print. It included stuff like x-wing, gears of war and Tannhauser. It seems FFG games redid their website and now I can't find it. A explanation on how to find this page on the FFG site or a direct link would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
  2. Is it acceptable to use huge ships in any missions because it is technically not 100 point standard play? or can you only use them in missions that already include huge ships (like running a GR-75 in one of the missions that came with the CR-90)? or can you not use them at all, unless the mission specifically says it is part of your force? Any ideas? Thanks.
  3. I think your correct, a reinforce token is not a evade token. Thus it can be used against the homing missiles.
  4. I am also curious how cluster missiles works with munition failsafe. If one one the attack is successful does that mean you discard the card, or do both of the cluster missile attacks have to be successful discard the card? Thanks
  5. With Lieutenant Blount and Ion Pulse Missiles, Blount causes a missile attack that misses to hit thus causing the attack to deal a damage, triggered from the missiles effect. I'm also curious how a munitions failsafe plays into this, because it says unless the attack hits, which technically it didn't at first until the missiles effect played. My interpretation of these cards is that Lieutenant Blount causes the missiles to basically be a guaranteed one damage and two ion tokens, completely regardless of attack or agility dice that are rolled. Munition failsafe then becomes pointless since the attack cannot miss. Is this logic correct?
  6. All four of the arcs get this bonus? or just the arcs that are on the section (fore or aft) that the card is equipped to?
  7. How does tactician work on a CR-90?
  8. If you are using two GR-75's in a epic battle, first of all is this legal? Seems to me it is because they are only 2 epic points and you can have up to 5 epic points, and as far as I can tell they are not unique ship (but their titles are unique). Second, does each ship retain its own personal set of damage decks, so you will have a total of 4 damage decks (not including the regular damage decks for small and large ships) consisting of ship 1 aft, ship 1 fore, ship 2 aft and ship 2 fore?
  9. Is this because of the you can only use an ability once per opportunity rule?
  10. If a tie phantom has advanced sensors, can I choose whether I want to decloak before I use AS or use AS before I decloak, since they both should activate at the same time.
  11. Wow, just wow! I've been wanting to do this ever since I started playing x-wing. Keep up the good work, I expect to see a battle report in the future!
  12. Ok thanks, I see it now. "If the attacker and defender both have abilities that can modify attack dice, the defender resolves all of his abilities before the attacker." R7 seems like a really good card then, especially if you run it with Tarn Mison
  13. Twelve basic tie phantoms, sigma squadron pilots, equating to 48 attack dice a turn. Fly them in a swarm and I don't feel like anything could stand up to that. That could easily destroy a CR-90 in 1-2 turns. Only problem is buying twelve tie phantoms
  14. Is this sequence in rule book somewhere?
  15. With the new R7 Astromech how does this card play out because I know in the rules it specifically says you cannot re-roll a dice twice. So does this mean you can only choose the dice they did not re-roll after they have modified their dice or does it mean you get to choose the dice before they modify their dice and then they can’t spend their target lock on the dice picked. I guess this could also be seen as an exception to the re-roll dice twice rule and you can re-roll them twice with the R7. I would say it means you can only pick the dice they did not re-roll after they modify their dice because it says "when defending." Any ideas?
  16. I would have to agree with Red Castle that is can be the ship with the ability. I would also make the argument that no range "0" really exists, range 1 is the closest to ships can be... unless I missed a range "0" in the rules some how.
  17. Very true, I have had Soontir one shoted even when I had a evade and 2 focuses and on the other hand I have had games when my opponent could never kill Soontir. However ships like the Falcon have a very predictable life span.
  18. Well said, I would have to agree with this. It really all boils down to what type of attack is coming at you. For example cluster missiles is a very good attack against ships with no agility dice, because you get 6 dice basically against their 0. While advance protons torpedos are extremely effective against high agility ships. This is why personally I am a fan of ships like the Firespray-31, it has resilience to both high and low attack values. I also am curious about the effectiveness of focus vs evade actions depending on your agility value. For example I find that focus can actually be more beneficial in defense than an evade if you have 3, 4 or more agility dice because you have the ability of getting more than one evade result with the focus. I think this also depends though on the attack coming at you. Against low attack dice I think the evade is the better bet because you will most likely not need more than one evade result. However against high attack dice, the focus is better because you need all the evade results you can get. One last thing worth mentioning I think is that it is always possible to get more evade results with a evade token because it adds the result to your dice pool, so if you rolled all evades on your dice you would get those plus the evade token to exceed the amount of evades you could get with just a focus. I would be very interested in reading your article about the statistics, this kind of stuff fascinates me
  19. With the introduction of even higher agility dice, like the tie phantom which can have 4 or more and now even higher hull value with the new imperial wave 5 ship with 12 hull and 4 shield. It raises the question for me, what is more valuable in the game for defense, having high hull/shield value or having a high agility value or even having a good combination of both (like the firespray-31). Is there some statistics or math behind your theories, very interested to hear peoples thoughts.
  20. Ok, that's what I was thinking. Thanks for the help.
  21. So I am wondering about how a ships actual energy limit (on its card) interacts with the energy limits on the ships upgrade cards, like hardpoints or ionized reactor. Is the energy limit on the ship its maximum energy for the entire ship, including the upgrades or is that just the energy limit for the ship itself and does not include upgrade energy limits. For example if I a basic GR-75 with ionized reactor can I only every have 4 energy tokens total on the ship and its upgrades (making it so the ionized reactor could never go off) or does it mean I can have 4 energy on the ship and also 5 energy on the ionized reactor (for a total of 9 energy) at the same time?
  22. Had not realized that, thanks for pointing that out. I've been running the Biggs list for a while now and it seemed a little too good.
  23. You can’t take two Reconnaissance Specialist because the card says limited, but I would agree with all the others. Also, I don't how you could quadruple even on a large ship. The max copilots is 3 with the Tantive IV title. Recon Specialist was printed before "Limited" was a thing. I just spelled out the full word. Moreover, I am fairly certain that "Limited" only appears on Team upgrades, not Crew. Tantive IV lets you take 3 in the Fore and 1 in the Aft, and all 4 effect your ship. Sorry I meant to say targeting coordinator not recon specialist The base CR90 has one copilot in the fore and one in the aft, and the tantive IV title gives your +1 to your fore. For a total of 3. However you do get up to 4 "teams" with the tantive IV title, which doesn't make a lot of sense because there are only 3 team cards (so far).
  24. You can’t take two Reconnaissance Specialist because the card says limited, but I would agree with all the others. Also, I don't how you could quadruple even on a large ship. The max copilots is 3 with the Tantive IV title.
  25. I do generally agree with that, it just seemed like a bit of the rules that are a little hazy. I suppose you could also make the argument that because mercenary copilot gives a unique ability that not normally achievable (compared to an action, like target locking or something similar) that it does not need the word additional to stack the abilities. It’s a shame because I would really like to flying around with 4 targets locks every turn and Han Solo in my Tantive IV
×
×
  • Create New...