Jump to content

Elder Thing

Members
  • Content Count

    17
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Elder Thing

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

259 profile views
  1. Elder Thing

    Status of monsters engaged with a defeated Investigator

    Many thanks for the responses. I missed the correct section in the Rules Reference, so thanks very much for pointing it out. I don't find the Rules Reference particularly easy to use. The cross-referencing in the index isn't particularly well done.
  2. Please can someone clarify what the status is of monsters that were engaged with a Investigator who is defeated. Are they still Exhausted until the next Monster Ready Phase? Or, do they immediately become Ready again, and immediately engage another Investigator if there is one in the same space? Thanks for any help.
  3. Elder Thing

    Rules questions

    I have a further question. With the obvious exception of those marked 'once per round', I have always assumed that there is no limit on the number of times a given possession can be used during a round. So for example, a Binding spell could in theory be used for every Combat Encounter during a round. Is this correct please? Many thanks for any help.
  4. Elder Thing

    Rules questions

    Thank you very much to all who responded. You have clarified exactly the issues I was unclear about. Your comments regarding paying attention to the precise language with regard to the triggering of effects are particularly useful. It looks like I've been handling this correctly during play, but, as I said in my original post, I couldn't find a reference clarifying it anywhere in the rules (checking both the original base gain Rulebook and Reference Manual). Does anyone know please if there is such a reference? With regard to the question regarding Task Assets again, I do seem to remember once seeing a clarification stating that more than one player cannot add tokens to a Task in one round. This would in theory be possible in the form of Player A succeeds in the task and then performs a Trade action with Player B, who then also attempts the task. Is this prohibited, or am I misremembering?
  5. Elder Thing

    Rules questions

    When an event in the game triggers multiple effects, are these deemed to happen simultaneously, or, can I trigger them sequentially in whatever way is most advantageous? Some of examples to clarify what I mean: 1) Darrel Simmons obtains a clue from a research enquiry and completes his Personal Mission. As the immediate benefit of this, he gains three clues. He still has his "seek the truth" task asset. Can he spend the clues he just gained from the Personal Mission to complete the task? 2) In a game where Yog Sothoth is the AO, an investigator defeats a cultist monster. This means they lose a point of Sanity and gain a spell. They also have an asset which allows them to regain a point of sanity if they defeat a monster (like say the Lodge Researcher ally). Can they therefore take the sanity loss and then immediately gain it back again? Also, for those Task Unique Assets which require some form of token (usually Eldritch Tokens) to be placed on them, is there any limit to the number you can add per round if you successfully complete the required action? An example would be 'Sealing the Old Ones', where you could in theory succeed in the Lore test needed for a spell and then discard it several times per round. I seem to remember reading once that there is a limit of one token per round, but can't find the reference.
  6. Elder Thing

    Antediluvium Mysteries

    I've just started playing my first game against Antediluvium. The wording on some of the mysteries seems a bit unclear. Whereas the mysteries for every other Ancient One I've played against make it clear where a specific Investigator carries out an action or the group as a whole, the ones I've seen for Antidiluvium just refer to 'you'. Whereas in some cases the 'you' being referred to is clear (e.g. only one Investigator could place a clue from a Research Encounter on the mystery at any given time), on others, I'm not so sure. The first one I've drawn is 'Dread Countenance'. This refers to 'you' needing to gain the Grotesque Statue Artefact, and then, in order to solve the mystery, 'you' discarding the Artefact, clues x number of investigators, and 2 spells. Is this use of 'you' referring to a single investigator, who is required to assemble all of the required elements, or all the Investigators as a group? And whichever is the answer, is this a general principle that applies to all the Mysteries?
  7. Elder Thing

    Various rules questions

    Excellent, thanks very much for your help.
  8. Elder Thing

    Various rules questions

    Just getting back into Eldritch Horror after not playing for a while. I wonder if anyone can assist with the following questions. 1) Spending a .... to place a.... When I first came across this, I thought you needed two of the relevant type of token (basically, clues or focus), one to discard and a second to then place on whatever card is involved (generally a Rumour or a Task asset). However, some comments I've read online suggest that in fact you only need one; you discard one and then take one to place on the card from the pool of available ones. Which is correct? 2) What happens if you are required to draw a card which is already in play (like, for example, starting with a new investigator after one has been defeated, and one of their starting assets is already in play)? 3) Effects which require clues to be removed, such as failing the 'Lost Knowledge' Rumour, would not remove clues which have been used for some other purpose, such as being placed on a task asset. If this is correct? 4) Even if your investigator is at maximum health and sanity, it's still permissible to take Rest actions in order to gain some other benefit, such as rolling to discard a condition, or using the 'When you perform a Rest action...' effect on a Task Asset. Is this correct? Any assistance greatly appreciated.
  9. Elder Thing

    Syzygy/Ithaqua

    {Deep breath} Ok, so after the several posts above in which the advisability or otherwise of continuing to solve Mysteries after Syzygy's Awakening is discussed, thereby implying that the rules allow it, what you are NOW saying is that you disregard the 'normal' Mysteries after Awakening? Really, I am grateful for the advice of anyone who responded. However, if people are going to give contradictory answers, this is not helpful I think I'll have one more go at this, and then probably let it drop. I'll try and strip the question down to the most essential and (hopefully) clear form possible: Syzygy Awakens, and the Ancient One card is flipped over. At this point, and for the remainder of the game: A) The rules allow you to continue to try and solve additional 'normal', i.e. not 'Final' mysteries or B) The rules DO NOT allow you to continue to resolve such Mysteries I think if anyone cares to answer, if they just do so by indicating 'A' or 'B' at this stage, that would probably be best Thanks again
  10. Elder Thing

    Syzygy/Ithaqua

    "The game has no way to differentiate which mysteries were solved before and which mysteries were solved after the AO's awakening." Well, actually, it does. It would do so in the form of a rule, which either allows or does not allow the completion of 'extra' mysteries after Syzygy awakens. Our discussion seems to have wandered slightly from my original question, which was not really about the advisability or otherwise of solving such 'extra' mysteries, and was instead about what the specific RULES position is in relation to whether this is allowed or not. Can I take it from everything that people have said that the answer is 'yes' - the specific ruling for the Awakening for this Ancient One DOES allow you to continue to resolve mysteries after the awakening? Very grateful for the continued help BTW !
  11. Elder Thing

    Syzygy/Ithaqua

    Many thanks for all who responded. I can't get the system for quoting from previous posts here to work, so I'm just going to copy and paste the relevant sections.. " .... so I can see no benefit to continuing to work on any unresolved mystery" Well, the benefit would perhaps appear to be this: "A substantial amount of Sealing the Portal encounters cares for the amount of Mysteries you have completed." If I'm understanding what people are saying correctly, though, the bonus to resolving Sealing the Portal encounters is derived strictly from 'normal' Mysteries fully resolved BEFORE THE ANCIENT ONE SHEET IS FLIPPED, and, therefore, there would indeed be no benefit from continuing to resolve 'normal' mysteries after this has happened. Is this correct? Thanks again for any advice.
  12. Elder Thing

    Syzygy/Ithaqua

    I'm slightly confused by how to implement Syzygy's Awakening effect. I understand the two conditions that can cause the card to be flipped over. But, once the card is flipped, do you then ONLY resolve the Final Mystery - or, are you allowed to go on resolving additional 'normal' mysteries, and would there be any benefit to doing so? Similarly, in the case of the card being flipped over due to the accumulation of Eldritch Tokens on the Omen track, what happens to the possibly partially completed Mystery in play before the card was flipped? Do you just abandon it, or complete it, and possibly then go on to resolve other 'normal' mysteries? Also on the Ithaqua mystery 'Exploring Hyperborea', the card states that it is solved by placing Clues on it, but all the Special Encounter cards for the mystery seem to mention the placing of Eldritch tokens on the card after successful resolution. I take it this is pretty obviously just a misprint, and what the card should say is "... if there are Eldritch Tokens on this card equal to half [number of investigators], solve this Mystery", but please can someone confirm that this is the case - or, is it the Encounter cards that are wrong, and the Mystery card that is correct? Many thanks for any help.
  13. Elder Thing

    Rest Actions

    Great - that's very clear. Thanks very much for your help.
  14. Elder Thing

    Rest Actions

    If an investigator is at full Sanity and Health, is it still possible to perform Rest Actions in order to gain some benefit other than the recovery of Sanity/Health, such as attempting to discard a Condition or using the "When you perform a Rest Action..." effect on an Asset? Thanks for any assistance.
  15. I've only recently bought the game and started playing, solo. I'm having a little difficulty applying the rules for selecting components based on their Traits, and how restrictively you should apply the definition of these. Some concrete examples might better elucidate what I mean: I successfully pass an encounter which allows me to randomly select an 'Item' Asset from the deck. I start searching through the deck. Do I: 1) Stop at the first card which includes 'Item' as ONE of its traits, irrespective of any other traits it may have. So, if the card in question is a 'Item, Magical Weapon', this would be the card I select. Or - 2) Stop at the first card which has ONLY the 'Item' trait, and take that. The only way to obtain the 'Item, Magical Weapon' as above would be through some game effect (most obviously a passed Test) which SPECIFICALLY refers to that combination of traits. Conversely, If the game effect instructing you to select the card refers to a particular COMBINATION of traits, this always takes precedence over any other consideration. Again, for example: The Active Mystery requires a particular Artefact to be obtained. It allows you to chose that Artefact from the deck whenever you obtain one rather than making a random selection. Now, you pass an encounter which allows you to select a 'Tome' Artefact. Assuming for the sake of example, obviously, that the Artefact you need for the Mystery isn't a Tome, which takes precedence? Is it: 1) The ability granted by the Mystery; you therefore ignore the reference to a Tome, and instead apply 'Artefact' as a general category, thereby allowing you to select the actual Artefact you need. Or - 2) The stipulation that you have obtained a Tome Artefact takes priority, so that this is still the type of card that you would have to randomly select, and you would not in this case be able to take advantage of the ability provided by the Mystery. Finally, is all of this made clearer anywhere in the Rule Book or Reference Guide? I was sure I read something to that effect on my initial pass through, but then couldn't find it later. Hope the above is all clear. Many thanks in anticipation of any advice people can give.
×