Jump to content

player1524454

Members
  • Content Count

    50
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. I hope they have at least another ID. I know it won't be for a while. I think having only your card pool restricted to a single box set is like playing with only the core set. Sooner or later you will want new cards. Now there shouldn't be as many IDs as the main factions or as cards, but all 3 mini factions cardpool should come close to a single faction's card pool otherwise what is the point of playing a minifaction ID? " I want to be very clear: we are not introducing a fourth, fifth, and sixth Runner faction to the game. The majority of the support these Runners will ever get is contained within Data and Destiny, and you will continue to see many Shaper, Anarch, and Criminal cards in the future." To me that doesn't make it sound like there'll be a second ID or even very many cards ouside of Data and Destiny for any of the mini factions. Besides, design space seems limited in that area, since the focus of two of the factions seems quite narrow and the third is basically a "blank" ID. However, with each of the new Ids having 25 Influence I don't think they need as much in-faction support, since they have the option to use other existing and upcoming cards (and possibly add a bit of a twist to them, depending on how their in-faction cards interact with them).
  2. You're right, even though it breaks subroutines Grappling Hook isn't an icebreaker, so like other non-icebreaker programs it doesn't have a strength value. Not being an icebreaker also means it doesn't have to match the strength of a pice of ice to be able to interact with it. So yes, it can break subroutines on ice of any strength.
  3. You are correct. Caprice would trigger when the Runner passes the last piece of ICE (somewhere between step 3.2 and 4), potentially ending the run and if the run does continue, Ash would trigger in step 4.4, preventing the Runner from accessing Caprice and whatever else in in that server.
  4. You can't. Both playing Events and making runs are actions, and an action has to be resolved fully before you can perform another one.
  5. From page 3 of the FAQ: "Trashing cards that “cannot normally be trashed” only refers to trashing cards that do not have a trash cost.".
  6. You get to expose one per copy. Card text usually only refers to the card itself, not other copies, so "using up" one Snitch's ability won't affect your second one at all and since it doesn't have any other restrictions (like "you may expose the frist unrezzed piece of Ice you approach each run", for example), there's nothing stopping you from using each Snitch for a different piece of ice. I'm not sure I'd recommend it, since you'd have to pass at least one previously unrezzed piece of ice (presumably by paying to break it) to use the second one's ability and even then it doesn't do too much for you unless you find out you can't break it and multiple copies do hog quite a bit of memory, but it's possible.
  7. Ambushes are "active" in Archives unless they say otherwise, like Fetal AI, for example. Whether they are faceup or not doesn't matter, I don't think there are any cards that care about that, at least so far.
  8. You can't "trash a server", a server exists as long as there are cards in it or protecting it and ceases to exist if there aren't, but you can't really interact with the server itself. So if there is ICE, that means there is a server there, even if it's empty, since there are cards protecting it and you are not creating a new server by installing something in it.
  9. You don't need a breaker at all, since the option to break subroutines by paying clicks is right on the ICE. So you can absolutely use your entire turn to run past a Heimdall for "free". It might not always be your best option but it's possible.
  10. I'm actually not sure about Awakening Center, so I really hope someone else can clear this up. I am, however, fairly certain about one of your implications, so I thought I'd mention it: Nasir has a single ability that does two things, if its condition is met, both happen. He could gain 0 credits if that's the Ice's rez cost but timing wise there shouldn't be any way to trigger one part but not the other.
  11. There isn't a real "rule" for it but Lukas Litzsinger has stated that Ekomind sets your base MU and any modifiers are applied afterwards (http://www.reddit.com/r/Netrunner/comments/2pjzem/official_ruling_on_ekomind_and_mu_items/). It should be the same for Bagbiter.
  12. Strength doesn't reset between subroutines. Once you've raised your Breaker's strength to match (or exceed) the ice's you can use it to break any number of subroutines (provided you can pay for it). The strength doesn't reset until the encounter with the ice ends unless your breaker says otherwise.
  13. Merry Christmas to you as well and welcome to Netrunner. Don't worry about getting things wrong, especially during your first few games, there are a lot of very easy mistakes to make and the manual isn't amazing in terms of teaching you how to play (although it does cover a lot of things, just not in the most easily understandable way for new players). As for your questions: 1. You do not get to jack out after the ice has been rezzed. You approach a pice of ice, then you decide if you want to jack out, then the corp may choose to rez it and then you encounter the ice (and aren't allowed to jack out until you approach the next piece of ice or are about to access the server). When you encounter an ice you may break any number of subroutines (if able) and after that the remaining subroutines fire. There is no way to prevent them from resolving but depending on what they do it might be possible to prevent the actual effect. 2. Type and strength are just the requirements for interacting with ice, you still have to pay to actually break the subroutines. If you do that you're fine but if you didn't break all of them you do suffer the remaining ones. 3. The problem here is that subtypes can be a bit complicated. There are the three "big" ones, Barrier, Sentry and Code Gate and the corresponding breakers, Fracter, Killer and Decoder (and then there are AI breakers, which just means the breaker doesn't care about ice type) but outside of that ice can have a bunch of subtypes that classify it and may or may not interact with anything and icebreakers might not even have a subtype but still only break subroutines on a specific kind of ice. The important thing is: The ability on your icebreaker that does the actual breaking always tells you what it can break. It doesn't hurt to know that Fracters break Barriers but what actually matters is that each fracter has an ability that reads "[cost]: Break Barrier subroutine". Deus X doesn't have a subtype at all but it has an ability that reads "[Trash]: Break any number of AP subroutines". That's how you figure out what types of ice you can break.
  14. I think Grimwalker's right, it's probably worded the way it is so you do get an access, albeit a fairly useless one except for the option to replace it. Also, cards can just say "You cannot access any cards." as evidenced by Feint, so it doesn't seem like they just chose an odd way of preventing an access, either.
  15. I obviously can't be sure how a card is intended to work without an actual ruling. However, if you take a look at the ruling on how to access Archives it says: "When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them." That does not mean accessing Archives allows you to reveal upgrades in its root, it only refers to card that were trashed or discarded facedown, and I'm assuming the meaning of the phrase "in Archives" on Industrial Genomics is consistent with the one in the FAQ. Or I could be completely wrong, that may happen.
×
×
  • Create New...