Jump to content

StephenEsven

Members
  • Content count

    951
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by StephenEsven

  1. StephenEsven

    Omega Leader vs Huge ships

    You quoted the huge ship rules that change how acquiring a target lock works. That plus the text on page 2 is what changes how attacking a huge ship works. No other effects are changed. Even though you assign the target locj to a section and can only spend it for rerolls if you attack that section, youbstill have a target lock on the ship with regards to any ability that is not a secondary weapon.
  2. StephenEsven

    Omega Leader vs Huge ships

    OL does not have any exxeptions in the huge ship rules so no matter what section he target locks he is still target locking the huge ship and this affects the whole ship. So the answer is yes to all 4 situations above.
  3. StephenEsven

    Tie Silencer issue

    Makes sense. I didn't check that before posting.
  4. StephenEsven

    Tie Silencer issue

    Your friend was only right, if he also had Primed Thrusters. You did not mention that he did.
  5. StephenEsven

    The Last Jedi - General Discussion [LOTS OF SPOILERS]

    I just saw it. I liked it. Some very interesting things happen. But still so many unanswered questions.
  6. The ability strips a ship of tokens ir deals them a damage if they want to hang onto them. If you have no tokens you do not care and just accept that you get stripped. The end state is the same wether you had tokens or not to begin with. The damage only ever vomes into play if you want to keep the tokens you already have.
  7. StephenEsven

    Vaksai and Saturation Salvo?

    Since Vaksai reduces the squad point cost of the upgrades you use the modified cost.
  8. StephenEsven

    Omega leader and no modify rule

    Cancelling dice is not a dice modification, and can oxcur whenever the card specifies. Omega Leader does not prevent cancelling sice.
  9. StephenEsven

    General Hux in Epic

    You assign the stress to the huge ship which then immediately discards it. So yes.
  10. StephenEsven

    Sabine+ bomblet generator

    If you mean does she trigger off the bomblet token then yes.
  11. StephenEsven

    Dutch Vander M9-G8

    Dutch has a Range of 1-2 so it works if the friendly ship is not at Range 3 of Dutch
  12. StephenEsven

    Harpooned! and kill shots

    Yes, I believe this is the correct order to resolve things in.
  13. StephenEsven

    bomb loadout and bomblet generator

    no. Bomb Loadout is Limited. So only once copy per y-wing
  14. StephenEsven

    Double Edge and "another weapon"

    I don't see a need for an faq. Two copies of the same weapon is still only one weapon. So you can not fire it a second time with Double Edge. This is no different from multiples of the same crit or multiple copies of a modification being denied on royal TIE or elites in an A-wing Test Pilot
  15. StephenEsven

    Epics shooting at small/large ships

    Still nearest point to nearest point
  16. StephenEsven

    Timing on palp's die change

    No Palp only allows you to modify the result of the roll made after calling him. Just because that result is added to the result rolled before using LF, does not mean he can affect any die on the table.
  17. StephenEsven

    CR-90 Usable As Standard Play Obstacle!?

    The whole point is to use your nice model as the obstacle. And please note that you do not overlap like you do obstacles. There are special overlap rules when using epic ships as obstacles
  18. StephenEsven

    So many things are wrong.

    Sorry I misunderstood the OP.
  19. StephenEsven

    So many things are wrong.

    RRG page 14. • If a ship moves through or overlaps an obstacle while executing a Koiogran turn, Segnors Loop left, or Segnors Loop right maneuver, it still rotates 180º when placed. • If a ship moves through or overlaps an obstacle while executing a Talon Roll left or Talon Roll right maneuver, it still rotates 90º when placed. So it sounds like they had this one right, and you didn't.
  20. StephenEsven

    I really can't belive i have to ask this..

    X-Wing uses a permissive rule set. That means that you can not do anything unless the rules tell you that you can. So ask them to show you where it says that they can use the maneuver templates during the Plannin phase. The Learn to Play guide page 5 and the RRG, both state that you plan your maneuver in secret using the maneuver dial. It also states that you use the corresponding maneuver template in the Activation Phase, when you execute the planned maneuver. That seems quite clear cut.
  21. StephenEsven

    FFG please include these in the next FAQ

    Evade tokens do add a result, which is exactly what OL prohibits. Per the rules when you add a reult you place a die showing that result to the rolled dice. That is different from adding a die to the pool before you roll. If they don't understand this concept they should read the RRG again.
  22. StephenEsven

    Loose Stabilizer Crit twice

    Yes. If you have multiples of upgrades or damage cards, that trigger off of an event, both will trigger.
  23. StephenEsven

    Frustration: Dice

    I think we have all had games like this. But probably not every game we play. It can be frustrating. First of are you playing with your own dice and the opponent theirs? Try using the same set of dice. In case your dice roll under par. Second, try playing arc dodgers. It doesn't matter if you only chip 1 or 2 points of your opponent every turn, if he can not shoot you back. Or try flying something that can change blanks to either focus or hits. There are several upgrades that allow you to do this.
  24. StephenEsven

    Frustration: Dice

    Since you are focused on Imperials, I will assume you have at least one of each starter set and hopefully a TIE Fighter and TIE/fo Fighter expansion. You can easily fly a TIE swarm or mini swarm with these. They do not have to rely on upgrades, but more on pilot abilities. Here Howlrunner is a very good pilot to boost your squad, because she allows other ships to reroll those damned blanks. How you fly your squad is also a factor. A squad of TIE Fighters should fly together and focus down one enemy at a time. If you face of 1 on 1 all over the board you will face more enemy red dice rolls before you can kill any ships. And while the dice are random and fickle, it is often more down to tactics and strategy than dice rolls, if you win or loose. If a TIE faces an x-wing, especially at short range, perhaps a barrel roll out of the enemy firing arc if safer than focus or evade.
  25. StephenEsven

    Frustration: Dice

    I am not sure what exactly you are frustrated about. When you speak about assigning Focus and Evade, I assume you mean perform a Focus or Evade action, to assign a Focus or Evade token to your ship. In general Imperial ships like TIE fighters have high Agility and lower Attack values. Performing a Focus action grants you a focus token, which can be used to modify either an attack role or defence roll. This makes it the most versatile choice. If you face only one or two enemies that can target you, this is probably a good choice, especially if you outnumber the opponent as he can not shoot all of your ships, and you are most likely to be able to affect your offensive capabilities. If you face a high attack ship that is very likely to attack you, an Evade id probably better as it guarantees that you can evade at least one damage.
×