Jump to content

ObsessiveGamer

Members
  • Content Count

    41
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Same problem with Daoloth's Other World adventure discarding.
  2. Okay, there's something about some of these submissions that's driving me nuts, but I never said anything until now. There are a whole bunch of defeats by elimination because people challenge themselves by not replacing their dead investigators. Now that's all well and good - house rules and other such variations can enhance the game! But shouldn't these be labeled as defeat by forfeit? If you had one investigator, and she got killed, and YOU CHOSE not to replace her as per the rules of the game, isn't that a forfeit? (I'm looking at line 439 here, but also most, if not all, of the rest of the defeats by "elimination.") The ONLY WAY you should have a defeat by elimination is to have 16 (or 24 if you're playing UF) devoured investigators. (And that would be very difficult (if not impossible in vanilla where no rewards have you removing doom tokens) to do with the way the doom track and devouring rules work.) So there should NOT be very many of these. I know it's not the most official data, but couldn't we at least try to keep it standard to the printed rules? I mean, it's not my data, so it's ultimately up to Tibs - just wanted to point it out.
  3. Well, it is reassuring that it's not just me! I'm on a Civ V binge right now, but as you can see I'm back on the forums, so I might come back to Elder Sign. I'm still fascinated by Tibs' skill dice... Anyway, sorry for hijacking this thread.
  4. Julia, have you played against the Arkham Nights Yog-Sothoth with, say, 5+ investigators? I am, as my name implies, an obsessive gamer - I have a tendency to get OBSESSED with a single game (or maybe two) and play it for days or even weeks as my sole entertainment until I pick something else and move on. Not intentionally; it's just how my brain works. But Arkham Nights Yog-Sothoth is what ended Elder Sign for me and is why I all but disappeared from these forums after haunting them day and night for however long it was I did that. Trying to play against him with a high number of investigators is what broke me. I don't like broken games, and it seems that in that situation, it's broken. I don't think I'll be able to bring myself to come back until I get a response from the developers on that - it will bother me too much. I'm not good at letting little things go - games come as a complete package in my twisted head.
  5. Hi, and welcome to the forums and the game! I have to know: how did you get an elder sign and a doom token at the same time? Do you mean in the same turn? I play the game linearly, because that's how we think and process time, and I don't see how you could get both at once. I could see you finishing a turn, collecting an elder sign reward, and then moving the clock to end your turn, triggering midnight and Mythos or At Midnight effects that spawn a doom token - but that's not at the same time, is it? That rule always confused me, 'cause I just don't see how it can happen if you approach the game, as I said, in a linear fashion. Is there really any other way to do anything?
  6. If I were to buy this game in ONE format: Steam or iPad - which would you suggest and why?
  7. I just tried another 8-investigator game against the Arkham Nights Yog-Sothoth, and had results similar to my post #6 here: http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/93628-slightly-scarier-yog-sothoth/ I'd love to know if FFG meant for him to be so difficult against higher numbers of investigators. It's the only Ancient One that, in my opinion, punishes you for playing with more people. I know he's a bonus Ancient One to begin with, but it might be more fair for his ability to say, "the investigators as a group must discard [number of investigators] trophies, or as many investigators as you are trophies short are devoured." I feel that this would make the game more feasible for higher numbers of investigators as opposed to the domino effect from hell that happens as things currently stand.
  8. Haha, alright. Thanks for your input, Joe. So you would also say that you could complete a task in addition to using the spell in a roll, then? Since the spell use exists outside of the dice rolling? I'll be curious as to what FFG says when the day comes that this FAQ comes out.
  9. [i'm sorry for the nonstop posts, but I am the queen of finding nitpicky ways to question the rules and they drive me nuts. Thanks for providing an outlet. I really do appreciate it.] Has the unofficial information given by Richard Launius as stated here: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/8114854#8114854 ever been officially confirmed and / or denied? I know this was kind of addressed in the previous FAQ, but I feel some questions remain unanswered, such as: does playing Bind Monster or the Flute count as a successfully completed task, negating your need to discard a die if your roll sucked (and also preventing you from completing any other task without rolling again (though if your roll was so bad that you need the spell to defeat the monster, I can't see this actually coming up too often except in the situations I stated in the last post: spells, Jim, curse die as pointed out by Julia, etc.) unless you're Amanda)? There are arguments either way. The FAQ states that "all of that monster's tasks are considered to be completed," which implies that you completed a task - so you would think all of the "you completed a task" rules apply. But then the fact that the monster need "not necessarily [be] at the same adventure his investigator is at" (which is the opposite of what Launius said) implies that this card exists kind of outside of normal task completion, and might not apply in the same way.
  10. Question related to this post I just made in the FAQ thread: "Okay, here's another one. On adventures that have tasks that consist solely of subtracting sanity and/or stamina, are you supposed to roll to complete this task? (An example is the first task of Dreaming of a Stranger, which requires -1 Stamina and -1 Sanity.) This would frequently be meaningless (unless you're playing Tibs' skill dice variant, but that's for another thread). A couple of situations in which rolling could help: 1) If you're seeking something to secure on a spell, could you roll, since you're technically completing a task, decide if you want any of the results you rolled for your spell, and then take away the sanity and stamina and complete the task? 2) Or Jim Culver could be searching for something to focus or assist with, since he can do this on successful tasks, and then the sanity and stamina could be taken away and the task completed. There might be other situations in which this would be helpful, but those are the only two I can think of right now..." Should you roll in these cases with the skill dice to determine if any of the bad stuff happens? Or are you not at risk in this case (unless you want to be for the sake of spell searching or if you are or are with Jim), since your task already hurts?
  11. Okay, here's another one. On adventures that have tasks that consist solely of subtracting sanity and/or stamina, are you supposed to roll to complete this task? (An example is the first task of Dreaming of a Stranger, which requires -1 Stamina and -1 Sanity.) This would frequently be meaningless (unless you're playing Tibs' skill dice variant, but that's for another thread). A couple of situations in which rolling could help: 1) If you're seeking something to secure on a spell, could you roll, since you're technically completing a task, decide if you want any of the results you rolled for your spell, and then take away the sanity and stamina and complete the task? 2) Or Jim Culver could be searching for something to focus or assist with, since he can do this on successful tasks, and then the sanity and stamina could be taken away and the task completed. There might be other situations in which this would be helpful, but those are the only two I can think of right now...
  12. Thought of another one: "discard" vs. "spend." I'm particularly thinking of Jenny and Ithaqua, but I'm fairly certain this distinction has come up in other situations as well. If Jenny "discards" a spell to gain the red and yellow dice, does she also lose 1 stamina for "spending" a spell?
  13. Maybe there's already an official ruling on this, but I don't see it. The situation: have an Other World adventure in play with 2 monsters on it. Draw the Mythos Insight card "The Way Closes..." (Discard one Other World card (of the players' choice)) "...Or Darkness Descends" (three monsters appear). The question: if you choose to discard the other world card, do the monsters get discarded as well, or do they get sent to other adventures? The "A Fresh Start..." Mythos Insight card says to discard all Adventure cards, Other World cards, and monster markers, then draw 6 new Adventures. The Dragon's Eye unique item specifically says to discard one Adventure card, along with all monsters on it, to get a new one. The common item Museum Map also says to discard 1 Adventure card, along with all monsters on it, replacing it with a new Adventure card. These three all specify what to do with the monsters, but the Mythos Insight card in question does not. An oversight? Regardless, what's the ruling?
×
×
  • Create New...