Jump to content

Greymere

Members
  • Content Count

    206
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Shadowsun's Stealth Cadre: "This card may enter play as an attachment with the text, 'Attach to a non-Vehicle army unit. Attached unit gets +2 ATK and +2 HP.'" So, contrary to your comment above, there is no text saying that you can deploy the Cadre as an attachment - only that it may enter play as an attachment. So if deploying a Deep Strike card means that the card has all of its printed characteristics until it actually enters play in reserve (and they are preempted), wouldn't that mean that the Cadre also has all of its printed characteristics until it enters play as an attachment (and its "unit" characteristics are preempted by its "attachment" characteristics)? Said another way, if I am understanding your reasoning correctly, a Deep Strike card is deployed as whatever it us right up until the moment the deployment is successful and the card actually enters play in reserve. And as such, the card is subject to all restrictions on deploying whatever it is (such as the Enslavement Dial) right up until the deployment is successful and the card actually enters play in reserve. If this were true, then the wording on the Cadre should follow the same logic - it is deployed as a unit right up until the moment the deployment is successful and the card enters play as an attachment (because its text does not say it can be "deployed" as an attachment - only that it can enter play as an attachment). But we know that's not how it works because the Combat Action on Ambush Platform ("Combat Action: Exhaust this support to deploy an attachment from your hand.") can be used to deploy the Cadre as an attachment - despite its text only allowing it to enter play as an attachment. This indicates that once you announce your intention to have the Cadre enter play as an attachment, the restrictions for deploying an attachment are applied, NOT the restrictions for deploying a unit -- which then enters play as an attachment. Doesn't it follow that once you announce your intention to deploy a card into reserve, the restrictions for deploying a card without characteristics into reserve are applied, NOT the restrictions for deploying whatever the card's printed characteristics are -- which then enters play as a card in reserve without characteristics? Further, if the restrictions for a "face up" side of the Deep Strike card are applied while deploying the card into reserve, how could a Deep Strike event ever be deployed into reserve, since events cannot be deployed by definition? Doesn't this pretty decisively indicate that deploying a card into reserve does not consider the characteristics of the face-up card during its deployment? Again Your comparison is not apt since one the text on both the Shadowsun Stealth Cadre and Gun drones specifies when its state changes to the moment it is being Deployed or Entering Play, your argument is that Deep Strike rules do the same is an assumption without rulings to support it. The fact that Deep Striking cards even go further to specify that interrupt effects to modify the cost of deploying such cards cannot be used further strengthens that position since if those cards had no characteristics what cards could modify them to begin with? Deep Strike rules further specify that Deep strike event cards can only be played from Deep strike reserve. and as Necrons do not include event cards from other factions its not really a consideration anyhow as far as the enslavemet dial is concerned. I saw no FAQ or rules to support your position about an Ambush Platform allowing you to deploy a Shadowsun Stealth Cadre, perhaps you can link those or are those unofficial rulings not posted to the games FAQ? Or are you referring to the entry about Gun Drones? Or are you simply trying to say all Deep strike cards inherently have the constant effect of having no characteristics simply because they are Deep strike cards? I think that's a far stretch to take.
  2. if it is being deployed as a unit, since the text on both those cards indicate they can be deployed or enter play as an attachment, no such text or description appears on Deep Strike cards or under the Deep Strike rules themselves as of yet. Hardly a similar comparison. A card being deployed to Deep strike reserve does not lose any of its characteristics until it enters that state. Your argument is that a card in hand loses all characteristics by virtue of being deployed to Deep strike reserve absent any rules to support this. There is a cost to deploy to Deep Strike reserve no, can you cite any examples where deployment costs and restrictions are preempted by the game state a card enters the game, that are not interrupts to existing gameplay mechanics?
  3. The wording for the Enslavement dial rule specifies deploying or entering play, the Deep strike rules specify you "deploy" to Deep Strike reserve, and when it is revealed it is not considered to have entered play, meaning the enslavement dial mechanic only applies at the time it is being deployed. Cards that have entered reserve do not have characteristics, cards deployed to such would have them until they enter that state, the mechanic of deploying the card would precede the game state it enters.
  4. You "deploy" cards into Deep Strike reserve, and when they come out of Deep Strike reserve they do not count as entering play per the Deep Strike rules. So the only time your enslavement dial has to match the faction you are Deep Striking is during the initial Deploy action to Deep Strike reserve, since the Enslavement dial restricts units that can be either deployed or put in play.
  5. Yup, though it still plays fairly fast with faster card draw and resources, I may trim down to 4 factions with a focus on Dark Eldar for more Event card recycle.
  6. Not really an issue of luck, I use 6 factions all under 3 or under cost units, 12 units in all 2 from each faction, my current build uses Resource and Card generating army units plus Promotion, and I have not had any issues, though I am toying with upping my deck size to 60 since I find I cycle thru the deck fast. Hint...Recycle and Drudgery. Staff of Command isn't really the main means of cycling thru a Sautekh deck
  7. With a Sautekkh deck Warlord you would likely be best served by including as many factions as possible ie all 7, however you may want to limit how many copies of each of those common army cards you include in your deck to avoid generating hands that aren't predominantly Necron You are predominantly using those other faction cards as force multiplier card effects for your Necron cards.
  8. it'll be released this Thursday I'm sure if a retailer doesn't choose to sell their allotment early.
  9. The Warlord cycle didn't include the short story leaflets, only the Tyranid and Planetfall cycles had them, and likely all future war packs etc...
  10. Three Core sets is ideal for deck building purposes, and if you are sharing a card pool with an additional player that's just more common cards available between the two of you for building allied decks. Only downside is the extra 73 cards you wont need per Core set in the form of extra planet and Warlord cards.
  11. We'll know soon enough since we've seen announcements for 4 of the 6, they could certainly put 6 warlords between the last 2 packs if they wanted. Having access to more non signature cards earlier in a cycle is nice either way.
  12. As with Tyranids you only need the Necron Deluxe Expansion to make a deck for Necrons, though you would need 1 core set for tokens and the planets and a selection of Neutral and Common Army cards from the other 7 non Necron factions to enslave. The Death World cycle appears to be a month behind the Necron Deluxe expansion which likely means a steady stream of additional Necron cards over the next 7 months
  13. Not sure why all the hyper ventilating about this at this point. The release dates that come with the product announcements have never been 100% accurate, often they are laughably inaccurate. We will see the 5th War Pack likely Thursday next week, and the 6th Warpack 4-5 weeks later followed a month later by Necrons.
  14. 3x3 would have been nicer considering how many units can pile up at a planet at a time, but its nice to see more options, still crossing my fingers for those additional illustrated sleeves
  15. The most recent splatbooks seem to be trending this way, hoping it happens and we see it sooner rather than later.
×
×
  • Create New...