Jump to content

SemiAddict

Members
  • Content Count

    20
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About SemiAddict

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

331 profile views
  1. Hi Julia, For the past two to three years I've conducted an email conversation with Daniel Clark of FFG (he co-designed Lurker at the Threshold and worked on other expansions). He is the best I've found (especially in terms of patience) with answering AH rules questions. I'd like to share his answers with the Forum, but I don't know how to do anything with emails but send them to another email address. Do you have an email address I could send them to that would facilitate this? Also, I'm now past the 350-game mark in AH ( I have all expansions), and continue to enjoy it. The only problem I have with it is that it is so much easier to win with a larger number of investigators than with a smaller number. I have found this to be consistently true, even though I never use more than one expansion board with three players and no more than two with four players. I think I recall you once mentioning that Eldritch Horror is designed to be better for fewer players. If you and others think it accomplishes that, I may be ready to try it. Thanks for your help!
  2. Julia, I now have about half the monsters in the cup sleeved using your method. This is a really good way to do it, and I recommend your method for anyone to use! Having discovered the usefulness of sleeves, I've already used some of the standard-sized sleeves as well for some of the most worn older cards. However, over the long haul, it's obvious that card sleeving will be a much greater job than it is for monsters. Adding totals for both large and small cards, with all expansions there are over 2000! For the nearly 700 cards available for Arkham Encounters on all boards, I'm in pretty good shape. I discovered long ago that shuffling these cards for every encounter is sure to get them filthy and worn out in no time, and I now determine which encounters to use by a system of dice rolling instead: if I have a deck of 36 cards, for example, I roll two dice, and each possible outcome of two dice stands for one of the 36 cards. Once you're accustomed to this, it's actually faster than shuffling, and guarantees a much more random selection. On the subject of randomness of card draws, I've been a duplicate bridge player for many years, and am aware of a study that was conducted by a group in the UK some years ago. This group was responding to frequent complaints that computer-generated deals had too many weird distributions. They found that the problem was actually with hand-shuffled deals, which because of lack of thoroughness in shuffling were not random enough, and lacked enough unusual distributions. They found that a deck of playing cards must be shuffled at least 7 times to ensure randomness. I'm sure something close to this would be required for AH encounter decks. Thanks again for your help on sleeving monsters!
  3. Thanks, Julia, I'll definitely try this. The sleeves in particular sound good, but I didn't know they were available. Muchas gracias!
  4. I don't know if this is the right place for this subject, but if not, I'm sure Julia will let me know! Recently made my first call to FFG about game component replacements, and was disappointed to find that they don't offer replacement parts unless you actually get something defective. I never had that, but most of my non-Spawn, non-Mask monsters are beat up nearly beyond recognition from all their shuffling in the monster cups. I could start rebuying the core game and expansions one at a time, but I'm hoping maybe I can find a less expensive offer from someone with monsters in better condition than mine (especially those from the core game) who may no longer be using them. Also, anyone who has experience doing this type of search (and also for individual components that might have sustained damage), I'm open to your device. Thanks in advance for any help!!
  5. Thanks Tibs et al. It's a relief to see that there's something I've actually been doing too conservatively. This ability is turning out to be more useful than I thought it would before trying it (I wouldn't say that it's stupidly powerful, but I like that phrase--I'll probably be overusing it now).
  6. This is a situation I would usually ask FFG about, but I'm almost afraid to know what they'll answer, so I thought I would get opinions here first (and if you know the designers' official position on it, feel free to tell me--just break the news gently). The Relationship Card entitled Members of the Book Club (LatT) enables one member of a partnership to use the same tome immediately after the other member of the partnership has used it, even if it has been exhausted or discarded. However, the card does not specify anything about what the partner not holding the Tome card has to do about satisfying the Movement Points requirement. Since, by definition, it will not be that player's turn during the Movement Phase, it has occurred to me that maybe the intent is not to require a Movement Points expenditure, just the passage of the Skill check. On the other hand, if Movement Points are required, it would raise questions such as whether a partner who has already taken their turn during that Movement Phase can even use this option, since they will no longer have Movement Points (likewise for a partner in an Other World). It might also require a partner whose Movement turn is yet to be executed to keep track of MPs already expended, a situation for which I can't think of a parallel with other game effects. Since both of these options seem either extreme or cumbersome, I've adopted a compromise which basically assumes that the partner of the cardholder gets an additional Movement Phase on the house as a part of this feature. They must still supply MPs, but they may do that based on their current values, regardless of whether or not they have moved yet on that turn. The only restrictions are that if the non-cardholder uses an exhaustible item (e.g., Map, Motorcycle), to supply the points, it remains exhausted for the rest of the turn; and that no one in an Other World can use the ability, since they never have Movement Points. Another issue with this ability is that of discarding. At first, I thought it made sense to have only a successful tome-reading attempt by the holder of the Tome trigger a discard; but then I realized that that method was open to abuse, since the holder of the Tome could keep making low-probability attempts to read it and failing them, in order to give their partner repeated uses of a discardable tome. Therefore, I now play that the first successful read by either partner (except,of course, for the other partner's attempt on that same turn) triggers the discard. What does everyone else think?
  7. I was hoping I could find some discussion on this in the Forum, but haven't been able to, so here goes. For some time, I've been uncomfortable with the fact that Gate Encounters with a Return to Arkham result often do away with a player's opportunity to make a gate-closing check without having to deal with monsters. This is especially annoying if the encounter is drawn on the back side of the Other World, when it often seems that the player would be better off remaining where he is and returning to his gate normally on the following turn. For a while I even wondered if the intent was to allow a player to make such a check immediately on returning to Arkham from this type of encounter; after all, it is very common for Arkham Encounters (especially on expansion boards) to require an Other World encounter during the Arkham Encounters phase, so why not the same in reverse? However, I've been unable to find any evidence that that was the intent, and if it was not, then allowing an immediate check (though they often fail because sliders have not been changed to the optimal gate-closing setting) will allow gates to be closed/sealed a turn earlier than the rules intended. Then, a situation came up in a recent game which reminded me that something important has changed since the core game rules were written. A player with a Return to Arkham result thought that dealing with a monster at his gate immediately would be a better tactical move, but we reminded him that since the large FAQ came out, no combat with monsters on the board is allowed outside the Movement Phase. Suddenly, a lightbulb went off for me: when the rule about avoiding monsters on the first turn back from Arkham was written, monsters present at the gate on a Return to Arkham result would have had to be dealt with, and that may very well have influenced the wording of the rule. Given the FAQ change, wouldn't it make more sense to have the returning player entitled to avoid monsters on the first Movement Phase during or after his return to Arkham, rather than on the first turn? And on the rare occasions when the player is returning in delayed status, the delay could cancel his right to the "avoidance" turn. I mention this because, as of now, a player on the back side of an Other World who gets a Return to Arkham might almost be returning in delayed status, for all the difference it makes to his efforts to close the gate. Feedback will be welcome!
  8. Julia, you were right on this! Here's the FFG answer (Daniel Clark): Even if the specific encounter overrides the rule that encounters cannot seal gates, the gate is still not taken as a trophy. This is true even of Other World encounters. If an investigator returns to Arkham through a different gate than the one he or she entered through, and the Other World encounter that returned him or her to Arkham also closed the gate he or she entered through, that gate is not taken as a trophy. However, the new gate that the investigator arrived at can be closed and sealed normally, since the investigator will have an Explored token.
  9. I took Julia's advice and went to FFG on this. Here's the response (not from Tim but from Daniel Clark): In the case of Zebulon Whateley refreshing a failed Shriveling spell, the hand is not now free to use a new item or spell - the rules on page 16 indicate that it takes up a hand even if the casting check fails and only refers to switching items in future combat rounds. However, the Investigator could attempt to cast the Shriveling spell again (paying all costs and making a new check). This would seem to indicate that though a failed cast takes up a hand, it can still be recast in the same round using Zeb's ability, and would also leave the other hand free, whether the recast for the first hand worked or not.
  10. Thanks, guys, I'm glad to see I'm occasionally thinking along the same lines as seasoned veterans.
  11. Sorry, I accidentally hit the space key. I've really been more interested, though, in the part about combat spells and Zebulon's ability. Like Tibs, I'm bothered by the double usage of the spell, but maybe for a different reason. It seems to me like a violation of the rule that a hand is taken up by a spell for one round of combat, whether or not the cast was successful. To me, this rule equally implies that a spell is taken up by its hand (or hands) for that specific combat round. Note that if the spell in question were two-handed like the Dread Curse, you couldn't even think of recasting it on that round, whether you had Zebulon, another refreshed copy of the spell, or whatever.
  12. Even though I only had microwave spaghetti tonight, I've been following this exchange with great interest.
  13. When using lots of expansions, street areas can become pretty crowded with game components, and I've been wondering about the priorities of different activities there. I think that everyone will agree that the presence of an open gate will supersede all other possible activities, but without an open gate, there are some interesting situations: (1) The FAQ makes it clear that monsters must always be dealt with before taking clue tokens; should the same rule apply to acquiring items using Mythos cards like "Estate Sale" or "Neighborhood Sale"? I've been assuming that items would be at least as tough to grab as clues with monsters present. One exception that I'm sure about, because I asked FFG: the Vision Quest spell can be cast to acquire clue tokens before dealing with monsters. (2) Can more than one activity be taken during Arkham Encounters? For example, if a player is required to do an Exhibit Encounter (CotDP), can he also take action vis a vis a Rumor, or must that wait until a later turn? I suspect that one such activity is equivalent to an Encounter.
  14. Thanks, Tibs, the Cthugha explanation makes perfect sense. Now I can at least blame our last loss on poor officiating!
  15. The 12/12 FAQ makes it clear (MH, page 42) that an Environment Mythos card triggers a King in Yellow Acts card even if it is discarded and another card is drawn. This means that Jacqueline Fine's "Precognition" ability will not prevent such a card from acting as a trigger. However, it's also clear from the MH rules that the original 6 Headline cards from KiY that trigger Acts cards are to be kept in the Mythos deck. So, can "Precognition" still get rid of one of these cards without an Acts card being triggered? I can see arguments for both yes and no; just wondering how other people feel about it.
×
×
  • Create New...