Jump to content

Jaden Ckast

Members
  • Content Count

    938
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Jaden Ckast

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

684 profile views
  1. So I’ve been away from the game since version 2 released. I’ve been keeping tabs here and there because I still love the game a lot. However when I check back there’s been no recent news since sept of last year. What’s been going on?
  2. Wow!! When I put together the dials I had a friend help. I wonder if he didn’t pay attention and somehow got the wrong maneuver part of the dial. Thank you for letting me know I was seriously bummed out. Just made my weekend!
  3. So just wondering if I’m wrong here and I apologize if it’s been brought up before but looking at defenders in 2.0, they seem garbage now for the price. They removed the the thing that made them special and that is the white k turn. Maybe I’m missing a title card or something but they are way overpriced again but this time without the Kturn. So are they actually garbage now? Am I missing something? They were my favorite ships growing up and in X-Wing 1.0 and now I don’t know if I’ll ever use them.
  4. Tried searching for the answer but could not find it. Does anyone know if title cards are considered upgrade cards? I assume they are but am second guessing because they specifically state "title" on the front and are referred to as title cards. No one says title upgrade card. Not saying that rules are assumed by how things are refferred to but just pointing it out. Again I'm assuming they are considered upgrade cards but where exactly can I find this since I looked through the rules and FAQ and didn't see it or maybe I missed it. I apologize if this is an obvious question but it was brought up at a tourney and wanted to make sure I have the exact rule that states what it is. Thanks Edit: I was able to find the answer in the new rules reference under upgrades. Disregard this post.
  5. Ok awesome!!!! Thank you for clearing that up!!!!
  6. I have a question regarding nyms ability as well. Im assuming when his ability says "you may ignore friendly bombs" that pertains to only the movement thru them correct? If a bomb detonated and he is at range 1 he still rolls for damage. His ability only applies to bombs like proximity or Connor and cluster correct? Any bomb that detonates at the end of activation still affects him. Or Does his ability mean he completely ignores friendly bombs all together including the rolling for damage or any damage for that matter? The reason I'm concerned is I want to run emon with bombadier and 3 proton bombs and just fling them at ships but I'm worried if nym is in the area he will be affected by them too. So I want to make sure I'm aware of wether he is hurt by them or not so I can adjust my flying.
  7. So I've read the card and read thru the FAQ as well as searched the forum and it seems everyone on the forum is saying it's primary arc only. So I understand this must be the official rules for this card. However reading the card it does not specify the enemy needs to be in arc. Also nothing in FAQ I saw specifies it either. So what am I missing? Obviously I must be missing something so if someone could please show me or clarify that would be great. Thank you
  8. Every other card I've understood and never had an issue really and played since wave 1. To me tho the tournament rules just make it seem like 2 things are happening 1.) the card is out of play 2.) it is still equipped. Seems contradictory to me where others may see it as obvious. And I understand you can't write every single situation into the rules otherwise you would have a huge rulebook but again this just seems contradictory to me is all. There is no contradiction here. You don't even need the tournament rules, the situation is actually well explained in the rules reference: That's what I was looking for! Thank you for that, i went over that thing a bunch of times and finally saw it at the very end. That is worded a lot better than the tournament one. Again thanks.
  9. Every other card I've understood and never had an issue really and played since wave 1. To me tho the tournament rules just make it seem like 2 things are happening 1.) the card is out of play 2.) it is still equipped. Seems contradictory to me where others may see it as obvious. And I understand you can't write every single situation into the rules otherwise you would have a huge rulebook but again this just seems contradictory to me is all.
  10. That's cool and all and thank you for the info but I would still like to see something printed about this somewhere because according to their rules the card is still equipped to the ship it's attached to. Also I hope you don't take that the wrong way, I just would rather see it ruled on since their rules explicitly say it's still equipped on the ship. Again thank you for the info and the nice post I think it's one of those rulings that's not explicitly called out for this particular scenario. As mentioned above if the card is out of play it's put beneath the ship card. In this case the HLC is no longer in service or available. The ship reverts back to its primary weapon. It may help if you think of the HLC as an add-on rather than a replacement for the original weapon. I sympathize with your predicament. I have had questions about abilities or results that weren't explicitly called out and had to rely heavily on these forums. Sometimes the answer was obvious after being pointed to the specific rule or FAQ entry. Other times you had to rely on replies from the more experienced players. Not necessarily satisfying but accurate. Thank you for that response, I really do appreciate the nice tone instead of the "your dumb for thinking that" tone in others posts. I will take your advice and just leave it at that I guess
  11. I didn't write the tournament rules or the outrider card and all I'm saying is if having a cannon equipped satisfies the outrider card then the opposite should be true right? Having a cannon unequipped should dis-satisfy the card text. The tournament rules I cited make no mention of it being un-equipped so how can it dis-satisfy the card? What I'm saying is imo I think they need to just rephrase or add "becomes unequipped" into that rule regarding discarded cards. Something along the lines of "When a player is instructed to discard an Upgrade card, he or she unequips it and places it under the Ship card it is attached to instead. Upgrade cards under Ship cards are out of play. Discarded Upgrade cards remain under the Ship card to which they were equipped; they are not placed into the score pile unless the ship to which they were equipped on is destroyed." Would make it very much more solidified as to what is actually happening.
  12. I get that they are out of play but it also says they are still equipped. Being "equipped" is the key word for the outrider card wether it permits a primary attack or not. That's what I'm having a hard time understanding. Are they out of play but still equipped per the tournament rules? Or they out of play and unequipped?
  13. That's cool and all and thank you for the info but I would still like to see something printed about this somewhere because according to their rules the card is still equipped to the ship it's attached to. Also I hope you don't take that the wrong way, I just would rather see it ruled on since their rules explicitly say it's still equipped on the ship. Again thank you for the info and the nice post
  14. So what happens to the 7 points from hlc if it's been discarded? Do I get those if I destroy him or are they deducted from his total ship cost? Also where is it in the rules and or errata cuz I just looked over the errata and saw nothing regarding this. Yes, you do get the points. Same as you would if he had discarded a missile card he fired at you. It doesn't need to be in the FAQ or errata because it's built into the text of the cards. The Outrider title starts with "While you have a [cannon] upgrade equipped...", so if the cannon is removed the card no longer does anything. EDIT: Also, why is this not in the Rules forum? Ok so it's stays on him for points purposes but counts as not being equipped so he gets his primary back again? I didnt post in the rules forums cuz whenever I've posted there it takes awhile to get a response, figured I would post here since general discussion can be about anything really and it's more likely to be seen by others who can respond to the question. Edit: also here is from the tournament rules page 4 "When a player is instructed to discard an Upgrade card, he or she places it under the Ship card it is attached to instead. Upgrade cards under Ship cards are out of play. Discarded Upgrade cards remain under the Ship card to which they are equipped; they are not placed into the score pile unless the ship to which they are equipped is destroyed." Notice this part "Discarded Upgrade cards remain under the Ship card to which they are equipped; they are not placed into the score pile unless the ship to which they are equipped is destroyed." So I don't see anything stating they become unequipped only that they are just not useable/out of play. In fact it says they STAY with the ship to which they are equipped. Also it says they DO NOT get placed into the score pile unless the ship is destroyed.
×
×
  • Create New...