Jump to content

Zaltyre

Members
  • Content Count

    3,889
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Zaltyre

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

2,828 profile views
  1. I'm not sure what you mean by "development way". Are you talking about his heroic feat?
  2. You're correct, the whole attack would be modified based on the wording of Bearded Axe, "...the attack gains +2..." The point remains that Reflective Ward triggers when a hero attacks a monster. Since there is only one attack, it will not make an effective difference which monster triggers its effect.
  3. I misspoke, it has a surge:pierce 2 and a native pierce 1. Because they happen during step 4, surges which affect the number of shields (and therefore whether the bearded axe changes the number of hearts) will matter). For whirlwind, the OL would have to play reflective ward triggering off the hero attacking a specific monster- even though with most weapons it would make no difference since it's the same attack roll, if the hero is wielding bearded axe it will matter whether the OL played reflective ward in response to the hero attacking zombie A or zombie B.
  4. If the monster rolls 2 shields, it will be the same since the Bearded Axe has "pierce 2". 7 hearts. If you roll 5 and the monster rolls 3, you'll be rolling for reflective ward against 5 hearts.
  5. The actual text of Reflective Ward: Play this card when a hero attacks a monster, before rolling dice. The attacking hero may choose to suffer 2 . If he cannot suffer the , or chooses not to, he will be dealt equal to the dealt to the monster. An explanation of how it actually works: Q: If the overlord plays "Reflective Ward" and the hero cannot suffer the or chooses not to, how does a hero determine the amount of damage he suffers? A: The attacking hero adds up all of the results, including any additional the attack gains from results. Then, he rolls his defense pool, canceling 1 for each result and suffering the rest of the . No other effects from the attack, such as a condition, will apply to the hero. I've said elsewhere and I'll say again here: Reflective Ward is a terribly worded card. Wonderful theme. Terrible word choice. "Damage dealt to the monster" does not come into play at all in the resolution of the card, as per the FAQ response above. The card works by looking at the attack results (hearts only, nothing else) present at the beginning of step 5. The hero then has to roll his defense pool to cancel some number of those hearts, and suffers the remainder as damage. So for the Bearded Axe, layering complication on complication... Step 1: Attack with Bearded Axe, OL plays Reflective Ward, you can't suffer the fatigue. OK. Step 2: Roll 5 hearts, monster rolls 1 shield. Step 3: It's a hit, moving on. Step 4: (the tricky one). The axe has pierce 2, and the fun ability "If, after resolving Pierce, the target has no on its defense roll, this attack gains +2 " Since the above is true, during this step the attack results become 7 hearts (and 0 shields). Step 5: You have to roll defense against 7 hearts and will be dealt the remainder. Lets say you rolled 3 shields. You suffer 4. The monster suffers 7.
  6. Generally speaking, yes he can. If the overlord has the option of choosing the next quest, a rumor in play is going to add to the list of available quests.
  7. This is one of those cases where I'd really appreciate developer input. Spirit Link feels like it's intended to prevent the defeat of the hero (it's a rescue move), but not clearly; it's worded as "when he would be knocked out," so the "instead" applies to "KO". It could very well just be a case of abilities not being worded consistently, but as an example, look at the prophet's "Lifeline". Note the "When a hero would be defeated... ...instead." Unfortunately, there are (as already noted above" a few specific examples where "defeat" and "KO" are seperable. Therefore, it's unclear if Spirit Link prevents defeat, or just KO. In my opinion, the CRRG doesn't contradict this stance.
  8. Agreed. Bow of Bone will get the green die on OL turn, assuming hero hasn't moved during OL turn. OLs are players just like the heroes, and have a turn, similar to the heroes.
  9. It's Runewars (not miniatures game).
  10. While I'm disappointed the Vault is closing down, I'm actually glad we're getting definitive closure for the tool. Somehow that's better than an increasingly long drought of care. This also lights a fire to complete my transfer away from vault hosting and design of my custom quests.
  11. 1) Based off of the wording in quests like "Caladen's Crossing" and a warning in the beginning of the HoB book, I think the OL would not place Splig even in the rumor quest: -When the LT is sacrificed, the rules say the card is "returned to the game box." The game box is essentially nowhere, those cards are inaccessible. -There is an explicit warning at the beginning of the HoB campaign regarding plot decks, "Consideration should also be given when choosing the... Plot decks... If the overlord sacrifices Spig, Belthir, or Baron Zachareth, he cannot summon the corresponding agent into play for the remainder of the campaign." In other words, the LT card is off limits, and the character is off limits as well via other cards. Therefore, I would say "consideration should be given" when playing rumor cards containing quests featuring lieutenants who may be sacrificed during HoB. All the above being said, in a healthy, friendly, campaign, I would expect all parties to come up with a solution such as swapping out the rumor quest or playing a different rumor card from the OL's hand. 2) You do not use tainted cards in rumor quests during a mists/chains campaign, nor do you have the quest victory if all heroes are KO'd. 3) "Defend" is a "use this card" type skill without a time limit (for example, "limit once per round"). That means the knight may use it as many times as it is applicable, provided he can pay the cost. If the Elemental were to target 3 different heroes adjacent to the knight, the knight could pay 3 fatigue and redirect all 3 of those attacks back at himself. He would have to roll defense dice 3 separate times. EDIT: Knight_66 reminded me to check the CRRG, which apparently details on page 48 how the knight can only use Defend once per attack.
  12. In most situations, heroes cannot choose to suffer fatigue as wounds. Usually, if you don't have the stamina, you just can't suffer fatigue. If an effect makes you suffer fatigue as a consequence, that fatigue gets suffered as wound instead. In the case of this card, a hero must choose to suffer either 2 fatigue or 4 wound. Suffering 2 fatigue as wound is not permitted.
  13. I'm personally very happy the card viewer exists at all, and also that it was so carefully and thoroughly made. It is a useful tool which has added to many an online discussion of the game, especially as a reference. Having such a resource on hand serves to strengthen the community dialogue and improve the interactions within it. Thanks for all your hard work.
×
×
  • Create New...