Jump to content

AndrewMM

Members
  • Content Count

    241
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About AndrewMM

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 06/26/1988

Recent Profile Visitors

280 profile views
  1. I'm sure this was once oficially answered, but probably long ago. How does this feat: "Use when you are defeated to perform 1 Melee attack. For each monster you defeat during this heroic feat, you may perform 1 additional Melee attack. Then, you are knocked out." Interacts with this skill?: "When you are defeated, you may inmediately move up to your speed and perform an attack with a Melee weapon. After the attack is resolved, you are knocked out." Do note this is the H&M pack version of One Fist, not the Conversion Kit one, although the difference would be "just" the final number of attacks, I guess. Thanks in advance.
  2. Thanks again for helping!
  3. Hi! I have a question regarding this quest. The victory conditions, for both sides, are as follow (translating from Spanish, so there could be some inaccuracy): HEROES WIN IF: -Skarn is KO, and there are no tokens on OL side -Skarn leaves the map, and there are no tokens on OL side -All 3 blue tokens are discarded OL WINS IF: -Skarn leaves the map while carrying one or more blue tokens So, here's the deal. First of all, Skarn cannot carry tokens, so the OL condition is already clunky. I guess it means "and there are one or more blue tokens on the OL side", as all tokens on his side are revealed as Skarn leaves the map. Not minding this, my issue here is, what happens if Skarn leaves the map, and there are no blue tokens on OL side? OL did definetely not win, but herors cannot reach also their conditions for victory. Skarn will not be KO anymore, and they can only discard OL tokens when doing so. The last revealing when the lieutenant leaves does not imply discarding them. Should I assume they are indeed discarded, thus, OL loses inmediately if Skarn happens to leave while there are no blue tokens on his side? Thanks in advance!
  4. AndrewMM

    i am completely new

    This is how Descent is. As I said, this is a common misconception, specially for players who come from other games. Descent is over all a strategy game, and all revolves around people making plans beforehand. The thing is, the quests are balanced through this, so making some of the information, like reinforcements, not public, gives a non intended big advantage to the OL. If all the players ara aware of that, and all agree on mantaining the secret, is perfectly ok, but always keep that in mind. No, no, that's exactly what I tried to say. Familiars DO NOT count for drawing cards. Nor any other "treated-as-hero" figures. Only REAL heroes, with hero sheet and such will. This is actually related with the first paragraph. Each one has their own rules, and they are balanced with their own inquiries. Some people will find more "intuitive" or "realist" one side or the other, or just "plain better" one approach over the other. In the end, is just different games, with different rules, and different balance, so is always better just following the rules of the game you are playing, if you want to have the better experience. Some end only frustrated, just because they want to apply some of the rules of another game that they like more, and it only makes it for a bad play session, where nothing actually works. I'd say, try to stick as much as possible to the rules as intended, and see if it fits with your play minds. If AFTER that, there are still things that your play gruop agree to change, then is perfectly acceptable to make whatever workaround that you decide.
  5. AndrewMM

    i am completely new

    I'll just adress some of the common mistakes new players do sometimes. Some of them are right on the rules, but end being overlooked, some of them have clunky wording from FFG's part, and some of them have had to be cleared from FFG staff: -Remember that ALL the information is public. Both OL and heros must know all the details on the cards and quests (and rules, of course). -The Stunned condition makes a figure lose ONLY ONE action of two. They can discard it with the first action, and use the second for whatever they want. -OL draws a card only when a HERO gets defeated. Familiars, and other things treated as a heroes (like in some quests) won't count for this. -If you have played Imperial Assault, I'd say try to forget everything from that game before playing this. Althought they have evident similarities, there are so many differences that can make the experience hard to enjoy. -Finally, on a more personal note (and this just depends on the play group), remember to have fun and try different things. If one of the sides go hardcore, and find the keystone to win every quest, maybe the other players won't have fun. You will find a lot of interesting links in this sub (pinned at the top from any2cards), but don't worry if after three whole campaigns, everything is still not clear. This is how Descent is. And in the end... This is it. Read the rules. Then read again the rules. And then make the other players read the rules. And have them with you while playing. And then come here to ask anything that comes up. People here will gladly answer everything.
  6. On the topic of One Fist feat, something came to my mind. When does exactly the OL draw a card for the defeated hero? As soon as he is defeated "for the first time", or only when the feat is resolved? I guess the same can be applied to any other "when you are defeated do things" skill.
  7. Talking about this, I have to mention what is my favourite combo that has ever come to my mind. On Act II, use Splig agent on a group of Cave Spiders, and be sure to buy the Expert Blow OL card. Buy also the Raided Armory Plot card. When you get the opportunity, unleash the sickest of attacks. Four Spiders attacking with BYY, s+2, +1 (per RA), +2 (per EB), free surge to recover EB. Then, on Agent Splig's turn, use "Get Them" to attack again with all four of them. The Heroes will hardly survive the onslaught (as long as you don't miss attacks).
  8. 5.7 I think most actions have a clear time of when are they finished. Attacking, searching, resting, carrying an item.... The only tricky part I see is moving, as I don't really know if the end of the action is right after you declare it (and gain the movment points), or when they are completely used up. This gets more troublesome when thinking on effects (such as OL/hero abilities) that drain MP from targets, or just turns ending before spending them totally. Movement is usually tricky on its own, because a hero, for example, can declare both movement actions at once, gain MP with fatigue, and then from another sources (like Elven boots), and then spending them all together. At which point is important declaring where is every MP step coming from? Sure it is when using No Rest for The Wicked OL card, but this is juts one of many examples.
  9. I was playing this weekend, and used this card for the first time. It reads: "Exhaust this card at the start of your turn...". Following the step-by-step OL turn on the manual, first, all the "start of turn" things happen, and then cards are refreshed. Does that mean that as soon as this card is exhausted, is refreshed again on the next step? Not that one can use it again on that turn, but just to confirm if this is the timing. On the Bounty Hunter topic, the question is on the Lie in Wait card. This card is exhausted during your turn, and then it takes real effect on the next one, "When you refresh this card...". So, could you track a monster "at the start of your turn", before attacking him with Lie in Wait?
  10. I have to disagree with this. The existence of a surge is not sufficient to claim that the attack won't be a miss. The surge must be used on Shadow for it. One can think on the rare situation where the attacker don't want to spend that surge and deliberately miss the attack, but if this case occurs, by your reasoning the damage would have been already dealt. Let's take it even further, with this example: imagine the Dragon who creates the shadow is not the target, but is adjacent to it. If the damage dealt by Incendiary Arrows is dealt before spending surges, this Dragon could be defeated in the process, and the surge would not even be needed to be applied to the shadow!
  11. AndrewMM

    Descent Damage Calculator

    That seems amazing! A long while ago, I made a simple table with average damage for any combination of dice and surges (up to three surge effects). I don't see average results on your preview, so I assume you're not using them. Take a look at mine, and tell me if you want to include this to your work (the formulas are rather long): Calculator
  12. AndrewMM

    Conjurer Channeling Question

    What would "rolling no dice" mean? Automatic miss, or never miss but zero damage base? Because with all the tools and tricks an OL can use, maybe this could have some potential.
  13. AndrewMM

    6th class for mage and healer?

    Myabe you just worded it incorrectly, but remember Hexer can attack one monster, and Hex another, and spread (or just increase) that Hex with his other skills. So, in the end, you can place multiple tokens on a monster that never was attacked, to just kill him with only one final blow.
  14. So much this. Might sound harsh, but the truth is most of the mistakes people do on this game is for assumming things or behaviours, or interactions not stated anywhere.
  15. Thanks for sharing this! Just some little detail. How many hands do those weapons use? BTW, don't you think Blessed Armor and Bloodthirsty Bracers are greatly overpowered?
×