Jump to content

zooeyglass

Members
  • Content Count

    327
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Shironeko in Before the Black Throne Qs, (minor spoilers)   
    I believe there's a big backlog of questions! 
  2. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to Assussanni in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    If my maths is correct then, given Patrice's deck size and assuming 3 copies of a myriad level 0 survivor card, if there are no Neutral cards in The Dream-Eaters she will have to take all 10 Core Set skills. This would leave Tommy and Mandy's FFG starter decklists with only two skills each, which would be a new low. Therefore, I reckon there will be at least one pair of Neutral cards in the Dream-Eaters.
    Edit: by looking at investigator pairings, I think we can also conclude that Luke Robinson will have at least some access to Seeker cards. Was this already announced? I'm starting to lose track...
    Investigator pairings I think have to be: Patrice/Mandy (Rogue secondary); Tommy/Mandy (Rogue secondary); Patrice/Tony (Guardian secondary); Luke/Tony (Guardian secondary) and Tommy/Luke.
  3. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Antimarkovnikov in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Could we have 4 single basic weaknesses, #35, #36, #37 and #38, two for multiplayer only, two for solo only (seems generous for solo)? Or might we see a neutral 2x in one of those slots and then 4 weaknesses over three card slots? Both possible. 
  4. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Antimarkovnikov in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Updating the numbers: 

    1 Tommy Muldoon
    2 Mandy Thompson
    3 Tony Morgan
    4 Luke Robinson
    5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators
    Player cards (should be 51): 
    6 Becky
    7 Rookie Mistake
    8 Occult Evidence x 3
    9 Shocking Discovery
    10 Bounty Contracts
    11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2
    12 Tony's Quarry
    13 Gate Box
    14 Detached from Reality
    15 Dream-Gate
    16 Patrice's Violin
    17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15
    18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded]
    19 Bloodlust x 3
    20 Solemn Vow [myriad x 3] (= 7 guardian cards)
    21 Segment of Onyx [myriad x 3| bonded]
    22 Pendant of the Queen (Of Nothing at All)
    23 seeker 3 {second myriad seeker? to make up 7?}
    24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ?
    25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ?
    26 rogue 3 {myriad rogue?}
    27 Stargazing [bonded]
    28 The Stars Are Right 
    29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] ( = 7 mystic cards)
    30 Miss Doyle [bonded]
    31 Hope
    32 Zeal 
    33 Augur (4 or 8 survivor cards
    34 ??? {myriad survivor? to make up 7?}
    35 ??? 
    36 ???  
    37 ??? 
    38 ??? 
    56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 26 or 30 cards accounted for by #18-#22, #24-#25, #27-33. Leaves some oddities
    If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#34 = 35, meaning #35-#38 are 2 x 2x, and 2 x 1x. 
    39 scenario card for scenario 1
    40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
     
  5. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from phillos in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Updating the numbers: 

    1 Tommy Muldoon
    2 Mandy Thompson
    3 Tony Morgan
    4 Luke Robinson
    5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators
    Player cards (should be 51): 
    6 Becky
    7 Rookie Mistake
    8 Occult Evidence x 3
    9 Shocking Discovery
    10 Bounty Contracts
    11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2
    12 Tony's Quarry
    13 Gate Box
    14 Detached from Reality
    15 Dream-Gate
    16 Patrice's Violin
    17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15
    18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded]
    19 Bloodlust x 3
    20 Solemn Vow [myriad x 3] (= 7 guardian cards)
    21 Segment of Onyx [myriad x 3| bonded]
    22 Pendant of the Queen (Of Nothing at All)
    23 seeker 3 {second myriad seeker? to make up 7?}
    24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ?
    25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ?
    26 rogue 3 {myriad rogue?}
    27 Stargazing [bonded]
    28 The Stars Are Right 
    29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] ( = 7 mystic cards)
    30 Miss Doyle [bonded]
    31 Hope
    32 Zeal 
    33 Augur (4 or 8 survivor cards
    34 ??? {myriad survivor? to make up 7?}
    35 ??? 
    36 ???  
    37 ??? 
    38 ??? 
    56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 26 or 30 cards accounted for by #18-#22, #24-#25, #27-33. Leaves some oddities
    If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#34 = 35, meaning #35-#38 are 2 x 2x, and 2 x 1x. 
    39 scenario card for scenario 1
    40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
     
  6. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Allonym in Patrice... oh no   
    Let me help you out:
    "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." 
    You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  7. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from CSerpent in Patrice... oh no   
    absolutely none stolen!! was grateful to have a listener! 
  8. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from rsdockery in Patrice... oh no   
    Let me help you out:
    "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." 
    You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  9. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to CSerpent in Patrice... oh no   
    Thanks for the specifics.  Sorry if I stole any of your thunder.
  10. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Duciris in Patrice... oh no   
    Let me help you out:
    "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." 
    You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  11. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Soakman in Patrice... oh no   
    Let me help you out:
    "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." 
    You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  12. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from CSerpent in Patrice... oh no   
    Let me help you out:
    "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." 
    You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  13. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Carthoris in Before the Black Throne Qs, (minor spoilers)   
    I've sent in this very question to Matt, for clarification, and I believe it'll be addressed in the next FAQ. I understood that you could spawn locations in non-empty-space spaces, such as around the edge of the map, but I can see how it could be argued either way. The fact that acts 2 and 3 change the shape of the map implied, to me, that it wasn't a fixed grid, just a snapshot of the void...
    My read on this - again, I can see how this could be refuted - is that the doom is placed on the b side of the agenda you're on, and then you flip into the next a side and the doom is discarded. I took it to be a slim lucky break for the investigators, given so much is stacked against you otherwise. I can see the Miskatonic Museum situation being cited as a reason not to do this ("surely the intent is doom goes on the next properly active agenda!") but given we know Matt knows about the MM issue, I think it's safe to say you just get a lucky break and the doom enters play and is then immediately discarded as you finish advancing the agenda. (Oh, and yes, surge triggers - no good reason for it not to, same as if you'd drawn a surge card with delve, dttf, something else...)
  14. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to CSerpent in Help me find a ruling   
    The "as if you were at that location" cards raise so many questions for me.  If there's an enemy at the location, do you take an AoO, as you would if you were at that location?  Or similarly, do you not take one if there's an enemy at your current location?  What about Haunted abilities, at your location or the investigated one?  Token effects that are affected by what's at your location?  Locations with additional costs to investigate?
  15. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from CSerpent in Before the Black Throne Qs, (minor spoilers)   
    I've sent in this very question to Matt, for clarification, and I believe it'll be addressed in the next FAQ. I understood that you could spawn locations in non-empty-space spaces, such as around the edge of the map, but I can see how it could be argued either way. The fact that acts 2 and 3 change the shape of the map implied, to me, that it wasn't a fixed grid, just a snapshot of the void...
    My read on this - again, I can see how this could be refuted - is that the doom is placed on the b side of the agenda you're on, and then you flip into the next a side and the doom is discarded. I took it to be a slim lucky break for the investigators, given so much is stacked against you otherwise. I can see the Miskatonic Museum situation being cited as a reason not to do this ("surely the intent is doom goes on the next properly active agenda!") but given we know Matt knows about the MM issue, I think it's safe to say you just get a lucky break and the doom enters play and is then immediately discarded as you finish advancing the agenda. (Oh, and yes, surge triggers - no good reason for it not to, same as if you'd drawn a surge card with delve, dttf, something else...)
  16. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from awp832 in Before the Black Throne Qs, (minor spoilers)   
    I've sent in this very question to Matt, for clarification, and I believe it'll be addressed in the next FAQ. I understood that you could spawn locations in non-empty-space spaces, such as around the edge of the map, but I can see how it could be argued either way. The fact that acts 2 and 3 change the shape of the map implied, to me, that it wasn't a fixed grid, just a snapshot of the void...
    My read on this - again, I can see how this could be refuted - is that the doom is placed on the b side of the agenda you're on, and then you flip into the next a side and the doom is discarded. I took it to be a slim lucky break for the investigators, given so much is stacked against you otherwise. I can see the Miskatonic Museum situation being cited as a reason not to do this ("surely the intent is doom goes on the next properly active agenda!") but given we know Matt knows about the MM issue, I think it's safe to say you just get a lucky break and the doom enters play and is then immediately discarded as you finish advancing the agenda. (Oh, and yes, surge triggers - no good reason for it not to, same as if you'd drawn a surge card with delve, dttf, something else...)
  17. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Mimi61 in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Updating the numbers: 

    1 Tommy Muldoon
    2 Mandy Thompson
    3 Tony Morgan
    4 Luke Robinson
    5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators
    Player cards (should be 51): 
    6 Becky
    7 Rookie Mistake
    8 Occult Evidence x 3
    9 Shocking Discovery
    10 Bounty Contracts
    11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2
    12 Tony's Quarry
    13 Gate Box
    14 Detached from Reality
    15 Dream-Gate
    16 Patrice's Violin
    17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15
    18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded]
    19 Bloodlust x 3
    20 guardian 3 [myriad?]
    21 seeker 1
    22 seeker 2
    23 seeker 3
    24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ?
    25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ?
    26 rogue 3
    27 Stargazing [bonded]
    28 The Stars Are Right 
    29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] (7 mystic cards)
    30 survivor 1
    31 survivor 2 
    32 survivor 3 {= 35 cards, #18-32?}
    33 ???   [multiclass? / bonded?] 
    34 ??? 2 
    35 ??? 3
    36 ??? 4 
    37 ??? 5
    38 ??? 6
    56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 15 cards accounted for by #18-#19, #24-#25, #27-29. Leaves 26...
    If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#32 = 35, meaning #33-#38 are each 1x. 
    39 scenario card for scenario 1
    40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  18. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Antimarkovnikov in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    oh well.... let's call it an educated guess over how myriad works!
     
  19. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to rsdockery in Diana Stanley and Defiance   
    If the token is not drawn, it can't be ignored.
  20. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Duciris in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Updating the numbers: 

    1 Tommy Muldoon
    2 Mandy Thompson
    3 Tony Morgan
    4 Luke Robinson
    5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators
    Player cards (should be 51): 
    6 Becky
    7 Rookie Mistake
    8 Occult Evidence x 3
    9 Shocking Discovery
    10 Bounty Contracts
    11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2
    12 Tony's Quarry
    13 Gate Box
    14 Detached from Reality
    15 Dream-Gate
    16 Patrice's Violin
    17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15
    18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded]
    19 Bloodlust x 3
    20 guardian 3 [myriad?]
    21 seeker 1
    22 seeker 2
    23 seeker 3
    24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ?
    25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ?
    26 rogue 3
    27 Stargazing [bonded]
    28 The Stars Are Right 
    29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] (7 mystic cards)
    30 survivor 1
    31 survivor 2 
    32 survivor 3 {= 35 cards, #18-32?}
    33 ???   [multiclass? / bonded?] 
    34 ??? 2 
    35 ??? 3
    36 ??? 4 
    37 ??? 5
    38 ??? 6
    56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 15 cards accounted for by #18-#19, #24-#25, #27-29. Leaves 26...
    If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#32 = 35, meaning #33-#38 are each 1x. 
    39 scenario card for scenario 1
    40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  21. Thanks
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Antimarkovnikov in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    Updating the numbers: 

    1 Tommy Muldoon
    2 Mandy Thompson
    3 Tony Morgan
    4 Luke Robinson
    5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators
    Player cards (should be 51): 
    6 Becky
    7 Rookie Mistake
    8 Occult Evidence x 3
    9 Shocking Discovery
    10 Bounty Contracts
    11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2
    12 Tony's Quarry
    13 Gate Box
    14 Detached from Reality
    15 Dream-Gate
    16 Patrice's Violin
    17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15
    18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded]
    19 Bloodlust x 3
    20 guardian 3 [myriad?]
    21 seeker 1
    22 seeker 2
    23 seeker 3
    24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ?
    25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ?
    26 rogue 3
    27 Stargazing [bonded]
    28 The Stars Are Right 
    29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] (7 mystic cards)
    30 survivor 1
    31 survivor 2 
    32 survivor 3 {= 35 cards, #18-32?}
    33 ???   [multiclass? / bonded?] 
    34 ??? 2 
    35 ??? 3
    36 ??? 4 
    37 ??? 5
    38 ??? 6
    56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 15 cards accounted for by #18-#19, #24-#25, #27-29. Leaves 26...
    If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#32 = 35, meaning #33-#38 are each 1x. 
    39 scenario card for scenario 1
    40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  22. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to General Zodd in Return to the Path to Carcosa   
    What might be causing confusion is that the UK got ours last week. I don’t know which other territories got it at the same time, but I know the US release isn’t for another week or so. No idea why, however, but it makes a nice change to get something early for a change!
  23. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to Allonym in Cycle V: The Dream-Eaters   
    So far, all we can be certain of is that it limits Occult Research itself, and that it's future-proofing in case new Research abilities appear.
    This is similar to the "Limit 1 footwear in play" on Track Shoes - there's no other Footwear cards currently in game, so it's functionally identical to "Limit 1 in play", but we can't be sure if that means they definitely plan to make more in future, or if it's been worded that way just in case.
    If we do see Research as a proper archetype, I'd really love that. It would be great to have a proper decktype like that for Seekers, and the random element is very appealing.
  24. Like
    zooeyglass reacted to Andrew1394 in Skill Cards: Innate & Practiced   
    Thank you very much for your clear explanation!
  25. Like
    zooeyglass got a reaction from Andrew1394 in Skill Cards: Innate & Practiced   
    Hey @Andrew1394, welcome. Hopefully I can answer. 
    First thing to clarify, of course, is the difference between committing an asset or event, and committing a skill - for the former, the only thing added is the icons, for the latter, all the text as well as the icons is active, but your post suggests you get that.
    When you commit to a partner: yes, the skill card text is active. The text is applied to the person who is committing the card, rather than the person committed to, unless otherwise stated. So, for instance, if I commit a Guts to your test, you get +2 willpower, and if you succeed, I draw a card. If I were to commit a Eureka! to your test instead, you'd get +1 willpower, and as the card specifies you, taking the test, you'd get the additional ability: https://arkhamdb.com/find?q=eureka 
    So your third question (is it only to your own checks) is a NO, but it's also worth checking out some skill cards which are specifically limited to your own tests, such as Watch This! and Rise to the Occasion (https://arkhamdb.com/find?q=watch+this and https://arkhamdb.com/card/02192) - they specifically say they can only be committing to tests *you* are performing. 
    Hope this helps. 
×
×
  • Create New...