Jump to content

zooeyglass

Members
  • Content Count

    327
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by zooeyglass

  1. Could we have 4 single basic weaknesses, #35, #36, #37 and #38, two for multiplayer only, two for solo only (seems generous for solo)? Or might we see a neutral 2x in one of those slots and then 4 weaknesses over three card slots? Both possible.
  2. Updating the numbers: 1 Tommy Muldoon 2 Mandy Thompson 3 Tony Morgan 4 Luke Robinson 5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators Player cards (should be 51): 6 Becky 7 Rookie Mistake 8 Occult Evidence x 3 9 Shocking Discovery 10 Bounty Contracts 11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2 12 Tony's Quarry 13 Gate Box 14 Detached from Reality 15 Dream-Gate 16 Patrice's Violin 17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15 18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded] 19 Bloodlust x 3 20 Solemn Vow [myriad x 3] (= 7 guardian cards) 21 Segment of Onyx [myriad x 3| bonded] 22 Pendant of the Queen (Of Nothing at All) 23 seeker 3 {second myriad seeker? to make up 7?} 24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ? 25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ? 26 rogue 3 {myriad rogue?} 27 Stargazing [bonded] 28 The Stars Are Right 29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] ( = 7 mystic cards) 30 Miss Doyle [bonded] 31 Hope 32 Zeal 33 Augur (4 or 8 survivor cards 34 ??? {myriad survivor? to make up 7?} 35 ??? 36 ??? 37 ??? 38 ??? 56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 26 or 30 cards accounted for by #18-#22, #24-#25, #27-33. Leaves some oddities If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#34 = 35, meaning #35-#38 are 2 x 2x, and 2 x 1x. 39 scenario card for scenario 1 40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  3. absolutely none stolen!! was grateful to have a listener!
  4. Let me help you out: "An investigator may include up to three copies of a player card with the myriad keyword in their deck (by title), instead of the normal limit of two copies. Additionally, when you purchase a myriad card for your deck, you may purchase up to two additional copies of that card (at the same level) at no experience cost." You can hear us talk about it (and a card from The Dream-Eaters we were sent to announce) here: https://drawntotheflamepodcast.blogspot.com/2019/09/episode-136-visions-of-futures-past-xiii.html
  5. it's a really tricky one, absolutely. Luke Robinson seems to categorically answer some of those questions (his text specifies 'as if you were engaged with each enemy at that location' <- or along those lines!), but other cards with 'as if you were' effects don't... I know the discussions around it are ongoing!
  6. I can try to answer (but I've also asked these): 1) empty space should be considered 'locations' for the purposes of shuffling all enemies back into the top 5 cards of the encounter deck 2) not immediately clear whether left-over empty space is shuffled back in and replaced or not - you can end up with a map with a spattering of empty space off the to the left as you advance on to the next region. My group ruled to shuffle back in whatever was still out and then to populate the new empty space from the active player's deck, as per the empty space rules. Again: could see how that could be argued against too!
  7. I've sent in this very question to Matt, for clarification, and I believe it'll be addressed in the next FAQ. I understood that you could spawn locations in non-empty-space spaces, such as around the edge of the map, but I can see how it could be argued either way. The fact that acts 2 and 3 change the shape of the map implied, to me, that it wasn't a fixed grid, just a snapshot of the void... My read on this - again, I can see how this could be refuted - is that the doom is placed on the b side of the agenda you're on, and then you flip into the next a side and the doom is discarded. I took it to be a slim lucky break for the investigators, given so much is stacked against you otherwise. I can see the Miskatonic Museum situation being cited as a reason not to do this ("surely the intent is doom goes on the next properly active agenda!") but given we know Matt knows about the MM issue, I think it's safe to say you just get a lucky break and the doom enters play and is then immediately discarded as you finish advancing the agenda. (Oh, and yes, surge triggers - no good reason for it not to, same as if you'd drawn a surge card with delve, dttf, something else...)
  8. @Skeptical Gamer it's in the top review of In the Know on arkhamdb: https://arkhamdb.com/card/03027 In addition, if the bearer can squeeze out additional clues, they are all taken from the distant location, as approved by Matthew Newman: (start of quote) In the Know works a little differently from some other investigation cards (like Seeking Answers for example). Instead of just saying that you discover clues at a different location, it reads "Investigate any revealed location in play as if you were at that location” (emphasis mine). That means any clues you would discover “at your location” as part of this investigation are discovered at the location you are investigating with In the Know. So Rex’s bonus clue or any other additional clues from Deduction, etc, would all be taken from the location you chose when you used In the Know. (end of quote) Of course, that's not necessarily proof that it's his words, but broadly speaking it seems folk in this game don't invent quotations from the lead designer! We could reach out to the reviewer and ask to see the email should someone be unsure.
  9. oh well.... let's call it an educated guess over how myriad works!
  10. Updating the numbers: 1 Tommy Muldoon 2 Mandy Thompson 3 Tony Morgan 4 Luke Robinson 5 Patrice Hathaway = 5 investigators Player cards (should be 51): 6 Becky 7 Rookie Mistake 8 Occult Evidence x 3 9 Shocking Discovery 10 Bounty Contracts 11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x 2 12 Tony's Quarry 13 Gate Box 14 Detached from Reality 15 Dream-Gate 16 Patrice's Violin 17 Watcher from Another Dimension = 15 18 The Hungering Blade x 1 [bonded] 19 Bloodlust x 3 20 guardian 3 [myriad?] 21 seeker 1 22 seeker 2 23 seeker 3 24 Crystallizer of Dreams [bonded] ? 25 Guardian of the Crystallizer ? 26 rogue 3 27 Stargazing [bonded] 28 The Stars Are Right 29 Open Gate x 3 [myriad] (7 mystic cards) 30 survivor 1 31 survivor 2 32 survivor 3 {= 35 cards, #18-32?} 33 ??? [multiclass? / bonded?] 34 ??? 2 35 ??? 3 36 ??? 4 37 ??? 5 38 ??? 6 56 player cards + 5 investigator cards. Current count: 5 investigator cards, 15 sigs, leaving 41 player cards for #18 - #38. 15 cards accounted for by #18-#19, #24-#25, #27-29. Leaves 26... If each faction receives 7 player cards, #18-#32 = 35, meaning #33-#38 are each 1x. 39 scenario card for scenario 1 40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  11. Great observation. I'm very much in agreement here: I'd love to see a Research archetype that takes Seeker searching abilities to a new level.
  12. I hope so too! And then I thought... or is it just to stop triggering all three Occult Evidence at once?!
  13. Hey @Andrew1394, welcome. Hopefully I can answer. First thing to clarify, of course, is the difference between committing an asset or event, and committing a skill - for the former, the only thing added is the icons, for the latter, all the text as well as the icons is active, but your post suggests you get that. When you commit to a partner: yes, the skill card text is active. The text is applied to the person who is committing the card, rather than the person committed to, unless otherwise stated. So, for instance, if I commit a Guts to your test, you get +2 willpower, and if you succeed, I draw a card. If I were to commit a Eureka! to your test instead, you'd get +1 willpower, and as the card specifies you, taking the test, you'd get the additional ability: https://arkhamdb.com/find?q=eureka So your third question (is it only to your own checks) is a NO, but it's also worth checking out some skill cards which are specifically limited to your own tests, such as Watch This! and Rise to the Occasion (https://arkhamdb.com/find?q=watch+this and https://arkhamdb.com/card/02192) - they specifically say they can only be committing to tests *you* are performing. Hope this helps.
  14. Another little numbers update. There should be 56 cards between #6 and #38, but no idea how those numbers work with Myriad and Bonded. 1 Guardian investigator 2 Mandy Thompson 3 Tony Morgan 4 Luke Robinson 5 Survivor investigator 6 guardian sig 1 7 guardian sig 2 8 Occult Evidence x3 9 Shocking Revelation 10 Bounty Contracts 11 Tony's .38 Long Colt x2 12 Tony's Quarry 13 Gate Box 14 Detached from Reality 15 Dream-Gate 16 survivor sig 1 17 survivor sig 2 18 guardian 1 19 guardian 2 20 guardian 3 21 seeker 1 22 seeker 2 23 seeker 3 24 Crystallizer of Dreams 25 Guardian of the Crystallizer 26 rogue 3 27 mystic 1 28 mystic 2 29 Open Gate 30 survivor 1 31 survivor 2 32 survivor 3 33 bonus 34 bonus 35 bonus 36 bonus 37 basic weakness?? 38 basic weakness?? 39 scenario card for scenario 1 40 agenda 1 Journal through the gates
  15. There's nothing announced at the moment, @Moon-beast King - they've certainly not said there won't ever be further novellas, but they've also never given even a sniff that there will be.... so we watch and wait.
  16. Hi @Eldan985, what a brilliant resource, nice one! Might it possible to have somewhere when this was last updated just so that newer players looking at it have a sense of when it came out / was updated? Just a tiny thought!
  17. I think, alas, that your assumption is correct - I too have been hoping it'll be as you hope, but I don't think so. But let's look at the pack names and see if we can work it out: Deluxe: 1a & 1b The Search for Kadath: 2a A Thousand Shapes of Horror: 2b / 3a Dark Side of the Moon: 3a / 4a Point of No Return: 3b / 2b Where the Gods Dwell: 4a / 3b Weaver of the Cosmos: 4b / 4b My suspicion based on pack names alone is that Search for Kadath, Dark Side of the Moon and Where the Gods Dwell = one campaign line, with the other three alternating. That's in part because Where the Gods Dwell and Weaver of the Cosmos feel like climactic scenario names - I'd argue the toss about some of the middle scenarios. I wonder if A Thousand Shapes of Horror is something from the Dreamlands breaking into our world, presaging the arrival of Atlach-Nacha, etc... though Point of No Return does sound pretty Dreamlands-y to me... It's definitely not clear cut!
  18. I did - I was replying to your final question in that reply, unless we're talking at cross-purposes? It looks like you've used reasonable comprehension to make a logical step that the card unfortunately simply doesn't support. 'An investigator in Dunwich Village' isn't looking for 'every' or 'each' investigator in Dunwich, or indeed 'every investigator who meets this condition'. It's just 'one' investigator, with the added condition that they need to be 'in Dunwich Village', as opposed to any of the other five locations. Is there anything that still doesn't make sense on this, though?
  19. Yeah, @Assussanni has it correct here. Take a look at Ten-Acre Meadow: https://arkhamdb.com/card/02247 That allows each investigator there to place a clue, rather than an investigator: "You set a bait using a live animal. Each investigator in Ten-Acre Meadow may place 1 of his or her clues on an Abomination enemy in Ten-Acre Meadow. (Group limit once per game)." For your first location, the most clues that can be placed is 1. For this location here, if you have 4 investigators, each with a clue, when the free trigger is triggered, you can place 4 clues, one from each investigator at Ten-Acre Meadow. @psmythirl the thing you're overlooking about 'an investigator' is it is singular: not each, just one.
  20. I have an answer to this: the increase in the number of cards that podcasts have been given to reveal to the community. At first, it was just Storm of Spirits and Time Warp from the Path to Carcosa that Drawn to the Flame revealed, but then in Forgotten Age, we got far more, and were told that FFG Marketing was changing tack and wanted to involved community commentators more in announcing cards. During The Circle Undone, Drawn to the Flame *and* Mythos Busters have each had a card per pack to announce - so we've seen 3-4 cards in the first announcement article, and then another 2 from community commenters, rather than a second article. So, a little explanation, I guess. Peter and I have always suggested we were keen to announce more cards for FFG, but never pitched a regular slot to do it, but Marketing I think wanted to try something new.
  21. @Antimarkovnikov GREAT sleuthing! love this kind of detail. Thank you! So we *may* get another Dream-Eaters article, potentially, this week... but small spanner in the works: Gencon!
  22. Just want to chime in as well and hail @awp832's magnificent post - you've covered so many bases there and given a sense of the questions big and small that may come up. Speaking purely personally, as a separate perspective, rather than as a note of something additional, I think drawing a card / gaining a resource *should* give future tests a chance not to be non-boost affairs; that is to say, ideally when I play I want to be in a position where I can pick and choose the tests I take and how much I commit to them. One of the ways the game fights back against investigators is by trying to put us into a hole wherein we don't have the cards and/or resources we need to get out - and getting into that hole is often aided by a player overcommitting on a test they don't need to, or losing cards/resources to a tentacle token, or so on... If I'm playing and I feel the lip of the hole is near, that's normally a sign to prepare to swing momentum back in my favour by stockpiling cards/resources for a crucial test... So yeah, just speculatively testing is normally a no-no, unless I am already +2/+3 or if *very particular* circumstance dictate it!
  23. I don't think that's the case at all. They wrote to the Arkham Chronicle chap saying there was a possible breach, and let him know the IP guidelines again so that no action needed to be taken on their end. He just needed to bring his stuff in line with the guidance!
×
×
  • Create New...