Lee418

Members
  • Content count

    184
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. It's just an encounter with a monster in one of the Other World locations that are accessed via the gates. Example: Investigator X has entered a gate to R'lyeh. During the Other World encounter phase a card is drawn that says Monster Y appears. If the investigator evades the monster it is immediately returned to the cup. Likewise if the investigator fights the monster and is defeated by it, then monster is returned to the cup. Of course if the investigator defeats the monster, then the monster can be claimed as a trophy.
  2. In this case the investigator would have to evade/fight any monsters in the location before entering the gate. The key to determining the correct order of actions is the Turn Phase sequence. (A summary is printed on the back of the rule book.) Evasion and/or combat with monsters occurs during Phase II: Movement. Investigators don't get sucked into gates until Phase III: Arkham Encounters begins. The exception to this rule is when a gate opens at a location already occupied by one or more investigators. (Phase V: Mythos) In that case the investigators are immediately pulled into the gate (delayed) before any monsters are spawned. The most common cause of the Terror level rising is when the number of monsters in the Outskirts exceeds the limit. (A summary is on the back of the rule book.) In your 6 investigator game the maximum number of monsters in the Outskirts would be 2. Whenever this number is exceeded the Outskirts are cleared (those monsters are returned to the cup) and the Terror level is raised by 1, and a random Ally card is discarded from the Ally deck.
  3. When you eventually get round to buying an expansion Dunwich is probably the first one to consider. But in the mean time the base game is probably enough on it's own. Just getting used to the core rules is hard enough without complicating matters further with expansions. The core set has enough variety to keep you busy for quite a while.
  4. Remember not to include Azathoth. There's no Final Battle possible with him, and hence no Epic Battle cards needed. When I was first sorting through my cards I thought the Azathoth cards were missing. And then I realised why.
  5. A few new character cards would be nice. But I would also like a few more strategy cards. The original 5 cards are well balanced and sometimes throw up some surprising results, but a little more variety would be nice.
  6. No Imperial Aquila's on my character cards. But no weapon icons either. All my cards have their respective squad emblems at the bottom of the card. Maybe this update was done to bring the original cards into line with the design of the PoD expansions?
  7. I guess so. Eldar teams might be interesting to play. Maybe the lack of new content is based on poor sales of the POD expansions? The base game may be popular, but the expansions are shockingly expensive if you happen to live outside the USA.
  8. What more could they add to the game? New locations? New enemies? New squads of marines? That just sounds like more of the same.
  9. Yes, the Artefact remains with the player after travelling. Although if you are playing more than one squad (i.e. solo), then it stays with the same squad too. With regard to the Genestealer deck, you do reshuffle the slain Genestealer cards to make a new deck.
  10. The Black Goat of the Woods expansion includes a set of five Difficulty Level cards. These cards adjust the balance of the game in various ways, making it easier or more difficult depending on the card chosen. But whether you want to invest in an expansion just for those few cards is a different question altogether. To give you an idea of what these cards are, the easiest difficulty card essentially doubles the clue tokens in the game. During setup you place 2 Clue tokens on each unstable location. And whenever a Mythos card makes a Clue token appear, an additional Clue token appears at the same location.
  11. I've been playing this game for a while now, but this question has got me stumped. But my gut feeling is that you are right. Resolve the "Support" card's when revealed effect immediately. But I would ignore the card's effect during the subsequent, Reveal Strategies step. If the card has already been revealed once, you can't re-reveal it, so to speak.
  12. I'm sure you will enjoy it then. Every game is a literal bloodbath! But despite the high difficulty level the game never feels unfair or impossibly stacked against the marines. There's always a chance to win, and it's very satisfying when you finally do. It has that sense of a very well balanced game that has had me coming back to it again and again. Just out of curiosity, do you plan on buying any of the POD expansions?
  13. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have. It's a great game with a surprising amount of depth to it. The learning curve is steep, and it's as hard as hell at first. But, win or lose, it's a very intense and satisfying game to play. Also this is one of those rare games that is actually better solo than multi-player. A single unified strategy is often the key to success. Enjoy!
  14. Thanks for the clarification. I thought I would ask because I almost overlooked the opportunity to play the card. But after I did, and claimed an easy win at the same time, it kind of felt a bit cheap. My previous games have tended to be long, hard slogs through the Emyn Muil. But this was more like a quick day trip. My threat level only reached 37 too! Lucky/easy card draws I guess.
  15. Another Emyn Muil game today, with the new deck. (Which is working great btw. ) I want to check that my win was by the book though. Here's the situation: I have 16 Victory points in hand so far. The Active Location is, The North Stair (3 Travel, 3 Victory) In the staging area is, The Highlands (1 Threat, 1 Travel, 1 Victory.) During the Quest Phase I commit characters worth 8 Willpower. The Encounter card drawn from the deck is, Orc Horse Thieves (3 Threat), pushing the total Threat up to 4. Before resolving the Quest Phase I exhausted and discarded a copy of, The Riddermark's Finest, and placed the progress tokens on The Highlands card, thereby removing one of the two locations from play. (17 Victory) Resolving the Quest: 8 Willpower versus 3 Threat. Result = +5. The North Stair is explored and claimed, pushing the Victory total to 20, while also clearing all Emyn Muil location cards and still leaving 2 points worth of travel for the Quest. A win, I think. But was my use of, The Riddermark's Finest, legal? I've never played that card before, and want to check that I didn't fudge the result.