Jump to content

countermeasures

Members
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Firstly: I feel like an idiot, but I think I'm missing some part of the rules that explains this. Okay, I have all of my factions seperated (20 cards each). I have my neutral cards separated (15 cards, including the 1 Conspiracy card). And I have the 10 story cards separated. Quoting the rule book: "-each player must select a deck. This can be done quickly by mixing any two of the seven factions, and by adding ONE OF THE TWO NEUTRAL CARD PACKETS (F141-147 and F148-154)" It also says in the rule book that Conspiracy cards are part of the players draw deck. The Core game only came with 1 Conspiracy card. And it's number F155, so it's right between the Faction cards and the Neutral cards. HOW DO I GET THIS CARD INTO PLAY?!!! Each player is supposed to pick one of the two neutral packets, rights? How do you decide who gets 8 cards instead of 7 (the 8th card being the Conspiracy card!). This is making me a little crazy. What am I missing here? Thank you for the help!
  2. Definitely count me in if a petition happens! I've been scouring the web for that game, but I can't justify paying $100.00 OR MORE for just the core game!
  3. I posted this on BGG a little while back. Thought I'd share it over here, since I'm pretty fond of this variant. Rule I started playing with (because aside from being helpful, but not so helpful that it feels cheap or too easy, it also makes sense thematically): -If you occupy the same space as the Deputy of Arkham at the beginning of the movement phase, when the deputy moves anywhere on the board using the Patrol Wagon, you can ride along with him/her to that spot. This uses ALL movement points for any investigators utilizing the benefits of the Patrol Wagon.- Thematically: The investigators are working together to save the world- why would the one with the car say "sorry pal, you have to walk all the way, and I'm going to drive". But, it is a police car, so there's some risk for both parties.... To up the cost of this beneficial house rule- once reaching the destination, the deputy has to roll (like after battle, or after returning from another world (see Patrol Wagon item card) to see if he can keep the patrol wagon. The deputy could also charge (before giving the ride) $1.00 or $2.00 per passenger, to help convince him/her to risk his car and badge. An (optional) additional variant for more difficulty- if more than one investigator (or just the one, up to you) wants to hitch a ride with the deputy, then all passengers (not the deputy) will need to pass a sneak check upon arrival (as the police chief would probably frown upon the company car being used as a taxi service for his deputy's friends). Should any of the passengers fail the sneak check, the deputy could lose all of his/her deputy privileges (making it possible for someone else to become Deputy of Arkham- even the same person, after proving themselves again with monster/gate tokens). Or those who failed could be transported to the police station (NOT ARRESTED) and have to pay a small fine ($2.00 or something) for illegally hitching a ride on a police vehicle. Or both! Like all house rules, do with this what you will!
  4. Here you go! http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/forum/213-elder-sign/ Also: 1) As long as the card is unordered, yes you could complete task 2 with that roll 2) You can only complete one task per roll. If one of the dice was Magnifying Glass (1) and another was Magnifying Glass (2), you could complete task two with the (2) and then keep the (1) on a spell that allows you to lock dice. You couldn't Focus the die on an investigator, because you can only focus dice on failed rolls (unless there's an investigator with the ability to let you do that, I don't remember one). 3) You can't "partially" complete a task, but you can focus a die on an investigator (or on two investigators if they occupy the same adventure card and you want them to assist each other). So yes, you would lose a die for failing the task. And no dice would go onto the task until you have enough dice to complete it. 4) I don't believe so, but some of the people you're playing with may prefer it. I don't think it would make a difference either way. 5) See number 3. Hope that helped!
  5. I think that's the best/simplest option too. And given the nature of the Lurker, I think it makes sense. Thanks for the input!
  6. I've only played where the Nightgaunt returns to where it was when the fight took place. Though I suppose for thematics this doesn't make the most sense. I agree with Julia's point about the monster limit too. Two other options I may start considering for thematic purposes - The Nightgaunt could drop you through the nearest gate, and then return to the Sky area of the board. Since it would already be flying, it doesn't make sense with the rest of the flying monster movement rules to return to a spot that might be literally on a different board from the gate you were tossed through. Or, it could drop you through the gate and then just hang out outside the gate until its dimensional symbol shows up, or you come back through and choose to engage it in combat. Just a couple ideas!
  7. I'd say I'm relatively new, but I have quite a few games under my belt already. I realize that choosing gates is part of the strategy, but this game is supposed to beat you down and be a constant uphill battle. That's why I love the challenge of not knowing where you're going, until you've "stepped through the gate." And it just makes sense to me! If I'm near the woods, and I see a crazy portal hanging out, I doubt I'd be able to glance at it and say, hmm that's definitely The Abyss, I think I'll not go there. But knowing that every gate presents a serious risk creates a lot more tension and challenge. You would probably be more inclined to stop by the Asylum or Hospital, or meet up with a fellow investigator for a quick trade before stepping through a gate, since you have no idea where it'll lead. And as far as the second rule, aside from just liking to have more Arkham Encounters, I think Launius' reason for the rule makes excellent sense. Though I didn't clarify the way I play: if you are visiting a location with a gate, you CANNOT travel through the gate WITHOUT first having an Arkham Encounter at that location. It has happened to me more than once where I was set and ready to travel through a gate, come out the other side and had the necessary clue tokens to seal it, but then... the Arkham Encounter would send me somewhere else, or use up some of my resources, or delay me. And, considering Launius' thematic reasoning for rule number 4 (size/location of gates within Arkham locations), it makes sense to me that you'd have to interact with that particular location during your exploration to even find the gate (hence the Arkham Encounters before moving through a gate). I understand the appeal of mastering the game with normal rules before playing with house rules, but if it's not cheapening it, and is actually making it a more tense and immersive experience, I feel more than okay with doing it.
  8. Two of Richard Launius' house rules that I love: "Rule 3 - Gate Locations Unknown:All gates are placed face down on the board rather than face up. With this rule, the gate is only revealed when an Investigator goes to the location and travels through it. At the point an Investigator enters the location and announces they are traveling through the gate, flip the Gate over and the Investigator immediately moves through it. (This rule works best with Rule 4, below.) Reason for House Rule: Creates mystery and makes the game even more interesting. No longer can any players rush their Investigator to a Gate because they know it is the Dreamlands and they feel more comfortable about traveling to that location than the Abyss. This rule does make the game a little more difficult, but the trade-off is it creates a lot of dialog and role-playing with a creative crowd. Rule 4 – Choose to Travel through Gate: Locations with gates do not automatically suck the Investigator through. Moving through a Gate is a choice for the player, unless a Gate opens at a location where an Investigator just happens to be visiting – then they are sucked through as noted in the Rules. Reason for the House Rule: Enables players more choices and opportunities to have Arkham Location Encounters. My logic for the rule is that the gate is not huge, probably only 12 feet by 12 feet and may even be in the basement of the building. The areas at each location are large - buildings with multiple floors and rooms, or acres of thick woods so there is an opportunity to still have normal encounters in a location even though nasty creatures may be slithering through a gate in the basement below…" But I need advice! I also play with the Lurker At The Threshold Expansion, and some of those gates move like monsters. But if they are face down on the board then I can't tell if they need to move during the Mythos Phase. The only thing I can think of that might work, I could put the appropriate dimensional symbols on the backside of the gate markers, so if they're on the board I'll know which ones move... but once I make the association of which symbols coincides with which OW, that still ruins the mystery that this house rule creates (which I love). Anyone else run into this dilemma that has a good alternative? [side note: I play that if any investigator uses a spell or unique item that allows them to choose which gate or Other World they want to visit, all Gate Markers on the board are turned over (conceivably the magic of the spell or item would let them discern which gate leads where). This also makes it so you don't choose to visit an OW that doesn't have a gate to/from it, meaning you'd be lost in time and space when you tried to return. BUT, any gates that open after that spell or item is used go face down like before]
  9. Thank you both. I figured it was something simple like me mixing up the phases. Thematically, I can't see that it makes much sense that way, I've been playing that you fight/evade the monster when you encounter it and it hadn't led to any complications up until the Nightgaunt issue, but looks like I'll have to correct my playing! Thank you guys for the clarification!
  10. I apologize if this question has been asked, possibly multiple times- I can't find an answer anywhere. There are a lot of questions about Nightgaunts helping/hindering, OW Encounters, Arkham Encounters, and the like, but I ran into a scenario over the weekend and I want to be sure I played it right. I had an investigator in a street area of Arkham, and a Nightgaunt hanging out in the sky waiting to strike. Mythos Phase comes around, monster movement... BAM, Nightgaunt swoops down and we have ourselves a little skirmish in the streets. I failed the combat check and was drawn through the nearest gate, as per protocol. I have since confirmed through the official rules/FAQs, that you are not delayed when this happens, as you're being carried and can see what's happening and all that, so I played that part right. The issue arose when I realized- I'm an an Other World BEFORE the movement phase... So, after the Mythos and Upkeep phases are through and it's time to move my investigators, I couldn't think of a good reason why my investigator wouldn't move to the second area of the OW BEFORE having my first OW encounter! I've noticed that in most circumstances, the rules seem to always try to find a way to force you to have two OW encounters (unless the first encounter, or a spell, or something sends you back to Arkham right away), but in this case- I was there, I wasn't delayed, and it was the movement phase. So I moved my investigator to the second area of the OW and had my encounter there during the OW Encounter phase. Did I miss something, or is this just one of the several Nightgaunt loopholes? Thanks for any feedback!
  11. I didn't realize that! I've been working my way up to Miskatonic Horror. Currently have Dunwich, Kingsport, Lurker, and Curse of The Dark Pharaoh (revised). Full disclosure: I only got Kingsport for the encounters, investigators, and ancient ones - And I found it brand new for $20.00 - which is a freaking steal! And only got Lurker because I loved the idea of more sentient gates (though I play with both new and old gate tokens at the same time). I read a lot of reviews, and at least for now, I'm trying to not get too much into the ones that more-drastically change the AH mechanics... But, now knowing that Miskatonic has so many more encounters, that will probably be next on my list! Thanks!
  12. One thing I (and many others, I'm sure) would love to see, is expansion decks that can be purchased that have more encounters for the big box expansion locations (locations in Dunwhich, Kingsport, Innsmouth, etc..). The big box expansions have so few options for encounters, a few plays, and you've seen them all! I have four expansion (two big, two little), so Arkham Encounters are decently sized now, but the other boards are preeeetty skimpy. If FFG sold decks that contained only encounters for those locales, I know I would buy them!
  13. I play with a couple house rules I found online (one of which is directly from Richard Launius - the creator of the game): Launius' rule: "Choose to Travel through Gate: Locations with gates do not automatically suck the Investigator through. Moving through a Gate is a choice for the player, unless a Gate opens at a location where an Investigator just happens to be visiting – then they are sucked through as noted in the Rules. Reason for the House Rule: Enables players more choices and opportunities to have Arkham Location Encounters. My logic for the rule is that the gate is not huge, probably only 12 feet by 12 feet and may even be in the basement of the building. The areas at each location are large - buildings with multiple floors and rooms, or acres of thick woods so there is an opportunity to still have normal encounters in a location even though nasty creatures may be slithering through a gate in the basement below." Other rule I like from one of the Boardgamegeek forums: "Pre-story Encounters At the start of the game, prior to drawing the starting mythos card, each character has an encounter at their starting location. Then draw the first mythos card and begin the game as normal. No Insteads On the board ignore the phrase “Instead of having an encounter here”. Instead players must have an encounter at a location BEFORE using the locations ability. If the encounter moves them to another space they do not get to use the location ability. Ursula Downs’ Quick Witted power allows her to use a locations ability without drawing an encounter, or it allows her to use a location ability, have an encounter there, then use the location ability a second time." My combination of the two - Players can (or must if you prefer) have an Arkham Encounter before moving through the gate. Though you do run the risk of being sent elsewhere or losing sanity, stamina, items, etc., before you can travel through the gate.
  14. Many people want to see Elder Sign: Omens on digital platforms other than smartphones and tablets- FFG is trying to make that happen through Steam. http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=99580155 I haven't seen FFG do much marketing or encouraging to make this happen, but anyone who loves Elder Sign, and wants to play it on a computer should follow the above link. Then under the video where it says "Would you buy this game if it were available in Steam?" just click YES! Steam decides what games to greenlight based on how much it seems like people want to play them, and if Omens doesn't get much attention, then it's less likely to get released. So spread the word, follow the link, click the YES and get this game made!!! http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=99580155 Thanks in advance for your help
×
×
  • Create New...