Jump to content

Felin

Members
  • Content Count

    256
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Felin got a reaction from rfisha in Unofficial Campaign Tracker for Descent!   
    What! French do such things ?? Nooo.. you are probably wrong ..
    they whould never try to translate lets say Chewbacca for example to something like (once translated back) "Chewing tobbaco" .. Noooooo...
    ......
    ...well in fact yes they did it !?!??
     
    But only on the first StarWars (episode IV) .. after they used Chewie and Chewbacca !!?
    Heu ... I don't see anything silly !!! having the same caracter having different names depending on the episode : it is totaly normal .. no ??!!
     
    but they don't this to all caracters ! for example, always on the StarWars films : Luke is always "Skywalker" (not translated) in all the saga !!
    So for the "Sir", "Lady", ... don't try to find a logic! but if there is one, probably what Indalecio pointed is the closer to the answer...
     
     
     
    From my understanding.
     
    When someone buys a game, most of the times he uses the language of the box! Even if it's not is native language. Because it's the only reference he has! So he will use the titles and the wording of the box without trying to translate them.
    Add to that, the fact that there is no translation of the game on the market for your native language (like for ducht, portuguese and a lot of other languages !)!
    There is nothing to compare with, so no need to translate it, no reflex!
    Now for the languages were the game has been translated, the people who boughts them are using their native language, it becomes their reference, most of the time they didn't even know/notice that the game exists on other languages, as you don't have the reflex to translate to your native language they don't have the reflex to translate to the origanal language of the game!
    Of course when people understanding both the translated language and the original language compare the result there is always some smilings.. and probaby there is some more smilings when the French is involved!   
    About the "Sir", "Lady", "Lord", it's something very British... not sure if equivalents titles exist somewhere else ... but these titles are well know in France, and sometimes used as a mark of deference.
    But again don't try to find a logic...
    French as many rules and for each of them there is what they call " l'exception qui confirme la règle " : " the exception that proves the rule " !  
     
     
  2. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Japles in Beastmaster Shadow Hunter question   
    Quote of FFG answer from another post :
    From Justin Kemppainen (FFG staff):
    “Shadow Hunter can only be triggered during the timing of the Beastmaster’s turn where he can activate the Wolf (before or after the 2 actions). Thus, he could trigger Shadow Hunter, perform 2 actions (one of which is to use Bound by the Hunt), and then trigger Shadow Hunter again. It can be used more than once, but only before/after the Beastmaster’s actions.”

    so at max it can be trigerred 2 times !
  3. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Zaltyre in Beastmaster Shadow Hunter question   
    Quote of FFG answer from another post :
    From Justin Kemppainen (FFG staff):
    “Shadow Hunter can only be triggered during the timing of the Beastmaster’s turn where he can activate the Wolf (before or after the 2 actions). Thus, he could trigger Shadow Hunter, perform 2 actions (one of which is to use Bound by the Hunt), and then trigger Shadow Hunter again. It can be used more than once, but only before/after the Beastmaster’s actions.”

    so at max it can be trigerred 2 times !
  4. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Atom4geVampire in AtomAgeVampire's random questions   
    Just for example on one of my currents campaigns I have Quellen (4 Stamina), equipped with Ring of Power (+1 Stamina) and "Undying Skull" (Apply +1 to you Stamina.You cannot spend 'Surge' to recovery 'Fatigue'.)..
    every time I use his Heroic Feat (Use at the start of your turn to increase your Stamina by 4 for the remainder of this turn. At the end of your turn, recover all of your 'Fatigue'.) I can move 10 spaces (normal ones) and yet do my two attacks !
     
    our OL his not very happy with me... but this has not avoided him to win the last three Quests ! ;-)
  5. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Zaltyre in Attribute Tests on Koed Heroes?   
    Koed heroes can only be trageted by events/powers that give life immediately...
     
    So from my understanding Koed heroes can never perform attribute tests...
  6. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Atom4geVampire in AtomAgeVampire's random questions   
    Just to be correct the Jinn's Lamp cost 100 so 50 when sold.. but changes nothing to your way of thinking !
    As say by Zaltyre only one way to be sure -> ask FFG ! ;-)
  7. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Funkfried in AtomAgeVampire's random questions   
    Rules p22 says in paragraph Act II point 3
    --------------------------------
     3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box ...
    --------------------------------
     
    So from my point of view after the Interlude the only thing you can do with the "Jinn's Lamp" is sold it on one of the remaining Shop Phases
    Indeed there is no more Act I Shop Item Deck ...
  8. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Zaltyre in AtomAgeVampire's random questions   
    Rules p22 says in paragraph Act II point 3
    --------------------------------
     3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box ...
    --------------------------------
     
    So from my point of view after the Interlude the only thing you can do with the "Jinn's Lamp" is sold it on one of the remaining Shop Phases
    Indeed there is no more Act I Shop Item Deck ...
  9. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Kunzite in Want Some Advice   
    Hello
     
     
    Ser Folly:
     
    About the cards it's just what I'm planning.. and it's why I need advices with the monsters because it's the first time I do this quest and with the heroes I have in face of me I can't decide what group has the more chance to win me time!
    About the monsters you suggest...
    Between the Shadow Dragon and the Merriod I think the first one is better, more HP, more Armor, and more mouvement (size 2x3 instead of 2x2) and the Shadow power has no match.. even if agaist Nanok's Relic there is few probabilities it will be helpfull!
    And If it's to attacks many targets I think the Giants are better that Merriods, same size but with more HP (12 vs 7) but with Sweep (attack all figures within range.. and it also as Reach!) in place of Flail (double attack)
    NB: by the way I have make an error on my description Trolls can't be taken in this quest I was thinking of Giants!
     
     
    Zaltyre:
     
    I know about Rumors Quest.. but this was their first time.. and the last I try to be kind with beginners!! ;-)
     
    About the Golem I love it (above all his immunity to Pierce!!).. but as you say I can't have it here!
     
    Yet you are telling something I didn't understood while reading the Quest.. Lord Merrick can attack through the portal?
    I know he has LOS to the outside but as the portal his a little bit like a door I thought only powers that asked like of sight could be used not attacks...
    This is a good news... even if only with a blue and a red at best he can attack to a maximum range of 6.. and if he is to rise the zombies he will not have much time to attack.. but this can always be helpfull !
     
    For the reinforcements.. I know it's at the end and on the entrance.. what will bother me, it's that if I have reinforcements.. this means Lord Merrick has not done what he was supposed to.. and so I'm already loosing one turn.. and probably the encounter!!
    This is if the Portal is always active.. if it's already gone... what ever the monster I reinforce, it will not make it to the combat in time !
     
    I have looked for the Chaos Beast, the fact they have ranged attacks it's a good point and there are two of them... but I'm afraid Nanok will be able to kill both in one turn like the Shadow Dragon... But If I'm to count with reinforcements they are a very good choice.
     
    What is good with Barghests it's they are one more than the Chaos Beasts but with nearly the same HP ... so the warrior will not be able to kill them all in one turn... what makes me unconfortable with these it's that howling takes one action..not sure 1 fatigue will slow them much.. compared to one attack, + move and try to block the way.
    The hellhounds are rather the same, the fire breath is cool... but with a blue and a red I don't have much luck to use it.. and if against Leoric even less! a pity they don't have a yellow dice.. ;-)
     
    If I go for numbers the Skeleton archers seems the best choice 3 minors 1 major ranged attack and Undying (with out forgetting the Pierce 1 !)
    If the heroes want to kill all this lot they will need at least 5 attacks .. but on the other side no way to block anything with these, pour armor and reinforcements will be helpless..
     
    So I'm always at the same point.. without beeing able to decide what's the best.. make them loose time at the beginning killing little monsters or letting them try to kill big monsters, hoping there will be something that fails for them and if ever some thing goes wrong with Merrick have reinforcements that will help after...
     
     
    Kunzite:
     
    I plan to keep as much cards as I can for encouter 2.. so unless I'm certain that loosing one card makes me win a zombie out, I won't try to stop Jain!
    About Nanok I'm not afraid of him.. in the last quest I put him to the ground (by the way with a golem! ;-) ).. but bad luck for me they had found a healer during their travel and he has been revived to his full health !!
    But in this quest what I need is to gain time, putting him down will cost me too much efforts and I'm not sure I have nor the monsters for that nor if this will really gain me time.
     
    Thank you all for your advices..
    And feel free to give more!
     
    Felin
  10. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Zaltyre in Dark Charm Questions   
    Steve-O, griton,
    Thanks for your answers and advice!
    Here is the questions I have send :
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Can a hero use his feat (or anything else power/ability) while being Dark Charmed?
    to make it more clear I will take an example:
    Player A is the OL player B is Red Scorpion
    Feat : "Use when you are attacked to ferce the attacking monster to reroll some or all of the attack dice (you choose which dice). The new results must be applied."
    - A uses Dark Charm on Red Scorpion
    - Can B use his feat to make A (OL) re-roll his dices?

    If so, I suppose Champion ability "For the cause" or the WildLander "Running shot" can also be used ?
    For this last case what will happen : if the OL attackes with a bow?
    The hero will be able, before the attack, to move the hero!!
    If OL was attacking another hero is the attack cancelled? can the OL choose another taget .. like the hero himself?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    an the answer :
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    From: Justin Kemppainen
    Yes, if Red Scorpion is forced to attack herself, she could use her feat. This also applies to "For the Cause."
    It does not apply to Running Shot, however. The overlord cannot force a hero to use Class cards, and though his figure is performing the attack, the hero himself is not, so he cannot use Running Shot himself.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
     
    In short yes the heros can keep on reacting and using their power / abilities (if triggering conditions are met, of course) while being Dark Charmed!
     
    Again Thanks all (this includes Justin ! ) for the help!
     
    Best Regards
     
    Felin
  11. Like
    Felin got a reaction from Albrafeust in Dark Charm Questions   
    Hello
     
    As specified by the subject I have some questions about Dark Charm:
     
    - First one to see if I understand it correctly :
    if the OL "Dark Charms" Bogran the Shadow whose capacity is
        "Each time you attack a monster adjacent to another hero, your attack gains +1 [Heart]"
    if Bogran is alone and attack himself he doesn't have the +1, but if another hero is adjacent to Bogran and again he attacks himself the OL can have a +1[heart] to the attack.
     
    Right?
     
    -Second question more tricky:
    Can a hero use his feat while being Dark Charmed?
    to make it more clear I will take an example:
    Player A is the OL player B is Red Scorpion
    Feat : "Use when you are attacked to ferce the attacking monster to reroll some or all of the attack dice (you choose which dice). The new results must be applied."
     
    A uses Dark Charm on Red Scorpion
    Can B use his feat to make A (OL) re-roll his dices?
     
    Best Regards
     
    Felin
×
×
  • Create New...