Jump to content

Parravon

Members
  • Content Count

    5,357
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from nitrobenz in Showcase: HWK-290   
    Here's my HWK-290 I painted a wee while ago. Photographed outside on a rather sunny day, so it looks a little washed out.

    Indoor lighting wasn't much better.

  2. Haha
    Parravon got a reaction from CoffeeMinion in MacrossVF1s corner of paint and plasticard   
    Is this the new TIE Silencer I haven't heard about?
  3. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Tellonius in Tractor Beam   
    Just a small point, but the rulebook actually says:
    There's no actual blanket rule that says "cannot trumps may" when it's in reference to rules, only card abilities and mission rules.
    The Tractor Beam Reference card clearly overrides the rules in this case, because the rule says you cannot boost or barrel roll if your ship or maneuver template would overlap an obstacle. Now the reference card only mentions the ship being able to overlap and does not say anything about the template. This may be an oversight, or it might not be, but the Obstacles entry in the FAQ directly beneath the Tractor Beam Reference Card entry, would tend to imply that the template can overlap an obstacle when a ship is tractored.
  4. Like
    Parravon reacted to Opsmason in Where do i find....   
    Rules Reference, page 20: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/2a/57/2a57fdb2-e13f-4d58-b9db-bb082dd23dcc/swzrulesreference_v102.pdf
    I didn’t buy the Y-Wing, so I’m not sure if it came with something similar, but the Scum Falcon came with an addendum rules sheet that explained rigged cargo shute.
  5. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from cupakabra in This is for those who want Star Destroyers...   
    Suggested it myself on another similar thread (shock me, there's more than one thread about Star Destroyers??). Further up there's a post with a link to exactly what you've mentioned, where they seem to have created a 6' relief of a Star Destroyer with the bridge tower and batteries etc. Looked fantastic and seems to be the only logical way to include it in a dogfighting game.
  6. Like
    Parravon reacted to Sandsnare in Painting the models before playing   
    I've had a few games before I decided to paint my models but now I have started to paint them I've made the decision not to play another game until I have them all done. I'm not great on the internet but I've tried to upload a few of my pictures to show you how I'm getting on with my models (I hope the link works?).
    https://imgur.com/a/l845tv9
  7. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Piscopas in Showcase: HWK-290   
    Here's my HWK-290 I painted a wee while ago. Photographed outside on a rather sunny day, so it looks a little washed out.

    Indoor lighting wasn't much better.

  8. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Quarrel in FAQ Conflict   
    Well, yes and no. Check what it says about boosts on page 6 of the FAQ. What you cannot do, is measure things before choosing an action (like a boost). The only measurement allowed when performing a boost, is to see if your chosen boost direction will fit without overlapping obstacles or ships.
  9. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Stoneface in FAQ Conflict   
    Well, yes and no. Check what it says about boosts on page 6 of the FAQ. What you cannot do, is measure things before choosing an action (like a boost). The only measurement allowed when performing a boost, is to see if your chosen boost direction will fit without overlapping obstacles or ships.
  10. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Greebwahn in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    If we go by "Do what the card says to do.  Don't do what the card doesn't say to do.", then Hera would still allow you to reveal the stop maneuver, and the title would still allow you to turn 180°.
    As for the argument of "time of Hera's release" and "different time in the game", neither hold water for me. Because if you reveal a red while you are stressed, it's still considered an illegal maneuver. The only thing that the FAQ has changed, is the penalty for doing so. Instead of handing your dial over to your opponent, you execute the 2-straight instead.
    So, @emeraldbeacon, explain to me how the FAQ entry stops the title from triggering. The ship has revealed a stop maneuver as required by the title. And Hera has allowed that stop maneuver to be revealed while the ship is stressed. The FAQ states that if you don't have something that will change the maneuver to non-red, then you're doing the 2-straight. There's nothing on either card that prohibits anything and the FAQ ruling does not prohibit cards abilities from being used if their trigger condition is met.
  11. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from theBitterFig in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    If we go by "Do what the card says to do.  Don't do what the card doesn't say to do.", then Hera would still allow you to reveal the stop maneuver, and the title would still allow you to turn 180°.
    As for the argument of "time of Hera's release" and "different time in the game", neither hold water for me. Because if you reveal a red while you are stressed, it's still considered an illegal maneuver. The only thing that the FAQ has changed, is the penalty for doing so. Instead of handing your dial over to your opponent, you execute the 2-straight instead.
    So, @emeraldbeacon, explain to me how the FAQ entry stops the title from triggering. The ship has revealed a stop maneuver as required by the title. And Hera has allowed that stop maneuver to be revealed while the ship is stressed. The FAQ states that if you don't have something that will change the maneuver to non-red, then you're doing the 2-straight. There's nothing on either card that prohibits anything and the FAQ ruling does not prohibit cards abilities from being used if their trigger condition is met.
  12. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from Stoneface in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    If we go by "Do what the card says to do.  Don't do what the card doesn't say to do.", then Hera would still allow you to reveal the stop maneuver, and the title would still allow you to turn 180°.
    As for the argument of "time of Hera's release" and "different time in the game", neither hold water for me. Because if you reveal a red while you are stressed, it's still considered an illegal maneuver. The only thing that the FAQ has changed, is the penalty for doing so. Instead of handing your dial over to your opponent, you execute the 2-straight instead.
    So, @emeraldbeacon, explain to me how the FAQ entry stops the title from triggering. The ship has revealed a stop maneuver as required by the title. And Hera has allowed that stop maneuver to be revealed while the ship is stressed. The FAQ states that if you don't have something that will change the maneuver to non-red, then you're doing the 2-straight. There's nothing on either card that prohibits anything and the FAQ ruling does not prohibit cards abilities from being used if their trigger condition is met.
  13. Like
    Parravon reacted to Stoneface in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    This is where I disagree. Hera' s ability takes effect after the movement is revealed. It's here that I would need to play a card that changed the difficulty of the maneuver, if I was stressed, or do the two straight. Hera' s ability triggers and ignores that section of the rules. We're now past that point and pivot wing can be played.
    If the above isn't convincing enough, consider this card combo has been available for over a year and only now a T.O. is denying it.
  14. Like
    Parravon reacted to Stoneface in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    I'm with Bitter Fig on this one. Hera allows you to reveal and execute red maneuvers when stressed. I hope everyone agrees that Hera can keep the U-Wing stationery for multiple turns.
    The pivot wing card allows the rotation after revealing a stop maneuver. The only prerequisite for the rotation is revealing a stop maneuver. No mention of being unstressed, no limitation on the number of times it can be done or that the rotations can't be on consecutive turns.
    The T.O. was incorrect in his ruling.
     
  15. Like
    Parravon reacted to theBitterFig in Hera crew Store Championship ruling.   
    I strongly disagree.
    The fact that Hera says "reveal and execute" and not just "execute" to me means that she doesn't just let you execute the move, but also she obviates the entire rule in the FAQ regarding "Revealing Red Maneuvers," and thus the restrictions on taking using other effects.  To cite the rule about what happens when you reveal a red maneuver while stressed is kind of silly to me, since Hera pretty explicitly tells you to ignore that rule.
  16. Like
    Parravon reacted to Quarrel in custom TIE squadron movement templates   
    The good news is that I have a friend with a laser cutter. ?
    The bad news is that I made them about three weeks before the big 2.0 announcement. ?
    Designed by me, for me. Total etching time was an hour, with probably another hour-plus for painting.

  17. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from subtrendy2 in Painting the models before playing   
    Well, I'm struggling to find someone else keen enough to invest a couple of hours in a board game at this stage, so painting the models seemed like a good idea. After the first Star Destroyers were done, I just had to continue.  
  18. Haha
    Parravon reacted to emeraldbeacon in Tycho and PTL   
    Why didn't anybody tell me there were free muffins?!?
  19. Like
    Parravon reacted to thespaceinvader in Capt. Jostero’s pilot ability does NOT trigger from the facedown damage card dealt by the Harpooned! condition.   
    No, it doesn't, because Jostero doesn't trigger from dealing facedown cards at all, he triggers from taking damage, which the Harpooned condition doesn't cause to its holder.
    Jostero is also not triggered by Proton Bombs, Black Market Slicer Tools, etc etc.
  20. Like
    Parravon reacted to thespaceinvader in Should FFG release a pack of errata cards?   
    They won't.  They will amend the cards in later printings of ships, and in alt-arts.
    I'd like to see errated cards as participation prizes for kits personally.
  21. Like
    Parravon reacted to mcgreag in green moves   
    1. I think so. The rules reference says this: "If the maneuver is green, remove one stress token from the ship." As there is no "may" it shouldn't be optional.
    2. Yes and if you do a green maneuver you can then remove the stress you got from it.
    Note about Push then limit, it doesn't say that you can only use it after your main action, it can be used anytime you do an action from any source (just limited to once per round). So say for example that you hit a rock and didn't get an action phase but then later some ability gives you a free action (coordinate for example) you can then activate push the limit to do an other action if you want.
  22. Like
    Parravon reacted to dotswarlock in Ion Drift?   
    These are your first few steps towards the scum side.  Embrace de bile feeling coming up your throat!  Now take the next step in your journey and combine ion cannon with tractor beams.  You can't tractor beam him off the board, but you can speed his way towards oblivion!
  23. Like
    Parravon reacted to shaunmerritt in touching but not overlapping   
    Correct. There is no act of touching that can occur outside of overlapping. If you move your ship and it sits flat... its not "touching." 
  24. Like
    Parravon reacted to muribundi in touching but not overlapping   
    No it is not. An overlap is exactly the english description of the word... when something is over another. If the ship base was not overlaping then it was not an overlap...

    If you can complete the maneuver and the ship base fall flat on the mat, yes they are in base contact but they never overlap.
  25. Like
    Parravon got a reaction from nitrobenz in Target lock noob   
    That just tells you what it is, not how it works. Page 3 has much more info under "Acquire a Target Lock"
×
×
  • Create New...