Jump to content

Parravon

Members
  • Content count

    5,355
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Parravon

  1. Parravon

    FAQ Conflict

    Well, yes and no. Check what it says about boosts on page 6 of the FAQ. What you cannot do, is measure things before choosing an action (like a boost). The only measurement allowed when performing a boost, is to see if your chosen boost direction will fit without overlapping obstacles or ships.
  2. Regarding canon and non-canon, Disney pretty much wiped the slate clean with a "ruling" that if it didn't appear on screen, it wasn't canon. Or something similarly restricting. And although that doesn't affect the average Star Wars fan, the hardcore fans weren't all that happy about the move. That being said, when it comes to X-wing, "canon" isn't part of the rules and has no bearing on the game. If it were, the restrictions would make it too hard for FFG to create new ships and pilots. Regarding factions, there is no such rule that requires two players to have differing factions. They are free to fly any one of the factions, and it's quite common that a player will fly the same faction as his opponent. Imperial vs Imperial, Rebel vs Rebel, Scum vs Scum. It's all X-wing.
  3. Parravon

    Jam and Esege Tuketu

    Good point. I hadn't thought about the token hanging over from a previous attack or round. I was thinking that if you've just received a jam token, then you're more likely to be the "defender" and not attacking. So, if you have no tokens and receive a jam token, and then make an attack, I see no reason why you can't blow one of Esege's focus tokens to get rid of your Jam token.
  4. Parravon

    Jam and Esege Tuketu

    As soon as you're assigned a Jam token, the Jam Token rule comes into effect and forces you discard the jam token and one other. I don't think you can wait until you've begun an attack to trigger it.
  5. Parravon

    Hera crew Store Championship ruling.

    If we go by "Do what the card says to do. Don't do what the card doesn't say to do.", then Hera would still allow you to reveal the stop maneuver, and the title would still allow you to turn 180°. As for the argument of "time of Hera's release" and "different time in the game", neither hold water for me. Because if you reveal a red while you are stressed, it's still considered an illegal maneuver. The only thing that the FAQ has changed, is the penalty for doing so. Instead of handing your dial over to your opponent, you execute the 2-straight instead. So, @emeraldbeacon, explain to me how the FAQ entry stops the title from triggering. The ship has revealed a stop maneuver as required by the title. And Hera has allowed that stop maneuver to be revealed while the ship is stressed. The FAQ states that if you don't have something that will change the maneuver to non-red, then you're doing the 2-straight. There's nothing on either card that prohibits anything and the FAQ ruling does not prohibit cards abilities from being used if their trigger condition is met.
  6. Parravon

    BB-8 / Black One interaction

    When you reveal your dial, BB-8 gives you a free barrel roll, then remove a target lock (title). Execute your maneuver, then boost for your action, then remove another target lock (title). Handy little combo if someone is trying to kill Poe with anything and everything they have.
  7. My copy of Rise of the Empire has just arrived. Woo hoo! But I kinda thought I'm not going to play it until I've painted the models, because they're just too good to leave unpainted. I got the core game not long ago and I'm still painting those models. Has anybody else had this weird dilemma? Wanting to paint them before playing your first game with them?
  8. Parravon

    Tycho and PTL

    Just don't mention bacon!
  9. Parravon

    Lieutenant Kestal

    By removing those dice before he can modify them, you're denying the defender the chance to modify them with a focus token or some other ability.
  10. Parravon

    Target lock noob

    Essential reading material: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/40/b4/40b44d5f-7a06-406c-ae6e-183c5297e796/swx36_rulesreference.pdf
  11. Parravon

    Noob focus question

    Essential reading material: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/40/b4/40b44d5f-7a06-406c-ae6e-183c5297e796/swx36_rulesreference.pdf
  12. Parravon

    Target lock noob

    That just tells you what it is, not how it works. Page 3 has much more info under "Acquire a Target Lock"
  13. Parravon

    ARC-510 Squadron

    Very nice.
  14. Parravon

    Time wasting in Tournaments

    Ten or fifteen minutes for two ships is definitely stalling. It really shouldn't take anywhere near that long.
  15. Actually, you were wrong in the "Os-1 Arsenal loadout and blinded pilot" as well. You agreed with option c). It doesn't need a legal way to fire its ordnance or a valid target. It just needs torpedoes or missile in order to give it an opportunity to attack. Read the Damage card.
  16. You want examples? Well, there's plenty in this thread for a start. As well as the Setup Question thread. A few months back, there was the fruitless attempt to explain to you how nested actions work and have always worked which you just wouldn't accept regardless of the number of members that tried to explain it. But you continually stick to your weird and invariably incorrect logic, which has been proven wrong on numerous occasions, and will not accept that it might possibly be you that's wrong.
  17. Parravon

    Os-1 Arsenal loadout and blinded pilot

    The damage card states "After your next opportunity to attack (even if there was no target for an attack), flip this card facedown." So you activate during the Combat phase, and thanks to the title, the weapons disabled token means you actually now have an opportunity to attack with torpedoes or missiles, but the damage card prevents this. Flip the Damage card, end of activation. There's nothing there requiring that you have to have a valid target, or a target lock to fire your torpedoes or missiles. You just need the opportunity to attack. If you didn't have any torpedoes or missiles, the title wouldn't trigger and the weapons disabled token would deny you the opportunity to attack, and therefore you would be unable to flip the damage card.
  18. Where was the insult? I was merely stating the facts. Every time you state a "point", it's categorically wrong.
  19. Once again SkullNBones has dredged through the rules and cards in an attempt to find an interpretation that he (and only he) asserts is correct, and everyone else in the world is wrong. The premise that it's "promoting discussion" is quite moot, as he refuses to accept the fact that once again, he's wrong, and despite the many, many answers that contradict his "logic" he still refuses to accept it. There's really nothing to discuss, because there's no real point. The cards, rules and FAQ in this scenario are crystal clear. His "logic" is not. It was stated further up this thread that the Rules Sub-Forum is designed as a "question and answer" forum, not a "what-if debate" forum. Ask a question, get an answer. Simple as that. @SkullNBones, dude just stick to the main forum, because you've demonstrated in multiple threads that you're well out of your depth in the Rules Sub-forum! I'm not saying we're all experts here. But at least we know how the game works.
  20. Parravon

    Final Table and players won't play

    Absolutey, @Dr Zoidberg! No final should EVER be decided by a single dice roll instead of playing. If they played to the time limit and discovered they had a draw, then the dice roll is fine. I'm about to TO an upcoming tournament and if I hear two players making a decision to decide a game with a dice roll instead of playing it, I'm going to DQ them on the spot!
  21. Parravon

    Final Table and players won't play

    I'd get brutal and DQ the pair of them, and promote the next pair to play for the final.
  22. Parravon

    Setup Question

    There really is no point arguing about this one, because SkullNBones will just agree then disagree repeatedly until everyone else gets pissed off. There's only two ways to measure anything within Range 1 of the edge of the play area and no further into the play area, and that's either with two thirds of the standard range ruler hanging off the play area, or with a short Range 1 ruler. Laying the whole ruler down in the play area is measuring beyond range 1, and therefore not allowed. It's not RAI versus RAW, it's simply the way it works.
  23. Parravon

    Setup Question

    Also, page 17 of the Rules Reference, under Setup:
  24. Parravon

    Quickdraw’s Ability Destroys a Ship

    It's not Quickdraw's pilot skill that's used in this instance. The ability triggers when Quickdraw loses a shield, regardless of what PS step is currently being resolved.
  25. Parravon

    Quickdraw’s Ability Destroys a Ship

    Yes, Ship B should have had it's opportunity to attack after being destroyed. It's covered under the Simultaneous Attack rule on page 17. The active ship was Ship A, and Quickdraw triggers during Step 9 of Ship A's attack, so B would still get to attack before being removed.
×