Jump to content

JonahHex

Members
  • Content Count

    463
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About JonahHex

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 07/28/1985

Contact Methods

  • Yahoo
    sethjvian@gmail.com

Profile Information

  • Location
    United States
  1. I would certainly rule that you need to be in Void Stance to use Void Shuji regardless of whether or not the technique in question requires a roll. First of all Courtier's Resolve is the only technique that has a Ring tied to it yet doesn't require a check, so to say that you don't need to be in Void Stance is to say that Courtier's Resolve is a special exception. Secondly, while the RAW might not explicitly state that you need to be in a like-Ring stance to use a technique which doesn't require a check the fact that every single other technique in the book tied to a Ring requires a check makes it clear to me that the RAI are on the side of being in a particular stance. In any event, if you're in the middle of a conflict I don't see why you wouldn't want to be Void stance anyway. Presuming you're close to being compromised (which is likely if you're using Courtier's Resolve to begin with) you don't want to accumulate more Strife between turns via making rolls to resist effects (opposed rolls, Fitness checks to reduce the severity of crits, etc).
  2. I beg to differ. Its been key in every duel I've run. Going into Water Stance and using Strike and Predict is one of my player's favorite tactics. It does, however, rely on the GM narrating the actions of opponents quite specifically (an aggressive character pressing their advantage is likely to go into Fire Stance, someone trying to maintain their calm is likely to go into Void Stance, etc). A clever player may also leverage Opportunities (especially Air Opportunities) to learn what stance a character may take next. None of this guarantees victory as it all exists within grey areas of the rules. But considering what Predict does? That's as it should be. Dealing 4 Strife to a character is significant; it can easily lead to a Finishing Blow interrupt, which is powerful indeed.
  3. NPCs scale at the same rate as PCs, generally. That said, critical hits dealt by Heartpiercing Strike and Fury of Osano-Wo can both be resisted using Fitness, and with Warrior's Resolve a character Incapacitated by one of them could find themselves back on their feet. Offense definitely scales much faster - this game is only one or two steps below Warhammer in terms of how lethal it is - but regardless a character can still use the Tactics and Fitness skills as well as Warrior's Resolve and Courtier's Resolve to keep their defenses high.
  4. Mostly true. You always have the Guard action, and if you pump your Tactics skill you can pump the TN needed to hit you quite high. Combine this with Crescent Moon Style and you can enjoy a high defense without sacking your offense too much.
  5. If you want to one-shot people with a katana play a Kaiu engineer. While using a self-made katana a rank 6 Kaiu engineer can add 6 Opportunity results to a single katana blow. That's Deadliness 13, which strikes with a Severity of 26 while using a Finishing Blow... and that's without factoring in any additional Opportunity results. If you can get a nice cut in beforehand using Striking as Fire you can pump those numbers even higher. You can definitely insta-kill using a katana, no doubt about it. It can even happen without being a Kaiu engineer or without landing a Finishing Blow if you roll enough Opportunities.
  6. Should every battle provide strong enough emotional stimuli to deal Strife to oneself? That seems like a stretch, especially since Strife accumulates on its down during battle, particularly if you go into Fire Stance and thus tend to keep Strife whenever you roll it. In any case, it's still not a good idea; you can only unmask once per scene, so if you become compromised a second time during the same encounter you'd be in a really bad position.
  7. The rules don't say that at all. The rules explicitly say, "Players can choose to inflict strife on their own characters (and the GM can inflict strife on their characters as well) WHEN IT MAKES NARRATIVE SENSE, such as in response to fear, longing, desire, or other strong emotional stimuli." A disruptive player may attempt to argue that the rules allow them to say they're longing for their lost love at any particular moment to gain Strife and thus unmask at will. But keep in mind that if you continually unmask you'll continue to lose honor and glory. If the GM is running a game about great clan samurai you could very quickly find your character retired. The GM has the right to say, "Sorry, a samurai with honor 0 is not an appropriate player character for this campaign." See page 299 if you don't believe me. Under the header "Death and Retirement" it says, "Alternatively, a character might be retired from play because they have completed their duty, BECAUSE THEY HAVE BEEN STRIPPED OF THEIR STATUS AS A SAMURAI," or because they have simply become too old for such adventures and wish to spend their final years in contemplation at a monastery." The moral of the story is this - don't be a disruptive player. Unmasking is a big deal. If you try to argue that you can deal Strife to yourself in any given scene that can turn into a rapid plummet toward rolling a new character faster than you think...
  8. This is a very strange topic to me. Some points; 1. When you add a kept die, that die is added from outside the pool into the pool. Page 27 has the relevant text; "When an effect says add a kept die, after Step 5: Choose Kept Dice, place one die of the noted type in the pool set to specified result. It is a kept die." Because it says "...place one die of the noted type IN THE POOL" that means the die does not come from within the pool. 2. If an effect says "add a kept die" that die is kept in addition to all others. It does not say on page 27 that you "must keep this die." It says that die is added, and then it is kept. If it counted against your maximum kept dice the text would be explicit. When in doubt in L5R err on the side of flexibility; that is the way of Fantasy Flight RPGs (Star Wars, Genesys, etc). 3. The reason why you add dice set to a particular result rather than just adding particular results to a check without the dice is because of Step 5: Choose Kept Dice on page 24. The last line says, "Then, any effects that modify kept dice are resolved." Although most dice modifications are made during the appropriately named Step 4: Modify Rolled Dice, if an effect specifies modifying kept dice it occurs at the end of Step 5: Choose Kept Dice instead. For example, if an effect says that you can re-roll a kept die, you could re-roll a kept die that was set to a particular result. 3. I really don't understand this assumption that such abilities are only useful if you're only rolling ring dice. That literally makes no sense. If you're making a check and you want more opportunities than successes (for instance, when you're trying to score a Critical Hit with a Razor-Edged weapon or when using the Striking as Fire kata) adding a kept opportunity is going to help you matter what's in your dice pool. One thing to keep in mind is that 5th Edition L5R is the love child of 4th Edition L5R and Fantasy Flight's Genesys, which in turn is a generic clone of FF's Star Wars system. Understanding the mindset of Fantasy Flight RPGs will help you understand the mindset of 5th Edition. To put it simply, Fantasy Flight RPGs are *not* all that strict. If a rule seems inflexible or absolute, chances are that might be your brain holding over info from a previous edition of L5R. Fantasy Flight RPGs are fun and sometimes even intricate mechanically, but they're far more focused on creating a narrative rather than crunching numbers or restricting actions. Another thing to keep in mind is that previous editions had ways for players to increase the number of kept dice they roll, and in those editions you choose which dice you kept from your already assembled pool. This edition goes a different route; it's pretty strict about you only getting to keep your ring value in kept dice for each check. Only very specific abilities add kept dice, and those very specific abilities will usually only add dice set to opportunity results. (In other words they'll help you achieve cool special effects but they probably won't help you pass the check.)
  9. That's what I figured. Also good eye; it still works if somebody attacks you after your turn. Which means if I'm wrong about this whole thing you're looking at using one action to deal damage equal to Earth Ring x3 + bonus successes on a TN 2 check as long as you pass said TN 2 check and your opponent fails a TN 4 (Air 2, Earth 5) Fitness check and then tries to attack you back. That's above and beyond the damage output of even Rank 5 invocations and maho, with an easier initial check to boot. It's also worth noting that, if I'm wrong, the kiho's enhancement effect still doesn't resolve until Step 4: End Action, whereas the burst effect resolves at Step 3: Resolve Effects, meaning the enhancement effect would be unable to render a character prone before the burst effect is able to deal "+ bonus successes" damage to prone characters. This was a point of contention among the group last night, as some players believed that the burst effect of Way of the Earthquake specifically mentions extra damage to prone characters because the enhancement effect has a chance of knocking characters prone. In other words they believed that it would look like this; first, resolve the rolling of the check; then resolve enhancement effect i.e. Earth Ring damage and prone; then resolve burst effect i.e. Earth Ring damage again and if character is prone "+ bonus successes" and immobilized. Yet as the steps taken to resolve an action on page 252 of the core rules indicate, there is no reading of the rules where the effects would resolve in that order. Instead it would look like this EVEN IF I WERE WRONG about the enhancement effect being triggered by the activation roll on the same turn; first, resolve the rolling of the check; then resolve burst effect i.e. Earth Ring damage and if character is prone "+ bonus successes" damage and immobilized; then resolve enhancement effect i.e. Earth Ring damage and prone. (This of course would create a whole new conflict of interests; is an immobilized target rendered prone no longer immobilized? If we were to consider a character both both prone and immobilized does that mean this character gains the ability to stand up as described under the prone condition, or would that be superseded by the immobilized condition? If the immobilized condition supersedes prone, then what effect does prone have at all? Why bother tracking both? If you read their descriptions there is virtually no reason to, which is why as written Way of the Earthquake specifies that prone targets become immobilized "instead." Immobilized is simply a more severe version of prone. Note that this is all just hypothetically assuming I'm wrong about the enhancement effect triggering the with activation roll. Which is yet another reason why I do not believe the activation roll of Way of the Earthquake triggers its enhancement effect on the same turn. The enhancement effect becomes READIED at Step 3: Resolve Effects of taking the action onward into the future until the monk changes kihos or decides to end the effect, but it doesn't retroactively add its effects to a die roll that was resolved at Step 2: Make Check.) TL;DR: If I'm right about everything then Way of the Earthquake falls in line with other Rank 2 techniques in terms of damage output and effects. If I'm wrong then Way of the Earthquake officially has the highest potential damage output of any technique.
  10. Last night I was running a duel between a Togashi monk and a ronin. During the duel a rules dispute came up regarding "Way of the Earthquake," a Rank 2 kiho. The player of the monk believed that the enhancement effect of Way of the Earthquake ought to immediately trigger due to activation of the kiho since Way of the Earthquake is itself is an Attack and Support action and its enhancement effect is triggered by taking an Attack or Support action. My ruling was that, since Way of the Earthquake is not active while you're rolling to activate it, then it follows that the enhancement effect does not trigger regardless of whether or not the kiho is an Attack and Support action. As noted on page 174 of the core rules techniques are resolved using the same steps as actions, and as noted on page 252 of the core rules the actual rolling of a check for a given action is resolved during Step 2: Make Check, any effects of that action are resolved during Step 3: Resolve Effects, and any "after a character performs an action" effects of that action are resolved during Step 4: End Action. Since each Step must logically end before the next Step begins, I believe it's impossible to apply Way of the Earthquake's enhancement effect to it activation roll. Am I wrong about this? Is there any way to point me toward an official answer?
  11. Been playing the game for years, but I took a break for a little over a year to play through a D&D campaign. Now that I'm back to Star Wars I'm slightly rusty and have two rules questions; 1. Can Destiny Points be used to avoid death? I'm not seeing it anywhere in the core books, but I swear I seem to recall a passage about how at least Nemesis characters can avoid death if the the GM spends a Destiny Point. Maybe it was in one of the GM screen packs, I don't recall. 2. I'm pretty sure that the Defensive and Deflection item qualities stack because they INCREASE your defense and that key word is vital butI was wondering if there have been any official rulings on it. The way I've been doing it, however, is by simply stating you have to attack with both weapons to defend with both weapons. Ergo, if you want to use a lightsaber and a cortosis shield, it'll be an extra difficulty die on all of your attacks and as long as you want to make use of the shield's Defensive 2 and Deflection 2 qualities (plus, you'll also need decent Brawn and Melee ranks to be effective). This gives much more clear advantages and disadvantages to single wielding, dual wielding, using a shield, or using a double-sided weapon like an electrostaff. Without such a rule, I don't see why anybody with a single saber WOULDN'T pick up a shield as well.
  12. It's entirely possible that Disney will renew the contract with Fantasy Flight just like Lucasfilm did with Wizards of the Coast. Keep in kind that Lucasfilm is shrill Lucasfilm; Disney purchased Star Wars because, like Marvel, it's value actually went up during the recession of the 2008. They won't mess with the tabletop RPG market so long as Lucasfilm is happy with the results.
  13. Important to note: if you have no green dice left to upgrade, add one and then upgrade it if you have some upgrades left. For instance, if you have Agility 5, Ranged (Heavy) 5, and True Aim 1, using True Aim would push your pool from YYYYY to YYYYYGB. In that same example, if you had True Aim 2 your upgraded pool would be YYYYYYB, and if you had a third upgrade from a Triumph result to the upgraded pool would be YYYYYYGB. And so on.
  14. Huh. Don't have the book in front of me so I'll have to double check, but I'm positive that that's the way upgrading works so I'm not sure why the opposite wouldn't hold true...
×
×
  • Create New...