Teamjimby

Members
  • Content count

    1,140
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Teamjimby

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Profile Information

  • Location
    Seattle, WA

Recent Profile Visitors

456 profile views
  1. New Player

    That's one option. Have you played the game yet? Do you own anything yet? If not, you should get in touch with Dustan and let him make some decks and walk you through some practice games.
  2. New Player

    Ok, cool. The main guy in the Houston area is Dustan Archer. Find him on Facebook and he can connect you with other players. If you want to be competitive and play at tournaments, you will need to buy all of the expansions. I was just suggesting that you start with the core sets to make sure you like the game. If you already know that you like it and you want to be competitive, you should buy a complete set from someone else that is quitting the game. There are always people coming and going and selling their collections. You should be able to get it for less than 50% of MSRP.
  3. New Player

    The best way is probably to get in touch with someone nearby that has the game. Where are you located? There is also a big Facebook group that is the main gathering of players, so you could join that and try to find people to play with. Otherwise, pick up a core set and try some of the starter decks. Then if you like it, get 2 more core sets and try building a deck or two.
  4. "An ally that is not in play"

    It doesn't say unique ally, so I believe it would not allow 2 copies of Master of the Forge.
  5. Oath of Eorl

    This ruling was in respect to enemies engaged with each player, but I think it applies here. Either way, it wouldn't hurt to get an official answer.
  6. Topmost Chamber

    I think that's right? I wish there was something official for things like this.
  7. Where's the hero of the year?

    Only 4? We got 2 from the saga box. Does that mean there were only 2 APs this year (not counting Folco)?
  8. Topmost Chamber

    I could get on board with that interpretation. If that's the case, then that would answer the Topmost Chamber situation in the OP (i.e., that you don't place progress on the next stage) since it requires the location to leave play.
  9. Topmost Chamber

    But that quote is contradictory to other rulings. It's like they went to a core set ruling for this particular example, ignoring the subsequent FAQ entries that say otherwise (i.e., quest advanced before active location explored).
  10. Topmost Chamber

    Yeah, he suggested it but nobody else agreed with it. I like GrandSpleen's breakdown on the next page. You place all progress simultaneously on Active location and quest, then advance quest (if able), then explore active (if able). That's why I think Thing in the Depths has the flawed language since it says you can't place progress on the quest until the active location is explored.
  11. Topmost Chamber

    Has there ever been a situation before where progress from questing spilled over onto a new quest card? I don't recall any, so I'm skeptical that this scenario would break that ground. I think the problem is just on the Thing in the Depths because the wording would technically preclude progress being placed on the same turn you clear the Helm, and I think they bent the rules to make it function as intended.
  12. Topmost Chamber

    I think Thing in the Depths is an exception to the rule. Normally you place all the progress, then advance the quest, then clear the active location. I don't believe there is any consistent interpretation of the rules that would allow all quests to function as intended.
  13. Core set spoilers(No spoilers please)

    There are some spoilers (mostly via art) from book 1, and maybe some minor spoilers from book 2. But if you have read book 2, the core set will be safe for you. Like Kakita said, there will be some characters and locations that aren't introduced in book 1 or 2, but certainly nothing that spoils the plot.
  14. Yes, because Destrier says to ready the hero first. So, you can still ready the hero without discarding the shadow card. However, I think if you couldn't ready the hero for whatever reason (a treachery or shadow card effect), you would not be able to discard another shadow card.
  15. Engaged with each player and Ranged

    Yeah, I was just referring to Rivendell Bow since Seastan had previously mentioned it.