Jump to content

AbslomDaak

Members
  • Content Count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. A couple more rules questions, guys, if I may: 1. Dread Curse of Azathoth. Does this only work against one enemy or does it work for all combat actions against all opponents that you engage in battle in that phase? (i.e. if there are 2 or more monsters you're seeking to engage in combat, do you get +9 for both, or just for the first?). I gave myself a "generous" interpretation, but am not sure I should have done. 2. If you return from the Other Worlds and dutifully collect your explored counter, what happens if you don't actually want to close the gate behind you? (because, say, there's another investigator about to come through next turn) Are you obliged to have an Arkham Encounter? or can you just basically stand there and simply miss the Arkham Encounter phase? If you are indeed obliged to attempt to close the gate OR have an Arkham Encounter, could you either (a) simply choose to fail the attempted gate closure or (b) select your lower skill of Lore or Fight to ensure the closure is unlikely or, preferably, impossible (e.g. my Fight is 5, but my Lore is 1. The gate is Yuggoth, a -2 gate, so I choose to try and close the gate with a Lore roll, knowing I will fail). Thanks for any advice.
  2. Actually, this didn't just happen to me....but it nearly did. If, say, Joe is the 4th player to act on the set up? His starting items entitle him to a .45. As it happened, Mandy drew a .45. When I flicked through the deck, I found - thankfully - there was a 2nd one. But supposing this had been drawn by another player before we got to Joe? (or if there is an investigator entitled to a card of which there is only one and it is previously randomly drawn?) I guess the fair thing to do is to insist that the investigator who draw the last remaining specified item at random (e.g. the 2nd .45 in the core game) returns this to the deck and draws again, thereby ensuring that all investigators do actually start with their specified items. My fallback was to give Joe the .38. I can't find anything in any FAQ about this, so advice appreciated. And thanks too for the very warm welcome on this forum! Am loving this game already :-)
  3. For me (as a beginner), I've found the combo of Joe Diamond and Mandy Thompson pretty lethal (as 2 of a quartet). If you tend to combine Joe and Mandy's personal skills, Joe becomes almost undefeatable. For spending one clue-token, he essentially gets four re-rolls. (often more if e.g. he's rolling 5 dice and you use Mandy's skill before spending a clue token). So far, we've played with 2 players using 2 investigators each (Joe, Mandy, Jenny and Pete). Joe mops up Arkham, Jenny goes to the bank then the curiosity shoppe to get cool items, Mandy swiftly closes 2 gets and we use Pete as a fairly versatile extra (gate sealing if thinsg aren't too hectic in Arkham, helping mop up monsters in Arkham if needed). Once we were able to use monster trophies and gate tokens to bless the party, it seemed like pretty plain sailing. Certainly, once 3 gates are sealed, it felt hard to lose. So far, to my great surprise, we are 2 and 0 (beat Azathoth with doom track on 10 and Ithaqua with doom track on 8). No obvious spell casters in our team - but this didn't seem to hinder us too badly.
  4. I think there was a map of this type in a very old version (2nd edition) of Call of Cthulhu...I'll see if I still have it somewhere.
  5. Lol. Bit of an oversight, I guess. You're right it is a clear example to explain the spending of clues - they just needed to use any one of the other 15 investigators to make it!
  6. Thanks Julia, seems that the example given on page 13 of the core game rulebook is wrong then!
  7. Thanks for this - really useful. But isn't the closing of a gate a Fight check, not a Combat check? (i.e. you use your Fight skill, but don't adjust it for combat bonuses such as weapons giving you a combat bonus?)
  8. The girlfriend and I have taken Arkham Horror on holiday and managed to defeat Azathoth on just our second attempt. Two things perplexed us though (and may have led to our victory if I interpretted the rules wrongly!). 1. Joe Diamond. My reading of his special ability is that if he fails a standard role and then decides to spend a clue token, he gets TWO extra rolls. But this seems to contradict the example of spending clue tokens on skill checks given on page 13 of my rulebook. This example imagines Joe failing a Lore (-1) [3] check, because on his standard skil check he rolls only two successes. He then spends a clue token, and throws a 3 - another failure. He therefore spends a further clue token and gets a 6 - finally reaching the total of three successful rolls he needs. But why does he need to spend the second clue token? By spending the first token, my reading of his special ability is that this would give him two further rolls, not just one. 2. "Undead". What does the term "Undead" mean on the back of various monsters? It isn't listed in the "Monster Special Abilities" section on page 24 of my rulebook (whereas Ambush/Nightmarish/Endless etc all are mentioned). I'm assuming that certain cards (that I'm yet to come across) impact upon "Undead" monsters in some ways - but otherwise there is no automatic impact on combat? Any help appreciated. Thanks.
  9. One query I hope experienced players can help me with. Basically, I'm not totally sure how quickly a player moves through a gate. If the movement phase ends and my player is on an open gate, do I move through it in the Arkham Encounters phase? Or do I have to wait there until the next turn? If I move through it immediately, does the player then have an Other Worlds encounter in phase 4?
×
×
  • Create New...