Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Schwaig


    (v1.0) Rhaegar Targaryen F82 
    When the round is brought to an end by 
    Rhaegar's ability, the current phase and 
    all phases remaining in the round are also 
    considered to end. If the round ends during 
    a challenge, that challenge ends without 

    Straight from the FAQ. This avoids abilities lasting across second rounds, and all sorts of painful rules that would entail.


    So if all remaining phases are considered to end, the effect of for example Riverrun would also take effect at the end of the challenge phase if Rhaegar somehow was killed during marshaling phase?

  2. I had a question regarding this card (Dorea Sand) and quick forum search did not provide me with an answer.


    Dorea Sand's Response:

    Response: After you lose a challenge as the defender, until the end of the phase Sand Snake characters you control gain: "This character does not kneel to attack."


    So following situation:

    I have Red Viper (TftRK) in play and also Dorea Sand. I lose a challenge and trigger the response of Dorea Sand, so all Sand Snakes do not kneel to attack until the end of the phase. After this at some point in the same challenge phase, the Red Viper dies to any card effect. I play No Use for Grief and bring out all Sand Snakes remaining in the Deck. The question is now: Do all the newly in play Sand Snakes also dont have to kneel to attack?


    Thanks in advance!


  3. I was a bit confused about HastAttack's post at the first moment, because there was not indicated why X should be 0 by default. I really did not notice this entry about default value of X in the FAQ, that clears it up of course, thank you for pointing this out Ktom. 


    Thanks to the both of you!

  4. When I read the new plot card 'Common Cause' I wondered when exactly the claim value is determined.

    As I understand it, it is more like a dynamic concept. When someone wins a challenge, he/she looks at his/her plot card, takes that value, adds or subtracts modifiers if there are any, and then the claim effect is implemented. No problem at all.


    But if you look at 'Common Cause', you cannot do it like this. What if your opponent has 'Forgotten plans' as his/her revealed plot card? The text box of your 'Common cause' would be blanked in every phase except the plot phase. So, you have a claim value of 'X', but you cannot determine 'X' in any phase except plot phase because you have a blanked text box then. 

    So you would have to determine the 'X' value of 'Common cause' in the plot phase? Then every character you would play/put into play after the plot phase could not add his house affiliation to your 'X'-value. This would work, but it would be neither fair nor logical in my opinion.


    What do you think about this? Did I miss something important (like an entry in the FAQ where the exact time to determine the claim value is described; I could not find such) or is there really a problem here?

  5. At the moment, my favorite is Daisy Walker. With her extremely useful abilities, a rather easy personal story and the possibility to pick every spell there is she is just awesome. She can adapt to almost every situation and no matter what setup gave you, she will complete your equipment. 

    The best combo is her taking Arcane Insight, in my opinion. Doing this you can take the game to another level. It is not anymore: 'Oh, lets see what the Ancient One does and respond to it.' Its: 'We know what you are gonna do and we are going to stop it'. 


    That is for gameplay. Thematically I have not yet decided whom I like most. There are some candidates including Silas Marsh, Diana Stanley, Wendy Adams, Rex Murphy, Tommy Muldoon, Roland Banks, etc … just too many.


    If I think about the Ancient Ones, I don't have an arch-nemesis there right now. Most times I / we lost, I can trace it too some strategical / tactical mistakes or really great bad luck in key situations. But maybe someday there will be one.

    For now I can only list some AOs that annoy me because of their mechanics. There is Ctugha for example, who's ability is just a constant pain in the neck of 2/3 of all investigators. But thats okay, still way better than Rhan-Tegoth! And also Nyogtha with his tendrils, that is just so boring.

  6. I think I pointed this out before:


    Dice rolling can never achieve the same results as card drawing. Even if you had somehow projected the card distribution onto your dice rolling system perfectly, the percentages would still change with every card drawn. A dice rolling system that can handle these changing probabilities would be absurdly complex I guess and not practicable.

  7. I don't know about the original intention of this project, probably it had something to do with the availability of the FFG-Dices, but you should not be misled by the first picture at kickstarter: the dices there will also have all numbers, just as elaborated in the more detailed description.

  8. For those of you who haven't read this already at BGG:


    At the moment there is an interesting kickstarter project ongoing, which aim it is to produce custom dices for Lovecroft-themed board games. There will be dices that show Elder Signs for successes and tiny numbers for other gameplay purposes. These dices will be produced in three different colors: green for normal status, blue for 'blessed' and red for 'cursed'.


    Im not involved in the project (except for I am backing it) but I thought it would be nice to share it over here as well...


    If you interested check the kickstarter page for further information regarding the project:




  9. As far as I know, the BGotW rules state:


    - When a gate opens, draw a monster from the cup as normal, then draw a second

    monster from the hexagon cup and place both monsters on the gate’s location.
    - When a monster surge occurs, draw half the monsters from the hexagon cup
    (round down).


    Neither of these options happened during your encounter, so no hexagon monster therefore.


    Regarding the other question: Not sure about this and can't find something official there right now, but I guess you only fight the tendril if a monster appears. In this specific encounter no monster appears but is placed in the Outskirts. There are other encounters that use the phrase "A monster appears". 

    And even if this is not a good reason, I would still play it like this because it would not make any sense if the tendril was captured in the outskirts. I mean its a substantial part of Nyogtha and if you could knock it out that way … I don't know, I don't like the idea...

  10. You play it correct.

    As per the FAQ:



    The Outskirts and Monster Limits
    Q: Can you give an example of how the monster limit and
    the Outskirts work?

    A: The monster limit is equal to the number of players
    plus three. If adding a monster to the board would bring
    the number of monsters above the monster limit, the
    monster is placed in the Outskirts area instead. When the
    Outskirts become too full, the terror level is increased by
    1 and all the monsters in the Outskirts are returned to the
    monster cup. The maximum number of monsters that may
    be in the Outskirts without raising the terror level is 8
    minus the number of players, as listed in the chart on page
    18 of the rulebook.
    Example: In a 3-player game, the monster limit is 6 and
    the maximum number of monsters in the Outskirts is
    . There are 3 open gates on the board, 6 monsters in
    Arkham, and 4 monsters in the Outskirts. During the
    Mythos Phase, you draw a location that already has
    an open gate, so you have to draw 3 more monsters.
    You would first draw 2 monsters and place them in the
    Outskirts. The Outskirts limit would be exceeded upon
    placing the second monster
    , so you would then increase
    the terror level by 1 and return the six monsters in the
    Outskirts to the cup. Finally, you would draw the third
    monster and place it in the Outskirts.

  11. ...


    This very interesting team chemistry did bring up one big question: Can Patrice get the five clue tokens for hitting level nine on the doom track twice?  Since Marie can remove a doom token once per game that gives Patrice a chance to hit nine twice.  I felt generous since this was my first game in some time, and I played it that Patrice could get the bonus more than once.  Did I play that correctly?




    This is not possible as per the FAQ:

    Q: Can Patrice Hathaway’s Ominous Dreams ability be used multiple times if the doom track drops below nine and hits nine again?

    A: It only happens once per game.

    I would also not recommend to improve an investigator such powerful as Patrice even further.



    But otherwise good job!

  • Create New...