Jump to content

Itchi

Members
  • Content Count

    27
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Itchi

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Liège, Liège, Belgium
  1. Only the Capital haves 2 actions. You cannot make the same action as the one canceled. For example if your first action is devote to the arts and is canceled. You second action cannot be a devote to the art.
  2. Defection is a lot debated. The issue about the max range of defection is the most debated point. For example, a player moving on hut at 4 squares of another player's army. The other player uses defection : -> 2 possibilities (it's quite 50% of the players play each possibility) 1) the army is defected before taking the hut. 2) the army takes the hut and is then defected. It's the same for battle, village. About relics, the rule states that you have to finish your movement on the Relics to take it (meaning you can cross a relic token without taking it), so nothing special occurs when you move on the Relic square because you have to end your move on it... So maybe in this case if you play with the second solution, the Relic would not be considered as taken. Personly I play with the first solution, but I understand players using the second one.
  3. Players A moves 2 armies on Player's B single army. Player B can use Defection to kill an army of A, but then A can decide to not attack. Defection card is a lot debated, but the text "it may interrupt figure's movement" means you can change your mind about your last move. In this case you can stay one square away from Army B (if player B uses defection when player A wants to attack), even if your first intention was to attack the Army, and spend the remaining move like you want. Defection is already one of the best culture card in the game, such moves to trap your ennemy would be way overpowered. Still in the case you mentionned, if player B moves after player A, he can still use defection in a good way, waiting player A to get closer, uses defection when player A wants to attack, then player A change his mind, but he will be in range of player B army.
  4. First of all, including an order in the SoT is against the spirit of Civ. Second, it's missing the moment you take your social policy bonus. Social policies bonus can interferate with the rest of the SoT... And most of all, players usualy take their Social policy bonus at different moments of their SoT... So including a specific order for everything is totaly against the spirit of Civ. "Case 3 (rare): Player B use CC after Player A SOT. Player A have to choose btw Feudalism/Democracy BEFORE inherits the respective gov's ability/benefits. Return any resource(s) gained from Feudalism and gain two extra trades in this SOT, if Player A decides to switch to the new found democracy. Result: Only one gov ability/benefit." to be clear here is an example. I'm in Fundamentalism, get +x culture, spend a Culture on Patronage for a CC card, let's say it's a CC card that act during SoT, i use it. Then someone play Knowledge shared on me, I take Chivalry and change to Feudalism and want to harvest a resource. -> If I follow your idea of returning the resource, imagine how many things will have to be returned, the culture tokens I Got, the CC card, and most of all, all the consequence of the CC card played. Imagine it was a Shared knowledge, and the player I targeted used it to take Theology and change his Gov to fundamentalism (meaning he will also probably have to return resource if he was for example in Feudalism), he gets some Culture spend one on Patronage get a CC that acts during SoT, etc, etc. ... I cannot imagine any player following this.
  5. You are playing two gov cards in one SOT, benefit/ability or not, it is against the core rules. On top of that, you suggest to rotate one of the card to keep record. You can play your own house rule or suggest this as a weird variant, but this is definitely against everything on gov according to the core rule book. I have explained your suggestion's obvious conflict with the core rules (see my last post). But in summary: it is not allowed to have two gov per SOT at the same time, whether in waiting or not, you have to choose one or face the potential future penalty. You can't have it both ways. "Playing" (I would rather say changing, because no benefit of the 2 Gov bonus) 2 gov cards in one SoT is not against the rules, it has been faqed this way. Pyramids allow you to change as many time as you want. If a CC is played on you after you already changed of Gov, you can change once again if you take a tech that unlocks a new form of Gov. I don't see where the problem is and this is not in contradiction with the rules : Point 3 of the Bible : 3. Special case: during Start of Turn, if you unlock a new form of government (e.g., by a player using with you a “Exchange of ideas” type of card), you can switch to that government immediately, without Anarchy, even if you had already done your actions in Start of Turn previously. This doesn't bring new mechanics as it's the same mecanics as resource ability on tech cards. You can switch to that new Gov but will not get the benefit if you already took a Gov bonus during SoT (Republic, Feudalism, Democracy, Fundamentalism).
  6. I don't support this because it introduces a new game mechanic to the core rules. Which is always a no no. I think at this point, before FF address this issue, we should settle on stoodster's latest rule suggestion, simply because it addresses all critical issues without introducing unofficial and moderately confusing new game mechanics. Furthermore, rotating card is not very elegant nor conforming for Civilization because of its mechanism. Secondly, highly rare CC situations aside, it is utmost important to enforce the rule that only one gov could effect/benefit a civ per turn. Culture Cards abilities are designed to overwrite base rule anyway, but even facing the rare CC scenario, if the player have the option to choose more than one of the newly available gov(s), then he/she still have to take the risk of later anarchy into consideration when making the decision, when the newly acquired gov was not implemented (why I love stoodster's rule so much). It is in conformity with a vital and undisputed part of the core game rules. When choosing gov you can't have both ways, either you adopt it the turn immediately after the latest Research phase , or face the penalty or anarchy if the player chosen to adopt the gov(s) in a later turn. Finally, in the end, I truly believe serious players should be done away with double dipping all together, with reasons I have listed in detail in my earlier posts. But, as I have said, before new official FAQ, I can't find any fault in stoodster's stance on this matter, I believe it is the best solution, because of its simplicity on top of its conformity with the core rules without the introduction of a new game mechanic like card rotation. It don't introduce an new Mecanics. It's the same for resource ability. Once per turn. You can rotate the tech card to indicate the ability was already used this turn. It's the same for Gov, you can simply remind you took a bonus and therefore cannot have any other bonus from Gov even permanent bonus. I don't like the idea of having only one change of Gov per turn, because it was faqed that you can change your Gov when someone that plays after you, uses a CC on you, and you decide to take a tech with a new Gov and change to that Gov at this SoT (even if you already played it) without having to wait next turn to go in anarchy (you can also find here another issue... the player is allowed to change next SoT to that new Gov without anarchy because if get the tech last turn.) and then change to the Gov next SoT (meaning 2 turns "wasted"). I'm agree everyone will find his own solution and players can handle this issue fairly. But mainly, "rotate" doesn't add new mechanic to the core game. It's more a concept than an action to do. It's like the resource ability on tech card. I used the term "rotate" to indicate the "mecanics" : the same one than resource abilities.
  7. The rotate solution seems better to me. 1) You can change as many time as you want of Gov (like before) 2) Simple and easy to remember (the card is rotated or not) 3) Consistent with the rules and Faq 4) No need to keep track of which governement you have already gotten a bonus from. 5) Don't allow a single double-dip gov (even permanent bonus cannot be double-dipped) 6) Allow you to change your Gov even after taking a Gov bonus (because of CC and turn order). This allows you to change your gov like before during SoT even if you already made your SoT actions, because someone after you played a CC card. Without the rotation, you get a double-dip. Without allowing this, you will need 2 turns to get your Civ ruled by this Gov... Next turn anarchy and next turn the Gov.
  8. Here are the valuable options as I think we all agree that only one Gov bonus per turn can be used. All this said, as I think we all agree that only one gov bonus per turn can be taken, only Monarchy, Despotism, Democracy and Fundamentalism will cause troubles because all these gov have bonus that occur during another phase than SoT or because they have permanent bonus. We can rule that these are exceptions and can be played this way allowing a double-dip. Or We can rule the option of rotate the Gov card to indicate that a gov bonus has already been taken this turn to remove Monarchy CM extra action. This can also be made to remove the Coin, the +1 hammer and the +4 combat bonus for the rest of the turn if a GoV bonus has already been taken. This option will nerf the way Republic was sometimes played before (when you researched another kind of gov, when you get Pyramids, when you have Martin Luther King, when someone plays an EoI upon you) : Build Cities with armies and then change of Gov to get other bonuses.
  9. Here is an Unofficial faq of W&W that can help you to go trought the game faster : http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1024510/ww-ufaq
  10. 1. You take action during SoT in the order you want. -> You can first build your city and then take expansionism trade bonus. Same if you have Pacifism and a Scout, you can take your Pacifism bonus (+2 cultures) and then build a City with the Scout. 2. Same as above (1.) In the order you want. 3. This is the biggest issue of W&W... Double-dip government... It was unofficialy stated that a player can only get the bonus of one government per turn... But this cause a lot of troubles and is quite impossible to solve... Pyramids allow you to change as many as you want of gov... -> You can take all gov bonus during SoT, what is clearly overpowered... What we do in our group is rotate the Gov card of a player that took a gov "direct" bonus -> He can change but will not get the "direct" bonus of any new gov he will take in the same SoT. The only problem with that solution is that some government have permanent bonus (Despotism +1 hammer, Democracy +1 Coin, Fundamentalism +4 Combat bonus) - >the player can get a little double-dip government bonus but this is not that powerfull compare with the possibility of getting a free resource, +2 trade, fre Culture, and then an extra City action during CM... 4. The resource with a "?" on it allows you to harvests any avaliable resource from the market : a Silk, a Wheat, an Iron or an Incense. 5. You cannot build an Army on the square of a Scout... This possibility is only avaliable for City-States.
  11. Ok no way... I should have checked the card before posting sry... Tesla say lvl 2,3 or 4 tech one level lower... Sry ...
  12. Can you use Tesla to research Space Flight as a Lvl 4 tech (at the cost of 26 trades of course), and win by tech this way ?
  13. Hello Itchi, But on the resource ability I mean no this phrase. You can find it on Communism tech, but there is no one on Writing tech. It's not on Writing or Public Service tech but it works the same way. It cancels a city action or a culture event. The wording "Cancel" clearly means it can be played during other players turn. That's how it works anyway ^^.
×
×
  • Create New...