Jump to content

Cptnhalfbeard

Members
  • Content Count

    785
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Stronghammer in Biggs against torpedoes   
    As mentioned above you would have to target Biggs. To explain why this is, Step 1 of performing an attack is "choose a target". So the first thing you need to do is pick the ship you're firing at, and you can't select a ship as a target if it is within range 1 of Biggs, so whether you have a secondary weapon or not is irrelevant. Hope that helps!
  2. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from IvlerIin in Generic Title for Any Ship?   
    What is this? A dogfight for ANTS?!?!
  3. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Zabuzauz in Generic Title for Any Ship?   
    What is this? A dogfight for ANTS?!?!
  4. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Klutz in Blaster Turret and the Y-Wing Title   
    When there are 2 card abilities that contradict each other, "can't" always trumps "can".
    Besides, if the title still allowed turrets to fire out of arc what would be the point of saying that you cannot fire outside of your arc?
  5. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from DraconPyrothayan in Question on IG88 B ability?   
    Really? How does someone TO a game and not have thorough understanding of the rules? This ruling has been around since gunner, I would expect any TO to understand how this works...
  6. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from StevenO in Question On Kagi Target Lock   
    The rule is, if you declare TL and can, then you must.
    So I would say if I declare a TL on Soontir Fel, I can measure to him. If he is within range, I would then have to see if Kagi was in range. If Kagi is, I must TL him, if not, then I must TL Soontir.
    I will say that I don't know this for a fact but this is how I imagine it would go.
  7. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Slugrage in Epic play. Can somebody explain to me...   
    I've never done it, but I'm pretty sure a lone Tantive with only 10 points in upgrades is not going to fare well against 100 points of smaller ships anyway.  You're more than welcome to try, but you could only get 1 secondary weapon in, so you're getting a max of 2 shots per round.
     
    If you take Quad laser cannons then you can only get 2 shots if there are ships in both range 1-2 and 3-5, if they are only in 1 or the other, you're only getting 1 shot.
    If you take Single Turbolasers then you can't shoot them at all if they are in range 1-2.
     
    Sounds like it would be pretty one sided.
  8. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to Klutz in Obstacles question   
    FTFY.
     
     
    The initial position of your ship's base does not affect asteroids.
     
    So, if you're overlapping an obstacle but the front of your ship is off of it, and therefore the movement template does NOT overlap the obstacle when placed in between the front pegs, you won't suffer the effects of the obstacle.
     
     
     
     
    Also, "you roll for damage and skip your perform action step" applies to astoeroids only. Debris clouds follow their own rules.
     
     
    I'm sure Funkleton knows all this, but I wanted it to be 100% clear for other readers!
  9. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Otacon in hlc biggs question   
    This is incorrect, or at least poorly worded. His ability only affects other ships at range 1 of him. If I have 2 shots, one is biggs and one is a ship that is more than range 1 away from Biggs then I can choose either target. I don't have to target Biggs if he is an option.
  10. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Vorpal Sword in hlc biggs question   
    This is incorrect, or at least poorly worded. His ability only affects other ships at range 1 of him. If I have 2 shots, one is biggs and one is a ship that is more than range 1 away from Biggs then I can choose either target. I don't have to target Biggs if he is an option.
  11. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Hobojebus in hlc biggs question   
    Not at range 1 it can't. It you fired range 1 with primaries and missed, then he gets a second attack with a secondary weapon. If his only secondary is HLC, he can target another ship, even if that this is within range 1 of Biggs. If biggs is not a valid target at all, then you can ignore his ability.
  12. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to dvorm in R2 Astromech with Daredevil   
    Yes he can. The maneuver is green.
     
     
    No. It does not remove stress. Daredevil allows you to perform step 3 execute maneuver of the activation phase. It does not allow you to perform any of the other five steps. You do not perform step 4 check pilot stress just like you do not perform step 6 perform action.
    Of course you cannot perform step 3 without step 2 (place maneuver template) and a part of step 5 (remove maneuver template). But no, you are not allowed to do so. RAW you have to pick up your model and put it down at the other end of the non-existing maneuver template.
     
    Daredevil with R2 is a green maneuver which does not remove stress. Daredevil with damaged engine is a red maneuver which does not give you stress. The daredevil card itself adds a stress token regardless of colour.
     
    The original wording of the card had a red maneuver that did not deal stress at all. That's the main reason for the errata.
     
     
    Edit:
    Executing a maneuver never adds or removes a stress token. The check pilot stress step does.
  13. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to nikk whyte in Why can't every ship barrel roll?   
    Gameplay>physics
  14. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from ishikabe in can you use your pilot cards(Vader/Gunner/etc) when stressed?   
    And he does mean *anything* that doesn't explicitly say the keyword "action" (or explicitly states it can't be done while stressed of course).Even if an ability allows you to "acquire a TL" (like Fire Control System) can still be done while stressed because it does not say "perform a TL action".
  15. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from UnfairBanana in Enhanced... Asteroids!!!!   
    3 seems much to far, with a couple rolls in the same direction you could easily send it off the board. Maybe a 1 straight?
  16. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from J43G3RM31ST3R in Enhanced... Asteroids!!!!   
    3 seems much to far, with a couple rolls in the same direction you could easily send it off the board. Maybe a 1 straight?
  17. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from VanorDM in can you use your pilot cards(Vader/Gunner/etc) when stressed?   
    And he does mean *anything* that doesn't explicitly say the keyword "action" (or explicitly states it can't be done while stressed of course).Even if an ability allows you to "acquire a TL" (like Fire Control System) can still be done while stressed because it does not say "perform a TL action".
  18. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to Smuggler in can you use your pilot cards(Vader/Gunner/etc) when stressed?   
    Stress prevents you from doing actions (uless you are Tycho). It allso meanas it's a realy bad idea to do red maneuvers as that will lead to your opponent selecting a maneuver for you.
     
    So anything that is not an action or red maneuver is fair game even while you are stressed.
     
    So the key word you are looking fort is "action" any ability that lets you do an "action" is stoped by stress and any ability that does not mention "action" is fair game.
  19. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from R2Tito in Enhanced... Asteroids!!!!   
    3 seems much to far, with a couple rolls in the same direction you could easily send it off the board. Maybe a 1 straight?
  20. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Vorpal Sword in New Raider preview focusing on TIE Advanced is up   
    No. A 6 straight (or 4 turn/banks) do not exist in this game. This question has already been asked to death.
  21. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to FTS Gecko in How Would Juno work with Ion Tokens?   
    /topic
  22. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Parravon in TIE Advanced Juno Eclipse can move 6?   
    Number of Green Maneuvers:
    Interceptor: 7
    Juno: 8
    You sure about that?
  23. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Conandoodle in New Raider preview focusing on TIE Advanced is up   
    No. A 6 straight (or 4 turn/banks) do not exist in this game. This question has already been asked to death.
  24. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard got a reaction from Thunderchild in New Raider preview focusing on TIE Advanced is up   
    Colzet with Jendon+ST321 could be interesting. TL any ship on the board, pass it to Colzet who can then flip a damage card on it face-up. Hey there YTs, I'll just flip those cards up for you from across the board XD lulz.
  25. Like
    Cptnhalfbeard reacted to kraedin in PSA: Juno doesn't have 6 straight, 4 turns, & 4banks   
    It's perfectly clear, but it will be in the FAQ anyway.
×
×
  • Create New...