Jump to content

rowdyoctopus

Members
  • Content Count

    2,409
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About rowdyoctopus

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Algonquin, Illinois, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

1,246 profile views
  1. rowdyoctopus

    Deployment card orientation

    Terrain is supposed to be set up before you choose deployments and missions, etc. It definitely matters for that.
  2. rowdyoctopus

    Sniper in a tower defending

    The part you quoted says "measure range". It doesn't explain how you are supposed to do that. How you measure range is found in the Range section I quoted. We can argue about to vagueness of "point the range ruler towards", but we have an email that says what they intended it to mean. The rules shouldn't be vague, so hopefully the make things more explicit in the next update.
  3. rowdyoctopus

    Charges

    Correct. Arm is a separate action, one that allows you to place the specified charges.
  4. rowdyoctopus

    Sniper in a tower defending

    Then in the section on Range, page 43, says this: To measure range, a player places the range ruler so its beginning touches part of the base of the mini that range is being measured from. Then, the player points the range ruler toward the mini that range is being measured to; the measured range is the range that corresponds to the segment closest to the beginning of the ruler that a portion of the base of the mini being measured to is in. "Towards" here means in the direction of while remaining parrallel to the table surface.
  5. rowdyoctopus

    Can Ground Vehicles "squeeze?"

    All minis are supposed to slide along the movement tool. If their base clips something, they are supposed to stop moving unless they have an ability that lets them continue past it. Many, many times I see people trying to skirt around barricades with troopers at speed 2 and the tool touching the barricade. That's a no go.
  6. rowdyoctopus

    Unit Merging

    Units never merge. Make sure you track each unit individually.
  7. rowdyoctopus

    Sniper in a tower defending

    Flamethrowers ignore cover, but you still need initial line of sight. If a unit is completely obscured, you cannot make the attack. Unless the unit is on a naked cliff face, you are going to have to be a considerable distance from the base of the terrain in order to be able to see the intended target unit.
  8. rowdyoctopus

    Suppressive or I may have used this wrongly....

    If you are the defender, then you defended.
  9. rowdyoctopus

    Everything I KNOW and DONT KNOW about LOS and cover...

    Thank you. My being glib aside, this was my point. This perspective is very much appreciated.
  10. rowdyoctopus

    Everything I KNOW and DONT KNOW about LOS and cover...

    Didn't know the RRG required laser pointers....
  11. rowdyoctopus

    Everything I KNOW and DONT KNOW about LOS and cover...

    My original point way back when was that #23 in your diagrams felt off (my feelings are not the rules, thankfully), and I thought a number of players would assume no cover. In light of that, I felt it could use a direct clarification from the devs. This forum post isn't direct enough to answer that. So I'm still left explaining geometry to players rather than being able to say, "it's right here clear as day."
  12. rowdyoctopus

    Everything I KNOW and DONT KNOW about LOS and cover...

    The RRG has to be general. The forum post was responding to a specific question. I submitted a question two days prior to the forum being updated. If that was their response to me, they completely reworded my question to summarize it, but missed the point I was trying to make. Then to my point, it is not directly addressing the point of contention. The contention is in regards to minis standing directly on a naked edge of a cliff/building/etc. This post doesn't address that.
  13. rowdyoctopus

    Everything I KNOW and DONT KNOW about LOS and cover...

    Except they had a perfect opportunity to take a hard stance and instead said, "often". They also don't even mention the mini being right on the edge of the terrain, just on the elevated terrain. Every person I've talked to personally and shown example of this, even after reading and explaining the rules to them, says it seems off that they get cover in that situation. Personally, I don't care how it actually works in the end. The problem is, that forum post doesn't directly address the issue of geometry trumping the simple visual approach of true line of sight. It is too vague and leaves it open.
  14. I went over it in another topic. The technical aspect of a mini only a few inches higher than the attacking mini getting auto cover may not be apparent to many players. Whether the rule application seems ovious to people or not, these are the types of things that generally get a clarification in the rules. Also, the rules could just flat out say if the defending mini is above the attacking mini, it gains cover. But they don't.
  15. Was this ever confirmed by FFG, or just the conclusion people came to by doing the actual geometry?
×