Jump to content

bobby

Members
  • Content Count

    12
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jhaelen in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    Hello Damon, I've got a question concening Red Tape, which reads "Cancel the first effect triggered by each opponent each turn. "   So if my opponent already triggered an effect during my turn (Refresh Phase), what happens if I play Red Tape during my Operations Phase? - Is the effect canceled retrospective?   And which is the first effect Red Tape is referring to? Will it cancel my opponents "next" effect, first effect after Red Tape enters play? Even if this effect in  fact would be my opponents second effect in sum during the turn?   Or is the FIRST effect absolut? So if Red Tape enters play after the first opponents effect has already been triggered, it will cancel nothing for the rest of the turn?     A:  
  2. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jhaelen in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    Q:
    Hi Damon, I have got a question concerning the story attachements like Tear in time in case of winning a story they are attached to. It reads: Attachment. Environment.
    Attach to a story card.
    Response: After you win an (A) struggle at the attached story, either draw 2 cards or return a card from your discard pile to the top of your deck.   So how exactly do they work with their response? Referring to the rulebook a response can not be used until all stories have been resolved. We had the following situatiuon: Tear in Time was attached to a story with 3 successs tokens. A player has commited characters to it, won arcane, investigation and succeeded with skill. So the condition for Tear in Time was met. Arcane was won. (But could not be used, because there were other stories waiting for resolving.) But the story, where Tear in Time was attached to, was won. So the Attachement (Tear in time) was discarded immediately.  Is this correct? And because responses can only be triggered after all stories have been resolved, Tear in Time's Response could not be used because the card has already left play if it's response could be used. Is this correct, too?   Or is the Response of Tear in Time a already triggered effect , at the moment where the arcane struggle was won during the story resolving, and it is somewhere between time and space and will trigger after the other stories have resolved? And it will trigger though the attachement isn't in play anymore? Would it trigger from the discard pile in this case? Or is the attachement not in the discard pile until it's response has been used in the response window after the stories resolving green-box? And another question: could Tear in Time recycle itself from the discard pile?     A: Environment attachments only can be triggered while the attached story is out. If that story is run before the effect on the environment attachment can be triggered the attachment is immediately discarded when the story leaves play. Some of these attachments are passives so would constantly be active, other that were disrupts or forced response would still be able to trigger in most cases before the story left play, but responses would only be able to trigger on stories that were not won that turn.  
    Damon Stone
    LCG Developer

    Fantasy Flight Games
    1995 West County Road B2
    Roseville, MN 55113
  3. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jasonconlon in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    Hello Damon, I've got a question concening Red Tape, which reads "Cancel the first effect triggered by each opponent each turn. "   So if my opponent already triggered an effect during my turn (Refresh Phase), what happens if I play Red Tape during my Operations Phase? - Is the effect canceled retrospective?   And which is the first effect Red Tape is referring to? Will it cancel my opponents "next" effect, first effect after Red Tape enters play? Even if this effect in  fact would be my opponents second effect in sum during the turn?   Or is the FIRST effect absolut? So if Red Tape enters play after the first opponents effect has already been triggered, it will cancel nothing for the rest of the turn?     A:  
  4. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jasonconlon in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    Q:
    Hi Damon, I have got a question concerning the story attachements like Tear in time in case of winning a story they are attached to. It reads: Attachment. Environment.
    Attach to a story card.
    Response: After you win an (A) struggle at the attached story, either draw 2 cards or return a card from your discard pile to the top of your deck.   So how exactly do they work with their response? Referring to the rulebook a response can not be used until all stories have been resolved. We had the following situatiuon: Tear in Time was attached to a story with 3 successs tokens. A player has commited characters to it, won arcane, investigation and succeeded with skill. So the condition for Tear in Time was met. Arcane was won. (But could not be used, because there were other stories waiting for resolving.) But the story, where Tear in Time was attached to, was won. So the Attachement (Tear in time) was discarded immediately.  Is this correct? And because responses can only be triggered after all stories have been resolved, Tear in Time's Response could not be used because the card has already left play if it's response could be used. Is this correct, too?   Or is the Response of Tear in Time a already triggered effect , at the moment where the arcane struggle was won during the story resolving, and it is somewhere between time and space and will trigger after the other stories have resolved? And it will trigger though the attachement isn't in play anymore? Would it trigger from the discard pile in this case? Or is the attachement not in the discard pile until it's response has been used in the response window after the stories resolving green-box? And another question: could Tear in Time recycle itself from the discard pile?     A: Environment attachments only can be triggered while the attached story is out. If that story is run before the effect on the environment attachment can be triggered the attachment is immediately discarded when the story leaves play. Some of these attachments are passives so would constantly be active, other that were disrupts or forced response would still be able to trigger in most cases before the story left play, but responses would only be able to trigger on stories that were not won that turn.  
    Damon Stone
    LCG Developer

    Fantasy Flight Games
    1995 West County Road B2
    Roseville, MN 55113
  5. Like
  6. Like
  7. Like
  8. Like
  9. Like
  10. Like
  11. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jasonconlon in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    > If I commit Glaki to a story and force an opponents character to commit to this story, too, he looses all icons.
    > But what happens if my opponent plays Steal the soul (during the next action window) and transfers Glakis icons to his character?
    > Will Glaki be driven insane by his "own" icons (now trransferred)?
    > or will the character loose Glakis icons (transferred by steal the soul) too?
    > So is Glakis effects working permanently?
    > Or is it just for the moment Glaki commits and it is possible that the blanked charcter can gain some icons by effects afterwards?
     
     
    Answer:
    Glaaki's ability only resolves on that character once. It does not permanently prevent that character from gaining icons, it simply removes those icons it has at the moment of resolution.

    It should be noted Steal the Soul does not actually removed the icons from Glaaki, it simply reproduces them on the other character. I couldn't tell for sure if you realize that, but a lot of people get it wrong.
     
  12. Like
    bobby got a reaction from jasonconlon in Tournament Rules 2.5 update   
    Thanks for the clarification. Interresting change, indeed.
  13. Like
    bobby reacted to jasonconlon in Tournament Rules 2.5 update   
    A couple of interesting changes in the new tourney rules.
    Previous scoring: Each match is worth 1 point which goes to the winner. If there is a tie the point is split between both players at 0.5. A loss is worth 0.
    New scoring: Each match is worth 3 point which goes to the winner. If there is a tie each player is awarded 1 point. A loss is worth 0.
    Previous rule: If time is called and the players have not completed their game, then the player who went second completes his final round...
    New rule: If time is called and the players have not completed their game, then each player will complete 1 additional turn...
    When I first read that, and realised this could create an uneven number of turns, I thought I better just check that I'd read that right...

    At first I didn't like the possibility of an uneven number of turns, but it's since occurred to me that an uneven number of turns would actually result in an even number of story attempt opportunities (as the first player skips the story phase on their initial turn), so I actually think this change could be a good thing - giving both players one last swing, and the chance for both to do things differently knowing it's their final turn.
  14. Like
    bobby reacted to COCLCG in You've Got Questions? I've Got Answers - Straight From Damon Stone   
    And another interesting rule that may not be common knowledge and that I have had clarified by Damon concerns the Artists Colony - Hastur Location. If the case is that both cards revealed are the same cost, then the active player DOES get to keep the card. Although not specifically the 'highest', there is a rule buried within the FAQ that when a player has 2 equal targets of the same cost / skill ( in the example it is the 'lowest' skill' I believe ) then the active player chooses the target out of all the available ones. This rule also carries over to the Artists Colony. It was explained in a convoluted post that went on about the emphasis of language and so forth so I will spare you the details as it only confuses the response which was to be short - yes the active player keeps cards of equal cost. It mat recieve an errata in the future but for now that is how it is played. A much better card now yes ??
×
×
  • Create New...