Jump to content

Bazinga

Members
  • Content Count

    240
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Bazinga

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -
  1. The TO at a regional had six store championship winners showing up he wanted to do two rounds of swis then a cut to the top for 32 players. We managed to sort it out. Five rounds then a cut to the top. Who wouldn't want an official tournament run by the official rules?
  2. Fairness has absolutely nothing to do with it. Again, it's just a pre-release. You guys are making it sound like FFG is refusing to sell any product in your country, or barring you from participating in the World Championship. Have you actually read anything anyone has posted or even what FFG has said about this event? This event is a pre event this means the distributor has nothing to do with stock levels at all. FFG asked stores to apply and they as a result ship out a games kit to the stores that have been awarded. FFG therefore knows exactly how many kits they need and what stores to send them to. The distributor in this case just hands them on. FFG may even find its cheaper to post them on directly. This was always a world wide event from the time it was first published before the stores applied for the kits. No restrictions will apply to any country if that county already sells the game So again you don't have a clue. Lastly for this event you take wave 1-3 ships to the tournament as wave 4 wont be out and play a normal tournament. The top two players then get access to wave 4 ships to build a squad. Top 4 get to choose a ship each. So any arguments on realise dates is irrelevant. I really don't have the patience to re-explain my position to you, but the fact that you clearly don't understand it doesn't make it any less valid. I'm also getting the distinct impression that there's a language barrier here. You can keep crying about it if you want, but the simple fact is they don't have enough product for you. Fair or unfair, it's just a game, and the sky isn't falling because you don't get a pre-release. You dont have a position to be valid, you keep saying its a supply issue its not in any way a supply problem. FFG has a certin amount of kits, the knew how many kits they had before awarding stores the tournament rights. Its simple maths you have 1000 kits you can have 1000 stores hosting a tournament.
  3. Fairness has absolutely nothing to do with it. Again, it's just a pre-release. You guys are making it sound like FFG is refusing to sell any product in your country, or barring you from participating in the World Championship. Have you actually read anything anyone has posted or even what FFG has said about this event? This event is a pre event this means the distributor has nothing to do with stock levels at all. FFG asked stores to apply and they as a result ship out a games kit to the stores that have been awarded. FFG therefore knows exactly how many kits they need and what stores to send them to. The distributor in this case just hands them on. FFG may even find its cheaper to post them on directly. This was always a world wide event from the time it was first published before the stores applied for the kits. No restrictions will apply to any country if that county already sells the game So again you don't have a clue. Lastly for this event you take wave 1-3 ships to the tournament as wave 4 wont be out and play a normal tournament. The top two players then get access to wave 4 ships to build a squad. Top 4 get to choose a ship each. So any arguments on realise dates is irrelevant.
  4. FFG should have anticipated the stock requirement. Which have absolutely nothing to do with when ships are realised on sale because the ships are given to the stores and the players use these ships in the final round. Its not hard to work out if you have 1000 stores you need 1000 of each ship. No country will have had these ships realised before the event, The players who make it to the final round will be given the ships the need from the games kit. So yes take it as an insult complain its only fair that everyone gets a game. Especially when its a global event something the Americans have overlooked. The UK have had there National set for this weekend for a year FFG forgot organised this wave 4 event. As a result the UK get to hold the wave 4 pre realise event up to two weeks later. Though it may be events are planned and just not advertised as yet.
  5. The good news is this entire argument wont be a problem when the lawyers start arguing grab your range five rulers (which will come with one of the large ships) and measure again. The way the markings slightly obscure where the end of ranage three ends your opponent will find it very hard to claim its not overlapping. Until then fly casual seems the best approach.
  6. I don't know what your trying to say Didn't you spend nine pages in an argument about vader (the up grade card) saying "Here's what we know about how damage is resolved:- Damage is dealt one at a time- When damage meets or exceeds the hull value, the ship is removed immediately- Abilities and rule checks can and do activate between each damage card being dealt" And haven't you since claimed FFG got vader wrong and it should be played your way? which given your quote above I can only take it as your decided vader works FFG's way. All im saying is as hits have to be cancelled before critical hits and im allowed to resolve damage any way I want to, id resolve the ship that was attacked first except for last critica hit then resolve the damage on the ship using DTF
  7. DTF says you may suffer one of the un cancelled critical hit results. Step seven is the ony step that deals with un cancelled results. During this step, hit ships suffer damage based upon uncanceled and results Ships can suffer damage from different sources, such as being hit during combat or by an effect or card ability. Damage cards track how much damage each ship has suffered and are used to determine if the ship has been destroyed (see “Destroying Ships”). When a ship suffers damage or critical damage, it suffers them one at a time following these steps. The ship must suffer all normal damage before suffering any critical damage.
  8. Its true you can choose in what order to do multiple events that trigger at the same time. If you have FCS and Vader, after an attack you can choose either Vader or FCS it doesn't matter in what order you go. However, there are no instances in the rules where you can save things for later. So if you are attacking and you finish your attack chose not to use Vader, instead use gunner the FAQ is clear you can only activate Vader once after gunner not twice. Q: If a ship attacks twice through some effect, such as the Gunner upgrade, can the ship use the ability of Darth Vader (the Upgrade card) twice? A: Yes, once after each attack So this gives a precedent that, WHEN multiple events trigger and they resolve they alter the gamestate they find at the moment they resolve, not what the gamestate was when they "went off" So if DTF triggers first by the time it gets resolved the Ion Cannon has changed the gamestate. There is no critical hit to resolve. If Ion triggers first then there is no trigger to activate DTF. As per when you would resolve DTF if their was a critical hit, my personal opinion would be please let it be after I have cancelled all the hits and crits on the defender so I can be sure I want to/need to use DTF.
  9. What I read clearly is that: When the rules refer to a ship being "at range 1-3", it means that the target's base must fall under any section of the range ruler. The "touch part" you quote refers to act of measuring distance. But in the case of attacks, they have range. Primary weapon attacks can hit targets at range 1-3, So, we apply the above rule to check if the target is at range 1-3. - Is the target ship's base under any section of the range ruler? - No, the range ruler rests on the table, and no part of the enemy's base falls under it. - Then, the target is not at range 1-3. Ive said a ruler that can not fit between two ships with out moving either and is touching both ships bases is in range No part of the ruler is on the table The bases are definitely under the ruler You say its only touching not overlapping Even if by some miracle ffg agree with you, your still going to say its not overlapping enough. When every other single person would have given it to the opponent your still going to argue the toss.
  10. ...is very solidly wrong. There is indeed a critical result, and Ion and DTF both have an equal chance to get to it first. The ion doesn't make the result irrelevant until its ability has a chance to resolve, which may be after DTF, which most certainly WILL have a chance to come into effect and resolve fully. We just don't know exactly HOW it resolves. In which phase are you suggesting DTF and ion cannon trigger? combat phase 1. Declare Target 2. Roll Attack Dice 3. Modify Attack Dice 4. Roll Defense Dice 5. Modify Defense Dice 6. Compare Results 7. Deal Damage
  11. The range ruler is divided into three sections, and each section is labeled with a number (1, 2, or 3). When the rules instruct a player to “measure the distance,” always orient the range ruler so that the Range 1 section TOUCHES the point of origin (usually the active ship) and the Range 3 section points toward (OR TOUCHES) the intended target. When the rules refer to a ship being “at Range 2,” it means that the closest part of the intended target’s base must fall under the “Range 2” section of the range ruler. When the rules refer to a ship being “at Range 1–3,” it means that the target’s base must fall under any section of the range ruler Page nine doesn't say overlap at all it clearly says or touches.
  12. Yet ships can only be considered touching if one or more ships overlapped during this round.
  13. Is this correct? If so, I've been playing wrong all this time. I was under the impression that contact - whether overlapping or not - meant you could no longer attack the ship you are in contact with. Am I misunderstanding how this works?In our meta it has certainly been "touching means overlap." At least until the next turn, per the FAQ. FAQ Q: Can two ships be considered touching if neither ship overlapped the other ship during this round? A: No
  14. OK, if that is what you sent to FFG you are blatantly misrepresenting what is being discussed in this thread. The issue is explicitly that the ruler CAN fit between the two ships without moving either of them, but that when it does so the ends are in contact with the SIDES of the bases. The ruler is in contact with the playing surface for its entire length, it is not, in any way shape or form "across the top of the two ships" I have never said anything about the sides of the base having anything to do with range except that if the ruler fits betwwen the two sides its out of range. Thats the only thing we have agreed on. Now your misrepresentating my argument. Which is that If a ruler touches both bases and can not fit between the ships with out moving the ships its in range. To be honest I've only seen one player try to argue what Jehan has been arguing, it was in a tournament the to invited him to play nicely with others buy playing casual or leaving. Because there is no possible way with a cupboard ruler that FFG produces especially one thats meant to be 30cm long, but in reality may be 29.9 can he claim he can see overlapping by 0.001 of a milometer. He has also said that if I can not fit the ruler between two ships with out moving them he doesn't consider it to be overlapping. But sadly no I didn't send that in I should have as an example of how Jenhan likes to abuse the system when every one else would have given their opponent the shoot. ;-) It came up on boardgame geek ages ago and the consensus was they would have allowed it.
×
×
  • Create New...