Jump to content

Greenspectre

Members
  • Content Count

    51
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Greenspectre

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Del Rio, Texas, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Yes, AOR core book, "Minions and Vehicles" pg. 252
  2. Chart 7-6 stipulates that, but the write up also states its to be used as a guideline, so that GMs and PCs can agree on anything they want to. The table isn't a set of commandments, it's a list of suggestions to spur creative thinking. As in above reply, my question is who determines which of the actions listed (piloting, gunnery, mechanics, computers) the boost is applied to- the player spending the advantage to give boost to another character, or the character getting the boost. OH! In that case I'd say the guy using it, in much the same case as in personal combat. I'm assuming the defining of the skills is a narrative crutch to avoid silly pairing. So like the pilot can use Advantage to boost the next players check to do those things because how he is flying the ship can directly impact things like gunnery, or repairing the ship, or activating countermeasures. In most normal situations you can't fly so well the guy in the back can negotiate better (there's always an exception to the rule of course, but in most cases). But yeah, the guy receiving the bonus can apply it to whichever skill he uses. If not it becomes an almost totally worthless bonus because, as fast as vehicle combat can go, by the time you get to use it that action might not be a good idea anymore. Yes, these are my thoughts exactly. I was just wondering if maybe I had missed something in the rules, especially since I don't really have space combat in my games- just seems so cumbersome in my personal opinion.
  3. Chart 7-6 stipulates that, but the write up also states its to be used as a guideline, so that GMs and PCs can agree on anything they want to. The table isn't a set of commandments, it's a list of suggestions to spur creative thinking. As in above reply, my question is who determines which of the actions listed (piloting, gunnery, mechanics, computers) the boost is applied to- the player spending the advantage to give boost to another character, or the character getting the boost.
  4. Technically the Advantage/Threat table does specify those skills... Yes, I realize that, but my question is does the player spending the advantage have to specifically say "character X, the boost I give you has to be spent on gunnery". As opposed to saying "character X i give you a boost to your next piloting, gunnery, mechanics, or computers check -whichever one you decide to use on your next action". The way we played it last night, was the first method above.
  5. No, they still have SS. They are grouped with combined thresholds and spillover damage along with instant knock outs by critical hits. Assuming the pilots are minions too, then they have the group skills as minion groups usually do. Its the personal Strain Threshold they don't have. They are also not able to suffer personal strain to perform 2 maneuvers and an action in a single turn, even if their ship would normally be capable of this. Basically the ship can suffer strain but the pilots cant. Ok, I was using ogg dudes character creator and have an encounter set up with minions with spaceships. The encounter sheet it prints out for the minion ships has the check boxes (the number being a multiple of the hull value depending on the number of minions in the group) for hull damage buy does not have similar ones for system strain. That's why I assumed that minion ships don't get system strain. I'll have to tack system hits myself then.
  6. Regarding spending advantage/threat and triumph/despair in space combat. I thought that giving setback or boost to another character during space combat was like in personal combat, one can give it to whomever depending on if it was "to the next" character or to "any character" depending on number of advantage/threat spent and that character can spend it on any action they choose. But I was GM in my session last night running my 2nd space combat ever, and another player said that in space combat the player passing on boost has to specify what action the character getting the boost is going to have to use it on either piloting, gunnery, mechanics etc...skill check. Is this correct? Again, I thought that the player giving the boost determines which character gets the boost die (according to how many advantage is spent) and that the gaining character gets to choose what action to apply it to as long as it is for a piloting, gunnery, mechanics, or computers check (as stated in the "how to spend" tables). I've done a quick scan of the books and don't see this stipulation.
  7. Do minion group ships not get system strain similar to personal combat minions who don't get strain? Instead any system strain dealt to minion group ships is treated as hull damage?
  8. I am having a problem with modifying a vehicle, in this case a Baudo class yacht. I want to modify it's armor, hull trauma, and system strain. I see that to do this I have to go to the data editor. I do this and copy the Baudo class ship which is already in the database. The database one has the baudo class portrait and a baudo silhouette in the "fore defense and aft defense" diagram. However, the "copy" I make of the one in the database has all the details except the portrait and the silhouette.The portrait changes to the default portrait and the "fore defense and aft defense" diagram silhouette is the default YT-1300 one. Why is this? I know it is a relatively minor detail, but would like the silhouette to be the appropriate one for the Baudo. I can change the portrait with no problem.
  9. Nope, I don't do this with my threats or despairs, I use them in the encounter generated only.
  10. Yes, my thoughts are the same. I also agree that there are circumstances where it could carry over and that ultimately narrative has a lot to do with how boost or setback is applied. Thanks One of the problems is that the "next check" can be in a different encounter than the original one so my players interpret "next check" literally as such as a PC may not get the opportunity to do a check until the next encounter or more later. Also, as an example, there are occasions where a computers check in a non-combat encounter garners a boost die added to the "pool" by my PCs who then in the combat encounter that occurs next (and that had no relation to the computers check) use that boost (in a blaster fire check, stealth check, etc...)
  11. Yes,I am with you on giving the NPC setback, but my group when they get multiple advantages like to pass the extra advantages as boost to the next character or, if enough advantage, to a specific character.
  12. Yes, my thoughts are the same. I also agree that there are circumstances where it could carry over and that ultimately narrative has a lot to do with how boost or setback is applied. Thanks
  13. How long does a character get to keep the boost/setback they get assigned from an advantage or threat dice roll results? Does boost/setback stay with the character or “pool” even after that encounter ends – be it a non-combat or a combat? I ask as I am running a campaign and my PCs will use a boost/setback in a combat encounter far removed from the circumstances and/or skill-action that got them that boost/setback. They will even use boot/threat received in a combat encounter, the combat ends, and use it later on in a non-combat encounter skill check. I've had them get boost from a medicine check done prior to resting for the evening, bank it, and go through a couple of scenes where that one character does not have to perform an action, and then when they do perform an action - either in combat or non-combat scene- they then apply the boost they “banked” in a an action/skill which has no connection to the original medicine check.. My mindset is that this is wrong (in general, I can see rare instances where it could be done). How does getting a boost to a character's next action gained from another pc's advantage roll- while shooting his blaster (your shot temporarily blinds the NPC causing him to expose himself giving the next PC a better shot = 1 boost in the “pool”) translate to being able to use that boost in a non-combat encounter situation negotiation roll two scenes removed from the original encounter? Do boost/setback gained in a combat encounter go away at the end of the encounter if unused? Or do they remain even after the encounter has ended, available in the “pool” for the party or if assigned to a specific character. Again, I am just speaking about boost/setback in general and not specific instances where the boost/setback would be carried over (an ongoing effect, weapon quality, etc…)
×
×
  • Create New...