builderChris

Members
  • Content count

    12
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About builderChris

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Englewood, Colorado, United States
  1. unfortunatley i have not had the oportunity to play ALL the quests and i have only had the oportunity to play a couple quests more than once, but it seems from my limited experaince, sometimes quests are "broken" when it comes to the balance of each one. To a large degree i am personally ok with that. there are too many varaibles (imo) to account for "balancing" EVERY possible situation and i agree, that this quest is near to impossible to win as the heros.
  2. looks like these cards would be a good canidate for "print on demand". seems simple enough.
  3. try it with some quests that you have already played…see if it makes that much of a differnace.
  4. sell the stuff peace meal on e-bay and recyle the rest…or make cool art deco coffe tables out of the other parts and sell them on ebay too…or regift them at christmas…or hide them in easter eggs… point is…they dont really mix with the 2nd addtion stuff…so they are obsolite. the fate of old games.
  5. try a web site called Meetup.com this website (in the USA at least) is for people just like you looking for other people interested in the same thing you are. you can start your own descent game group or you might find one or just find or make a game group. lots of options on the website. good luck!
  6. 3d printing of something like a miniture is totally possible and affordable and you can even have them printed in full color porcelan. if they got thier ducks in a row they could offer these and 1st eddition minis on a "print on demand" system and it would only be some design time involded. so much cool tech out there today it trips me out how some companies are still doing minis in "bulk run" products.
  7. schmoo34 said: So much analysis over triviality…does it make sense for your gaming group or doesn't it? That is all that matters. yup. in our group, when in doubt we roll it out. if some players think the rule is one way and others think its another way we roll a d6 high roll wins..thats it.
  8. down laod the rules for the D&D baord games. one player can play all 5 heros agaisnt the game. it works great for solo play but (imo) compared to Descent they are not that great. heros and core rules are pretty slim picken compared to this game and while tis fun to play solo it doenst have the same action that this game does. its too happen chance instead of reactionary like the overlord can be. but. take a look at them, they might spark some ideas for your solo game.
  9. i'd buy 4 sets. every player (imo) needs thier own set.
  10. in the set up for A Fat Goblin quest (encounter 1) it tells me that my Monsters are Goblin Archers and 1 open group. it tells me to place the goblin archers on the exit and the open group on the grass lands. than, under the reinforcements section of the set up it says: " At the start of each overlord turn, he may place 1 goblin archer on the Exit and 1 monster from the open group on the Entrance, respecting group limits. These monsters may be activated during the turn they are placed". so here is my question. can the 1 monster from the open group that i place on the entrance be a monster from any open group that qulifies for this encounter or am i limited to only placing 1 monster from the 1 open group that i selcted from the Monster section of the set up? for example: during set up, the monsters that are avaibale for me to select from are the Merriod, the Barghest, the Cave Spider and theFlesh Moulder. if the 1 open group i selected at the start of the encounter was the Merriod (the 1 open group i placed on the Grasslands) at the start of my turn can i place 1 Barghest ("1 monster from the open group") on the entrance? and than at the start of my next trun place 1 Cave spider and than at the start of my next trun place 1 Flech Moulder? OR am i stuck with only placing 1 Merriod since that was the 1 open group i selcted at the beginning of the quest? in other words does the "the" in "…and 1 monster from the open group on the entrance…" refer to the 1 open group selcted during setup or does the "the" refer to any of the qulifiying monsters in the open group? thanks.
  11. in the set up for A Fat Goblin quest (encounter 1) it tells me that my Monsters are Goblin Archers and 1 open group. it tells me to place the goblin archers on the exit and the open group on the grass lands. than, under the reinforcements section of the set up it says: " At the start of each overlord turn, he may place 1 goblin archer on the Exit and 1 monster from the open group on the Entrance, respecting group limits. These monsters may be activated during the turn they are placed". so here is my question. can the 1 monster from the open group that i place on the entrance be a monster from any open group that qulifies for this encounter or am i limited to only placing 1 monster from the 1 open group that i selcted from the Monster section of the set up? for example: during set up, the monsters that are avaibale for me to select from are the Merriod, the Barghest, the Cave Spider and theFlesh Moulder. if the 1 open group i selected at the start of the encounter was the Merriod (the 1 open group i placed on the Grasslands) at the start of my turn can i place 1 Barghest ("1 monster from the open group") on the entrance? and than at the start of my next trun place 1 Cave spider and than at the start of my next trun place 1 Flech Moulder? OR am i stuck with only placing 1 Merriod since that was the 1 open group i selcted at the beginning of the quest? in other words does the "the" in "…and 1 monster from the open group on the entrance…" refer to the 1 open group selcted during setup or does the "the" refer to any of the qulifiying monsters in the open group? thanks.