Jump to content

Forensicus

Members
  • Content Count

    1,281
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Forensicus

  1. I'll most likely have a sit down this weekend and do some more of these. Glad that people are using/requesting them
  2. I thought it was actually from Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy? But Funkleton's strategic use of it is what made me sig it, so I gave him the credit. It's about time for a new sig though, so I'm on the lookout haha. It is indeed from H2G2
  3. Much appraisal to you, sir. I was initially going to do a regular foam board insert (see below) for the local board game cafe who has 2 core sets and one of each Wave 1, but after printing your boxes for all the stuff on some heavy duty thick paper I'm switching to simply do 2 layers of foam board with sections for the boxes. I think it will almost be possible to fit it all in 1 core set box My own foam board Your boxes
  4. The "real" reason for this wording isn't specifically (or at all) to prevent DV from doing 2 Barrel Rolls, the rules already prohibit you from doing the same action twice in a round, even free actions. http://xwing-miniatures.wikia.com/wiki/Expert_Handling EH has the header "Action" which means that you use an Action to activate EH, which then grants you a free Barrel Roll Action. If the wording after the errata/FAQ hadn't said "free Barrel Roll Action" but only "Barrel Roll Action" then it would mean that you would have to use a total of 2 Actions.
  5. Other wise just print two copies of them all and put 2 cards in the sleeve
  6. I believe they are aligned so you could do a simple double sided print. They are sized for the FFG sleeve size like the regular pilot cards.
  7. Wouldn't this be possible (in the unlikely event you draw them all in one hand): The Hand: 2 x Elite Pilot Traing (2 Cost) 4 x Black Squadron Fighter (2 Cost) The play order: First play one Elite Pilot Training for 2 resources Next play the second Elite Pilot Training for 1 (reduced from the first EPT) Play the remaining 4 BSF for free Correct?
  8. Are you aware of the fact that that is not how it works? A match where neither side have destroyed or lost any ships will end in a draw and give each player 1 point. In the knock out (Championship bracket) a draw will result in a win to the player with initiative: Tournament Rules page 3: "If a game ends in a Draw during a championship bracket round, the winner is the player with initiative." Provided that the guy that did the fortress during a tournament round is not disqualified for intentional stalling. Ahh, yes, but that wasn't in the post or how charlesanakin suggested he would win. He simply stated that he would win on points, which he wouldn't. Now don't get wrong, I am no advocate nor fan of any "Fortress", not because I believe it to be illegal, but purely because I find it to be fundamentally against what this game is/was meant to be. And also because it basically gives the opponent(s) a tremendously poor gaming experience
  9. Are you aware of the fact that that is not how it works? A match where neither side have destroyed or lost any ships will end in a draw and give each player 1 point. In the knock out (Championship bracket) a draw will result in a win to the player with initiative: Tournament Rules page 3: "If a game ends in a Draw during a championship bracket round, the winner is the player with initiative."
  10. But why not contact FFG's Customer Service, send a request to have the dice I replaced and attach a picture?. Then you'll avoid any mistakes or risk being accused of trying to cheat. It'll save you a lot of grieve. I won a set of Translucent dice last year where one of the Evade on a green dice had a "dot" next to the squiggly arrow that had no paint in it. They send me a brand new within a week. Your red dice problem is a bit more serious since it could cause confusion in the heat of battle.
  11. I happen to have just read that thread recently. He scanned both the regular core set dice and the transparent prize dice and found them the be essentially the same in the amount of bubbles inside them. That was/is me https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/175327-inside-look-of-the-2014-and-2015-promo-dice/?hl=%2Blook+%2Binside
  12. IMO Dark Curse with either a Hull or Shield is even more annoying
  13. Based on that "logic"/refusal to deduct that existing rules/description for auxiliary arc will be correct even though we (correct) do not have the rules/insert in hand (which makes life hard for any/all RAW) then I guess we don't know what the meaning of those different colored numbers on the base and pilot cards indicates either?? I'm sorry, was that a question? I only speak English, so I'm sure you'll forgive my apparent confusion. You are forgiven and once again proves your overall likability
  14. Based on that "logic"/refusal to deduct that existing rules/description for auxiliary arc will be correct even though we (correct) do not have the rules/insert in hand (which makes life hard for any/all RAW) then I guess we don't know what the meaning of those different colored numbers on the base and pilot cards indicates either??
  15. I am putting you on the top of my "People I want on my debate team". Your logic and arguments are as always impeccable and mature
  16. I'm not sure I see your point, unless you're merely reiterating what was already said. Talking in circles won't do either of us any good, especially if you're inclined to misread my posts. At what point did I infer that another post was "more likely to be invalid"? I usually take it as a healthy sign when we "disagree"
  17. What I believe is that we won't know anything for certain until the reference card is in our hands. I don't think one option is more likely than the other so much as I think that you're giving the idea of new rules to accompany the 180 degree arc short shrift. Is it a new primary weapon? I don't know. Have we had a 180 degree arc before? No. Please bear in mind that the FAQ is always subject to change, especially as the game continues to evolve and interactions become increasingly complex. The designers may have had the foresight to bar this exact sort of interaction that everyone is assuming will be possible. Given that we know as little about their intent and balance philosophy as we do the actual rules text that will accompany the Tooth, why is it so hard to accept that Tactician might not work? An educated guess still boils down to assumption. You're all welcome to assume as much as you like, and you might very well prove correct. I wouldn't be surprised if you are, and I wouldn't be surprised if you aren't. Are there existing rules for a 180 degree arc? LOL on your "argument" that the other posts are more likely to be invalid, purely based on your (granted, correct) observation that we currently do not have 180 degree arcs in the game currently. As already quoted from the (once again correctly observed "ever subject to change") FAQ: Some ships (such as the Slave I) have an auxiliary firing arc identified by dotted lines printed on its ship token.
  18. In 100% agreement with you. Recently I played a game with a Emon and an IG-88 with Ion Cannons vs. Scum Boba and Kath. In round 3'ish I had slapped an ion token on each of the Firesprays. My opponent (who wasn't too experienced) failed to see the importance or potential impact of tHis so when I saw that his Boba was headed towards the side edge I gave him a second Ion attack with succes which brought closer but not beyond the edge in the next round BUT without any chance of completing a successful 2-turn after that. Half ionized is a powerful tool
  19. It's the very definition of First World Problem" to argue over this, especially since 99,999% will most likely already have all the Z-95's they'll ever need, so why on earth should they include 1 more with the Hound's Tooth?? Find something less unimportant to pester over
  20. We would have doubled the attendance from last years Regionals (4 players of which 3 were foreigners) at this years Regionals if 1 player hadn't dropped off in the last minute. Plus at least 4 additional "regulars" were unable to attend due to other obligations. We even managed to get the guy who just recently won the Core set in a raffle to join in on the fun and I think he will return for more fun My gaming buddies and I are planning to make a further effort to expose the game by sitting in for a couple of games, possibly 2 v 2 at one of the FLGS during their Saturday open hours and lure people to the game. And we're also hosting the Nationals so hopefully the players from a bit further away will also come out from under the floor panels and have fun
  21. I finished 3rd in an (admittedly small) Regionals yesterday with this deck: 2x A Hero's Journey (Core 1-1) 2x A Message from Beyond (The Desolation of Hoth 37-1) 1x In You Must Go (Core 2-1) 2x May the Force Be With You (Join Us or Die 112-1) 1x The Master’s Domain (Between the Shadows 128-1) 2x The Survivors (Draw Their Fire 146-1) At one point I had a juiced up Yoda with 2 x Ben's Spirit, 2 x Jedi Lightsaber, a Shii-Cho Training, a Trust Your Feelings and a Shien Training. Ohh and Qu Rahn and "The Survivors" Objective was also present for that extra viability/survivability for poor Yoda
  22. These are the most important key points/considerations you need to consider: Be observant of the Affiliation restrictions of certain objectives (as mentioned in #5) Be VERY careful with the configuration: most people will never do more than a 3 to 7 "configuration" with the affiliation card matching the minor faction (for example a 3 Rebel with 7 Smuggler Obj and a Rebel Affiliation card) Be observant/careful with you restrictions of affiliation costs when doing mixed decks: You need to pay at least 1 matching Affiliation cost for most cards (excepts neutral ones) I prefer to play mono decks but I know I am "missing out" on certain powerful/useful combos this way, but I like not having to worry about the affiliation restriction costs and the thematic feel mono decks give me. But it is a matter of personal preferences and/or play style (Edit: It might be the other way around with the 3-7 and affiliation card, I'm not sure. And that's why I din't do mixed decks I guess)
×
×
  • Create New...