Jump to content

Forensicus

Members
  • Content Count

    1,281
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Forensicus

  1. So here is a movie of the CT scan of the regular Core Set dice. There's certainly air bubbles in these dice too, and to me it looks as if the air bubbles are a bit more unevenly in size and distribution compared to the other 2 Regional Dice editions. https://youtu.be/3EK1yAt5qkk
  2. Scan have been performed. Results/pictures soon, but I can say that there's lots/similar air bubbles in the regular dice as in the Regionals
  3. Today I've brought 3 of each original dice from the core sets, hopefully there will be 5 min of scan time available. Stay tuned.
  4. I know of no wargame that offers any sort of real 3D rules, the most you get is basic elevation.The most commonly accepted definition of Wargame that I know of, would very much include X-Wing in it. This is truly 3D: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/21706/clouds-glory
  5. Saw it alright. Just not sure if I am going to
  6. Here's the scan uploaded to YouTube with a little explanation https://youtu.be/lEMncC00jQc
  7. Thx, but that might be pushing it a bit too far. Besides we do have a 3D printer at work too, but I do not feel the need to go in to counterfeiting just yet ;-)
  8. Hi there. Just wanted to share a couple of images of the translucent 2014 and the "marbled"/swirly 2015 Regionals promo dice. I was so fortunate to place 8th in a regionals this Sunday and last year I respectively placed 8th in one Regionals and won another so I have both kind of dice. And since I have access to a CT-scanner at work I couldn't resist taking a proper look inside both sets. As most have seen, the translucent have a lot of air bubbles of varied size and positions so I was excited to see how the new ones was cast. 1: The positioning and preparation of the scan. R2-D2 insisted on supervising the entire process. All Attack & Defense Dice was positioned the same way. As can be seen Attack Dice were faced "Crit" up and adjacent "Blank" vertical; Defense were placed "Focus" up and the adjacent "Blank" vertical 2: Scout/Localizer of the dice and R2-D2: Already at this preview scan the air bubbles can clearly be seen as the black "spots" in each dice 3: 3D MIP reconstruction of the actual CT-scan. The air in each dice have been colored blue using the OsiriX DICOM Viewer (software used for viewing and evaluating scans. 4: Cropped 3D reconstruction of a Volume Rendering. The dice have been cropped halfway through. Here the air bubbles can once again be seen as slightly irregular darker areas inside each dice. What does this tell me/us/you?? Well all the dice have air inside them, the distribution is (not surprisingly) uneven and apparently unrelated to the facing on the dice. Does this effect the result of the individual dice?? I don't know and do not plan to test or "take advantage" of a particular "favorable" dice. When I get the chance I will do a scan of the original dice from the Core set and Dice Expansion and post it for comparison. Take care (Edite: replaced the 3D MIP reconstruction with an improved image instead of a picture of the screen)
  9. I had the very good fortune to win a set of the elusive dice last Sunday. As you will most likely have learned bu now the 2015 Regionals edition have a more marbled look and I actually really like the look. I also love my translucent dice from last yeah despite the visible bubbles. Since I have access to a CT-scanner I immediately felt the urge to scan and compare the 2 dice editions. And the results can be seen below: The new 2015 edition dice are the 3 leftmost dice both pictures The setup of dice before scanning. Everything is supervised by R2-D2 who insisted on being there. 3D-MIP reconstruction af the CT scan (picture of the screen). The blue volumes (ROI's) are colored Region Of Interest) where I used the software to color the air bubbles inside each dice. The viewing angle is "opposite" compared to the photo above. I might scan the original dice later this week, so stay tuned
  10. I've started doing some pdf help files which can be found in this thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/166768-campaign-map-pdf-help-files-wip/
  11. "What’s more, three new Ally Packs and Villain Packs offer detailed plastic figures to replace tokens included in Twin Shadows." https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2015/3/18/twin-shadows/
  12. From the ffg website: "Note: Due to variations in the printing process, cards from Print on Demand expansions will be subtly different in appearance and texture from base game cards."
  13. https://twitter.com/teamcovenant/status/589182443686506496
  14. https://www.facebook.com/teamcovenant/posts/959436690762979:0
  15. Can you share the text of the email? It's right there in the screenshot
  16. I'm going to use my spare DS dial from the LCG as round counter
  17. Except in the case in question it doesn't. One player could pile up 10 damage on Vader, the other player could kill 1 elite royal guard and 3 pairs of common storm troopers (leaving one alive from each group). The teams would have even 0 scores and then be compared. The team that put 12 damage on vader would win even though the other team dealt almost double the damage and destroyed 7 figures (but scored no points). Please edit/review your post since it makes almost no sense. Also please check what I actually wrote: IF you can't kill/destroy an deployment card (which means the entire group OR a figure (like Vader or an Imperial Officer)) then make sure that you injure as many figures as possible (a bit tricky?) while avoiding as much damage as possible yourself (even more tricky?) Don't get your panties in a bunch I read your post your last sentence says the opposite of the beginning. You say "it favors the person doing the most "actual skirmish" ie destroys most figures" but this is only true with the first tie breaker. Victory points from units destroyed. When you get to the second tie-breaker, fewest damage left on remaining figures, it can be the opposite. That's all I'm pointing out. I quoted what you actually wrote I didn't doctor it. Don't get angry because I'm confused by your statement. The example I gave exemplifies this. Two squads face off and score no points, terrible offensive rolls apparently. Player A ends up focusing all in on Vader and deals 10 damage. Player B uses his Vader squad to kill of 6 troopers (but 2 from each of three different groups). He also kills off one elite royal guard dealing over 20 points of damage but has no damage left on the remaining units. By the tie breaker rules they would still be at a tie after the first condition, and go to the second. At this point Player B would be declared the loser, and Player A would be the winner even though Player A clearly did more damage and "skirmishing". It seems like the damage done to these eliminated figures should factor in but doesn't via the rules. When I wrote "Figure" it was (at least to me" implied that I only meant actual "figure Victory Points" which again/still means that every figure in a deployment card have been destroyed. And yes, you can argue that the tie-breaker is unfair and set up any myriad of good/poor examples to illustrate or exemplify this. But IMO it all comes down to the fact that it is a tiebreaker, it's the tiebreaker that they (for now) have decided to go for and so we can rely on it and act accordingly. And I'm not bulk or bunch buying my underwear (yes yes, I do know the actual meaning of the phrase but I prefer to ignore it)
  18. Except in the case in question it doesn't. One player could pile up 10 damage on Vader, the other player could kill 1 elite royal guard and 3 pairs of common storm troopers (leaving one alive from each group). The teams would have even 0 scores and then be compared. The team that put 12 damage on vader would win even though the other team dealt almost double the damage and destroyed 7 figures (but scored no points). Please edit/review your post since it makes almost no sense. Also please check what I actually wrote: IF you can't kill/destroy an deployment card (which means the entire group OR a figure (like Vader or an Imperial Officer)) then make sure that you injure as many figures as possible (a bit tricky?) while avoiding as much damage as possible yourself (even more tricky?)
  19. Also check step 3 in "Attack" (RRG page 5): 3. Rerolls: If players have any effects that reroll dice, they are resolved now. -- Each die may be rerolled only once per attack regardless of who is rerolling the die.
  20. There seems to be a word or something missing in your post. Anyways, I was in no way doubting that you didn't understand the slight unfairness of any given tiebreaker. In this game it can be boiled down to this: If you can't destroy a figure or group then ensure that you deal or spread out as much Damage as possible if/when you can see the game coming down to wire. Having not played any Skirmish tourney yet myself I can't speak much about how this really will work, but one thing I do like about the tiebreaker here is that it favors the person doing the most "actual skirmish" ie destroys most figures.
  21. The first 5 steps in verbatim quote: ATTACK RESOLUTION To perform an attack with a squadron or ship, proceed through the following steps: 1. Declare Target: Declare a target that is inside the firing arc and at attack range of the attacking squadron or hull zone. Declare the attacking and/or defending hull zone, if any. 2. Roll Attack Dice: Gather and roll the attack dice appropriate for the attack’s range and the armament being used. 3. Resolve Attack Effects: Spend [Accuracy] icons and resolve effects that modify dice. 4. Spend Defense Tokens: The defender can spend one or more of its defense tokens. 5. Resolve Damage: The attacker can resolve one critical effect. Then the defender suffers damage equal to the number of F icons. If the both the attacker and defender are ships, the number of E icons is added to the damage total.
  22. There will never be a tie-breaker rule that won't be "unfair" to someone in certain situations/circumstances. It simply will never happen. Tie breakers are in their very nature "breaking ties" and the player who loses will (to some extent) feel a bit annoyed by the rule. Now of course we may all have more or less well founded or personal views/objections to tie breakers, SoS etc
  23. Just received this response from the FAQ team in regards to the "Prison Break" skirmish mission: The freeing playing will never only receive VP's as long as the prisoner is alive (ie. on the map)
  24. Just received words back from the FAQ team: Turns out that they agree with my initial interpretation: the player who frees the prisoner only receives the 6 VP per turn as long as the prisoner is on the map (ie. "is alive")
×
×
  • Create New...