Jump to content

Stu35

Members
  • Content Count

    630
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Stu35 reacted to TheoGrizz in Serious Design Flaw   
    So now they're paying for 2 Diversions, 2 Rebels, Resistance HQ, 2 Award Ceremonies, 2 Ancient Wisdoms, a couple of free cards... If the opponent Rebels on Diversion, then it isn't played on something else. There is a limit to how much can be done; there is no card in Destiny that says "Do all the things." What happens in the event that I am showing a base resource side on three dice? 5 Diversions? What if I remove the dice that actually have discard sides? Starting whichever round you get through the Diversions, you can start concentrating on killing Qui-Gon. "Just have money" is a fine answer, that may have been dismissed on the presumption that I didn't think my answer through. (*) That's my fault in that I didn't give explanations and went with "Aww, dang."
    I'm not misunderstanding. This was a specific example of the larger point, which was, "If you sit down across from one of these decks you have to go in with the mentality that you are not going to play your deck's normal game." Each of these decks require a somewhat different gameplay approach to counter.
    Where we disagree is the consistency of these decks. They aren't winning left and right.
    And soon enough, so much rotates out, including Launch Bay, Qui-Gon, Award Ceremony, Truce, Resistance HQ, Diversion, etc.
    I don't think it's a serious design flaw, and I think the future is going to be just fine. That's not to say they won't change something, just that I don't think they need to do so.
  2. Like
    Stu35 reacted to Buhallin in N-1 Starfighter   
    "Any other card that shares the same title is a copy" doesn't actually preclude a given card being considered a copy of itself.  It defines that other cards are copies, but that's not exhaustive.
    The first sentence says simply that "copies" of cards are defined by their titles.  Same card, same title, it's a copy.
    There are plenty of other rules which at least imply this.  For example:
    A player can select only one copy of each unique (*) character,
    So if the "copy" is only the one past the first, I can include two uniques?
    A card cannot gain another copy of a keyword;
    Again, very different rule from how we understand it if "copy" only applies to the second.
    Second Chance is a replacement effect so if a character has two copies of Second Chance and would be defeated, only one copy resolves. The other one can no longer replace being defeated and stays attached to the character.
    Again, if copies are past the first, then having two copies of Second Chance would mean 3 cards, which is impossible.  Context here is pretty clearly two copies = two cards.
     
    I'll grant it's an impressive bit of out-of-context rules lawyering, but I think the actual rules here are fairly clear, no?
  3. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Lobokai in Collateral Damage and Indirect Damage Official ruling?   
    It does not work with indirect damage.
     
    No official ruling needed. The card specifies melee or ranged damage, and not as reminder text for "damage".
  4. Like
    Stu35 reacted to joshstix in Collateral Damage and Indirect Damage Official ruling?   
    This is covered clearly on page 21 of the rules reference guide.
    • Effects which reference a certain symbol showing on a die work with any side showing that symbol, even if it is a modified side. Showing damage includes ranged, melee, and indirect damage.
    The wording on this card is:
    Resolve one or more of your dice showing either melee damage ([melee]) or ranged damage ([ranged]). Then force an opponent to lose 1 resource.
    This card doesn't reference "showing damage" it explicitly states showing melee damage or showing ranged damage.
     
     
     
     
  5. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from TheoGrizz in Reaping The Cristal + Upgrade 3 + IBAT   
    You play reaping the crystal, then before you play the upgrade you exhaust IBAT.
    They do, infact, work together. 
  6. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from JuzFuzz in Reaping The Cristal + Upgrade 3 + IBAT   
    You play reaping the crystal, then before you play the upgrade you exhaust IBAT.
    They do, infact, work together. 
  7. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Phlyk in Total Escape games colorado regional   
    U ok hun?
  8. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Ausr in I love playing this game but... (A heroes rant)   
    You're about 2 sets behind.
    There was a time when the only heroes that could win were Poe/Maz.
    Since the 2 player set and legacies came out, heroes have plenty of options to be successful.  Not necessarily expensive cards like Yoda either: Theres a 5 die Hero Vehicles deck running around which can use zero legendary cards -  Elite Rose, Elite Aayla, Ezra.  Throw in a bunch of cheap rares like Chance Cube, Modified HWK, Resistance Bomber, Y-Wing, T47 Airspeeder, get Rally Aid and Tech Team so you can play them out, and you're on your way...  Dunno if it's won any big tournaments but I know it's been there or thereabouts for a few.
  9. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from player2072913 in Total Escape games colorado regional   
    U ok hun?
  10. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from jasonwylie in Destiny Community Reaction To World's Sign Ups   
    I disagree.
     
    The current system rewards premier event winners by guaranteeing them a seat, but i want to see a huge event with participants from across the spectrum of players, not just the best 30-40 players.
     
    Think of it like the soccer world cup - its not just for Germany to flex our footballing dominance against Brazil and Spain; England gets to play too.
  11. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from kaffis in Destiny Community Reaction To World's Sign Ups   
    Some people seem to be of the opinion that worlds should just be like  the 50-60 people who won national/regionals who can also afford to fly to America for a long weekend to play a card and dice game.
  12. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from robguyday in Can I play non-English cards in English tournament   
    Theyre official ffg cards. Theyre legal. 
     
    Thats my stance. 
  13. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Dovla in Destiny Community Reaction To World's Sign Ups   
    I disagree.
     
    The current system rewards premier event winners by guaranteeing them a seat, but i want to see a huge event with participants from across the spectrum of players, not just the best 30-40 players.
     
    Think of it like the soccer world cup - its not just for Germany to flex our footballing dominance against Brazil and Spain; England gets to play too.
  14. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Lionhardt in Good Partner For Windu   
    Mate of mine has him with Rebel Trooper
    Electrostaff and Guardian, plus the Rebel has 2 damage sides of his own so whilst he can't pack much of a punch or close out a game (his job is to die anyway), he can be a thorn in the opponents side.
     
    No matter how you slice it though, 3 dice builds are difficult to win with, and easy to mitigate against - Endurance and Reslient help, but keeping Mace alive and getting his big 4 sides off consistently is still very difficult (and easy pickings is just utterly cruel to the Master Jedi).
  15. Thanks
    Stu35 reacted to Buhallin in Neutral character question?   
    This feels like a lost cause, but what the heck, one more recital.
    Page 12, Building a Deck:
    If a team has hero characters, its deck cannot contain villain cards. If a team has villain characters, its deck cannot contain hero cards. If a team has all neutral characters, its deck cannot contain hero or villain cards. Blue, Red, and Yellow cards can only be included in the deck if the team includes a character of the matching color. These are two separate bullet points, and create two independent restrictions.  One applies to including cards based on affiliation (hero/villain).  One applies to including cards of particular colors.  They do not work together to say "You need a yellow hero to include yellow hero cards."
    So, let's take an example.  I have Ketsu (Yellow Neutral) and Poe (Red Hero).  I want to include Lothcat and Mouse (Yellow Hero) in my deck.
    Bullet 1: Does our team have hero characters?  Yes, so we can't include villain cards.  Do we have villain characters?  Nope, so we can include hero cards.  Are we all neutral?  No.  We pass this.
    Bullet 2: Lothcat is a yellow card.  Do I have a yellow character to match it?  Yes.  We pass this.
    Lothcat and Mouse is legal.
    It's really not that hard - to reiterate, affiliation and color are checked separately.  You have to pass both, but that doesn't merge into a single "Yellow Hero", "Red Neutral" check.
  16. Thanks
    Stu35 got a reaction from Traxlenak in Neutral character question?   
    *sigh*
    Ozmodon...  
    Just...
    No.
     
    People have explained to you. Very clearly, why your deck has access to neutral and hero or villain cards in whatever colour your characters allow. They have referenced the rules and even broken them down into bitesize chunks to make it clearer...
     
     
    Good luck trying to argue your side at the next tournament you play.
  17. Thanks
    Stu35 got a reaction from robguyday in Crime Lord vs Crime Lord who wins?   
    Battlefield controller.
  18. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from kaffis in Order of Modifiers (non-dice)   
    You choose the order if all your effects have the same timing window. 
  19. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Vineheart01 in Greedo question .... ANY number of his character dice?   
    Plenty of people have put up rules references. You're willfully ignoring or misinterpreting them for your "fun" little experiment in trying to rules-lawyer the game.
    Frankly it's all I can do not to go into a lengthy, highly insulting tirade against you, which would no doubt break the code of conduct for this forum. If I were you I'd say "thank you" to the people who have had the time and patience to answer this scenario of yours by showing you the rules, and then move on. 
  20. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Amanal in Greedo question .... ANY number of his character dice?   
    Plenty of people have put up rules references. You're willfully ignoring or misinterpreting them for your "fun" little experiment in trying to rules-lawyer the game.
    Frankly it's all I can do not to go into a lengthy, highly insulting tirade against you, which would no doubt break the code of conduct for this forum. If I were you I'd say "thank you" to the people who have had the time and patience to answer this scenario of yours by showing you the rules, and then move on. 
  21. Thanks
    Stu35 reacted to Whingewood in Greedo question .... ANY number of his character dice?   
    Funny idea, but it won't work like that.
    Characters, page 5 Rule Reference:
    "Each character has one or two dice that are rolled when that character is activated."
    Activate a Character or Support, page 14 Rules Reference:
    "All of the dice associated with a character (its character and upgrade dice) must be rolled when that character is activated."
     
    Unless you are trying to argue that whenever you activate any character you can just roll as many copies of their character dice that you wish, it doesn't work.
     
    As for the Set-Aside Zone, page 10 Rules Reference:
    "Players can set aside any number of dice that match cards in their deck, or are referenced by cards in their deck."
     
    I think that this part just means that you could have an entire deck full of cards that have corresponding dice, rather than your interpretation of using as many as you have in your collection.
    While I think that they could use some tighter wording, I don't reckon it works.
  22. Thanks
    Stu35 reacted to Dice lord in Greedo question .... ANY number of his character dice?   
    A worldly colleague once told me; Rules are for obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men.
    He taught me how to stop being a fool - I thank him for it.
  23. Thanks
    Stu35 reacted to Dice lord in Greedo question .... ANY number of his character dice?   
    I too have a gaming friend who thinks up stuff like this and I fell into that type of thinking at one point to 'beat him at his own game' but to be honest it just doesn't feel right and causes no end of arguments. I play for fun and just laugh at him now when he pulls similar stunts; hence my comment above.
    Welcome.
  24. Thanks
    Stu35 got a reaction from Lobokai in Final Moment and win conditions   
    I think you're right.
    The action phase ends, at this point Final Moment triggers, then play proceeds to the upkeep phase, the "mill" win condition specifies "at the end of a round (after the upkeep phase)"
    So yeah, I would suggest you cannot play Final Moment and win by mill.
     
  25. Like
    Stu35 got a reaction from Amanal in Defensive teaching?!!   
    *sigh*
    You mean aside from the rule saying that a character cannot have more than 3 shields? It doesn't have to specify that excess shields are discarded because its very very very cut and dry.
     
     
     
×
×
  • Create New...