Jump to content

D.Knight Sevus

Members
  • Content Count

    217
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About D.Knight Sevus

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
  1. 1) It allows you to effectively get a second or third engagement against the same objective. You have to choose an objective you have not engaged this phase when declaring an attack, but there is no such restriction for resolving the effect of Secret Objective. 2) Your opponent has to block with incomplete information. 3) It lets you circumvent effects like The Secret of Yavin.
  2. 1) Entangled is played after an eligible unit is chosen to strike, not after it is focused to strike, so its effect resolves before a focus token is placed on the striking unit. If your opponent has another eligible unit, they must strike with one of them instead, and the original unit is not focused. If your opponent has no other eligible units, than the strike continues as normal. Entangled cannot be used to prevent a unit from striking by itself, it can only change the order in which your opponent's units strike. 2) "Then, draw 1 card" is a separate statement from the text that affects your opponent. You (the controller of Entangled) draw a card when it resolves. Hope this helps!
  3. I don't think I'd rename it at all. "Star Wars: The Card Game" is simple, to the point, and tells me pretty much everything I need to know.
  4. My apologies. That's what I get for not double-checking the FAQ. ^^;
  5. Full card text of Heavy Blaster Emplacement, for reference: "Weapon. Enhance your play area. Action: Focus this enhancement to have your opponent deal 1 damage to a unit he controls." 1) Barring removal, enhancement cards stay in play until they are no longer enhancing a legal game object, or the game object they are enhancing leaves play. Neither will ever happen to a card that says "enhance your play area", so it will remain in play until the game ends or a player plays a card to remove it from play. 2) "Focus" means "place a focus token on this ready card". That's it. You don't have to spend resources to focus a card unless a card specifically tells you to. 3) The card "Tear This Ship Apart" is an answer to enhancements from the Core Set that slots into one of the decks most harmed by Heavy Blaster Emplacement. "Utinni!" (Edge of Darkness) and "Explosive Charge" (Assault on Echo Base) can also be used to deal with enemy enhancements. You can also attempt to play around it by using shields, by playing cards with high Damage Capacity that can absorb several hits from the Heavy Blaster Emplacement, or by playing so many units that the Heavy Blaster Emplacement can't deal with them quickly enough to prevent your opponent from being overrun.
  6. Twist of Fate's full card text, for reference: "Cancel this edge battle and the card effects of all other fate cards just revealed. Discard both edge stacks and start a new edge battle." Since Twist of Fate says to "cancel" the edge battle, you treat it as if it didn't happen. Only the new edge stack counts, including for Bren's ability.
  7. I think you swapped the names of the last two sets there. While you should definitely be aware of the errata limiting the objective's Reaction once per turn, May the Force Be With You (Set 112, Join Us or Die) is considered to be the best Light Side objective set in the game. Not only does the Objective Set have a reaction that lets you attack with a powerful Force User, then gain its icons during the Force struggle and be ready to defend during your opponent's turn, but the set comes with a powerful suite of cards, including Yoda, You Seek Yoda (which can be used to search for any Yoda, not just the one from the same set.) Unfortunately, it and The Master's Domain are restricted, so you can't play them in the same deck. Watchers in the Wasteland is also very popular, I applaud you recognizing that it could be powerful in your first light side deck. Other good sets I'd like to point out are The Survivors (Set 146, Draw Their Fire), which contains a lot of damage manipulation, A Hero's Trial (Set 127, Between the Shadows), which contains a second version of Luke that also excels as an offensive and defensive unit, and Heroes and Legends (Set 97, Heroes and Legends), which lets you take advantage of when you have multiple copies of the same unique Unit.
  8. LightningFox has the right of it. Tarkin doesn't have to be ready to use his Reaction, so the idea is that you focus Tarkin (or another Officer) to pay the cost of Endor Command Post's Action during the last action window of a phase, and then you have an Imperial Navy resource to pay the cost of Tarkin's Reaction at the beginning of the next phase. The reason the combo was pointed out is that it allows you to spend all of your resources on your own turn and still have the ability to threaten Tarkin.
  9. According to the rules insert in the Endor cycle, a mission is completed when it enters a player's victory pile. So while Superlaser Blast does allow you to destroy an objective you control, it would still enter the Light Side player's victory pile, meaning the mission is completed. So no, you can't use Superlaser Blast to prevent the Reaction of The Final Battle.
  10. This probably should be in the rules questions subforum, but I'll take a crack at this. Diplomatic presence reads So yes, by enhancing an objective with Diplomatic Presence, your opponents cannot attack it until they have made every other objective vulnerable and have declared an attack on each other objective you control. And by enhancing one of the two objectives in the front row, you would make three objectives invalid targets for attack while Diplomatic Presence is in play. Effectively, however, it just ensures that your opponents must play cards like Navy Executor, Tear This Ship Apart, Explosive Charge, Utinni!, Grand Moff Tarkin (Endor Cycle), Superlaser Blast, or Nightsister to deal with it.
  11. dbmeboy is correct, but to add to that, sacrifice is a game action that means "the player must discard a unit he or she controls." There are cards such as Aggression and X-Wing Escort that can force your opponent to sacrifice a unit, but you never sacrifice a unit you do not control.
  12. evilidler is correct, the printed cost of a card is the cost listed in the upper left-hand corner, and it does not change.
  13. This topic has occasionally come up, but the Strategy section is probably the wrong place for it. The last thread on the subject was last updated in April, but here it is anyway. Most of the people who cared enough to respond were against it. I wouldn't be, but then you have affiliation issues - the Rebel Alliance and Imperial Navy didn't exist during the prequel era, and while you could make new affiliations to replace them, that means that the Alliance and Navy get no support while the other 4 affiliations do.
  14. That is actually really cool, and I'd love to see something similar for Star Wars. Are the decks tournament legal? I don't see why they wouldn't be, and that gets around the biggest hurdle to making such decks profitable.
×
×
  • Create New...