godofcheese

Members
  • Content count

    705
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About godofcheese

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 07/28/1983

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia

Recent Profile Visitors

189 profile views
  1. MEd (Master of Education) with a specialty in English (I teach English) Also; you are correct, being separate sentences does not mean they are unrelated. Indeed, the the in the second sentence means that it is referring to the attack in the first, however grammatically, and functionally, the attack in the first sentence happens whether you gain the bonus dice from the condition or not, satisfying After the attack. *edited to correct my own grammar (lol)
  2. I submitted this as a rules question through the online form and have now received a response. Hi again Jason! The second part of Fly-By only awards the bonus movement points after an attack that qualifies to trigger the first part of the ability (within 2 spaces.) This relationship between effects could certainly be clearer, and I’m looking to get it into the FAQ (though it won’t make it in the next release). Thanks for the question. I hope that helps! Todd MichlitschGame DeveloperFantasy Flight Games So the card, as written, is grammatically inaccurate, but we now have an (un)official ruling to go off and I am happy to run with it.
  3. That's the thing though, grammatically, it can't go either way. Does this mean that the dev's nailed their intention with the grammar? No, however the grammar is actually quite clear and there are other posts in the thread that are breaking it down, so I won't again. I'm not saying I'm definitely right on how the card works, however, if it is ruled that the 2 movement points is dependent on the range of the attack, it is actually written so that it is grammatically inaccurate (wouldn't be the first time I've seen it happen). I've changed the grammar so that it would read grammatically accurate for your interpretation.
  4. For this interpretation to be true, there would need to be an 'and', otherwise it is listing 2 separate triggering conditions - an attack and a range. The second ability then only makes reference to an attack. The comma's bracketing "if the target is within 2 spaces" create an independent clause relating to the object of the sentence, which in this case is the 2 dice. Original Text: "When you declare an attack, if the target space is within 2 spaces, add 1 blue die to your attack pool. After the attack resolves, gain 2 movement points. " For your interpretation it would need to read: "When you declare an attack and the target space is within 2 spaces, add 1 blue die to your attack pool. After the attack resolves, gain 2 movement points. "
  5. Correct, the use of an in the second part of the ability means it is referencing the attack performed in the first sentence. However, you perform the attack in the first sentence whenever you perform an attack. The IF / THEN conditional clause in the first sentence does not affect whether you perform an attack or not, and the second part of the ability is deliberately separated from the conditional clause with a full stop and then references the attack (not the original condition) as the new condition. If both the extra dice and the movement were conditional of the target being within 2 spaces they would need to have used 'and' instead of a full stop, or referenced the condition of 2 spaces or adding a dice in the second sentence.
  6. To me, the wording is clear. You always gain the extra movement. FFG, for all their ambiguous wordings are USUALLY spot on with correct punctuation. In this case, punctuation and grammar gives you Performing an attack if X is true (range), do Y (add dice). Full stop here is end of conditional clause. New sentence is new condition. After performing this attack [here, to provide conditional meaning, it would need to say something along the lines of "if you added a dice"] do X [movement] As for those arguing that use "Jets" [the rule ability on the grey unit] for "intent", I would say that it confirms intent to my interpretation. The wording and phrasing are deliberately different, thereby implying different interpretations.
  7. Games Workshop terminated their business relationship with FFG, and as such FFG no-longer has the rights. It was announced last year that all sales and support would end on Feb 28. No official reason but 2 rumours are: a) Asmodee and GW not having a great relationship, so now FFG is part of the Asmodee group.... b) Runewars TMG stepping on toes of AoS. As said, both are fan speculation as no actual reason has been given.
  8. 3x Sienar Specialist w/TLT 1x Carnor Jax w/Push the Limit, Autothrusters. Much scarier.
  9. You would roll 4 dice. Because of the TLT, you don't apply range bonuses as these only apply to primary weapons and the TLT is a secondary weapon. "Obstructed" is a binary condition, either the shot is obstructed, adding one dice, or it's not. It doesn't matter how many "obstructions" are between the Y-Wing and the TIE.
  10. Nats before May when we are just doing regionals now? I hope it comes together because it was a great event last year but wait and see I guess. Also my favourite line... There were 17 players and one was ejected in round three. - Wtf?!?! The player in question (who has history), marked his models with the stickers on the bottom of the base, and was tracking damage on the deployment card things that come in the kits. (very confusing for his opponents, and one must have said something [though I don't know this for sure]) The TO asked him to mark his models more clearly since he was using a trooper list and had double storms and double ISB's. Basically, he outright refused, the TO insisted and things got heated. It got to the unfortunate point where he was basically physically removed from the store and told not to return. I was at the event (and one of Michaels opponents), but was in the bar and missed the altercation, but I have attended a number of events at this venue and the TO is, rightly, considered one of the best in the country. He is very calm, logical and welcoming, so for things to get heated with him involved is impressive (in a bad way). I actually could have won our game in that final turn (would have taken perfect rolls for me, and poor for you), If I'd shot Obi (who was on 4 health left) a max roll for me from the heavy, with lock on to remove his passive surge would have done it .... if you'd rolled 1 block. I then would have been able to run the officer to the last remaining terminal and claim 2. Great game though, and I look forward to the rematch (hopefully at NSW regionals)
  11. Any unique YT (either model) except Eden Vrill can do it with PtL, smuggling compartment and burnout SLAM. <-- actually, no they can't as smuggling compartment stops them from putting on an engine upgrade. IG's can do it. However, as also pointed out the SLAM action specifically states that it cannot be used as a "free" action. You can slam, then boost, but not boost, then slam.
  12. Definitely worth noting the active part since it's a minor (necessary) deviation from the typical "any printed arc is an arc" thing. The Shadowcaster is all special kinds of special. The shadowcaster has 4 quadrants (not arcs), it also has a special arrow on it's base tile that points to one of the quadrants and makes it a "mobile firing arc", which as you say, means this one qualifies as an arc for abilities.
  13. Use C3PO as well and you can get 3....Then PTL for an evade action for a 4th! Not quite. C-3P0 does not assign an evade token to your ship. He adds an evade result to the current dice roll. This is good, as it means you can use C-3P0 AND an evade token on the same attack.
  14. Disney doesn't make that much money in comparison with other merchandise. But it does see the minis as great marketing tools and promotional material for their latest movies that they can still make a profit. Which is why movie ships like T-70 X-wing and TIE-Striker are released in December. It is like advertising that the consumers buy and pay for so a win-win for Darth Mouse. Considering X-Wing last year took #1 spot for miniatures games sales worldwide (knocking off 40K for the first time in 30 years), and Armada and IA were both in the top 5, it may not make "that much in comparison with other merch." but it is making lots within this part of the industry compared to starting again from scratch.
  15. and autothrusters, unless it is also at range 3