TwiceBornh

Members
  • Content count

    480
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About TwiceBornh

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  1. Originally scheduled to be a Q1 2017 release, and we're now in Q4. Ouch. And didn't Crossing of Poros accidentally get shipped to some retailers in Europe (instead of the Black Serpent) several months back, which suggests that all of these APs have been printed for quite some time now?
  2. Here are mine from several years back (using Core set only). Different decks posted in different posts in the same thread.
  3. Yep. 29 blue/spirit, 29 green/lore, 29 purple/leadership, 29 red/tactics, +1 Gandalf (neutral) for each sphere.
  4. Thanks for that, Emilius. Should've known to check the rules insert before posting. :-)
  5. Was playing a round of Deadmen's Dike (Lost Realm) when an interesting situation arose during set-up: as per the stage 1B instructions, I revealed two cards, the first of which was a Dead Lord, followed by The Power of Angmar (side quest), which surged a Heavy Curse. The text on Heavy Curse states: "When Revealed: Attach to the current quest. (Counts as a Condition attachment with the text: “When a player plays a card, increase its cost by 1 if there is a card that has the same title in its owner’s discard pile.”) As I am in Set-up and there are two quests in play, neither of which has yet been declared the current quest, what do I do with Heavy Curse? Attach it to the main quest? First player decides which quest to attach it to? Discard it because there is no "current quest"? Has anyone dealt with this before? Also, is it fair to assume that the effects of multiple copies in play of Heavy Curse stack (I got hit by that several times in previous games). Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
  6. Most... impressive? You've got good video editing skills, too.
  7. No mention of anything related to LotR LCG during the 2017 FFG In-flight report.
  8. I don't think you should restrict yourself to the core set when playing Dol Guldur NM solo. The NM pack was released years later, when the designers could take a much broader player card pool into consideration... and any progression style NM deck should also keep that in mind.
  9. Yeah, same (regarding sticking to the 50 cards). And like you, I took advantage of an extended period of time off to focus on beating Dol Guldur solo. Probably would not have happened if work had consumed my time to the extent it usually did. Interesting to see the different progression style approaches used to beat the quest. My winning line-ups were Eowyn, Aragorn and either Legolas or Denethor instead of Eleanor.
  10. I pulled a few victories (also solo, progression style, standard difficulty, 50 card deck) a few years back. It was exhausting and I haven't tried again since... but I am curious (masochistic?) enough to try the NM version of the quest some day. Anyhow, congrats StGemma, it's one **** of an accomplishment. I'm amazed that you could complete the quest as quickly as you did (I tend to be slow and take my time analyzing the board state and trying to make sure I haven't forgotten any passive or forced effect triggers, etc.), and doubt I'll ever break your speed record. :-)
  11. Looking back at my sheets, looks like I only used Gimli when playing 2-handed. Seems I beat the quest solo progression using Frodo, Aragorn (L) and Glorfindel (S)... but lost far more than I won, and that was the only lineup I tried. It's been over 2 years since I last played Lake-Town... I think either Aragorn (L) or Glorfindel (S), with Frodo and Gimli might also work solo.
  12. Disregard.
  13. Your strategy of building up Gimli as a heavily armoured dragon slaying machine is a sound one, Alex. It worked for me. And I seem to recall winning that quest repeatedly with relatively few allies.
  14. Since you are supposed to resolve shadow cards first, I think the enemy would engage the other player before resolving its immediate attack. If the player with which the enemy had been instructed to re-engage and resolve an immediate attack had not already gone through its defend against enemy attacks step during the combat phase, then the enemy would end up doing an immediate attack against the newly engaged player, and then a second attack against that player once it was his turn to defend during the combat phase. If there had also been an immediate attack against the originally engaged player during the quest phase (due to a treachery card or whatever), then there would have been one attack vs. the originally engaged player, then two against the newly engaged player (assuming that newly engaged player is not the "first player"). There can be all sorts of variations on the above scenario, depending on the exact nature of the cards involved. Could you maybe give a bit more info about exactly what happened (i.e., which cards were revealed, who was first player, how far you were in the round/combat sequence, etc.)? Might be easier to give you an accurate answer then.
  15. Battle of Lake-Town requires a whole other mindset/deck-building strategy to win. Ask if/when you get stumped. Still one of my favourite quests... but was extremely frustrating until I figured out what had to be done. Good luck!