Jump to content

eiterorm

Members
  • Content Count

    158
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. That's why it's nice to have several different tech trees to choose from, so that you can choose the one you like the most. All the trees I have seen have been very messy -- an obvious result of cramming all the information together in fairly little space. That's why I chose to separate the tech descriptions from the tree. It has to be printed on two sides, but the tree is easier to trace this way. (By comparison, if the tech description hadn't been separated from the tree, this layout would've required a paper sheet more than 80 cm wide.) And thanks for the compliment. =)
  2. Correct. Would an ampersand symbol instead of a plus symbol be better?
  3. I couldn't find any technology trees I liked, so I made my own. I thought I'd share it in case some of you prefer this tech tree to existing ones. The tech tree is intended to be printed on two sides of an A3 paper (or a paper of similar size) -- one side with the tree itself, and the other side with the details of every technology (scale the images to your liking). Both sides are organized in tiers 1 to 7, where the tier number is the minimum number of technology purchases needed to acquire that technology (assuming you have no prerequisites). It doesn't seem like uploading files to this forum is an option, so I uploaded the tech tree to BoardGameGeek. However, that website is a visual trainwreck, so I stay away when I can. In other words, if anyone leaves a comment there, I won't see it unless I log in, which might not happen again in aeons. Therefore it would be great if any of you could take a look at the tech tree and see if you find anything that should be fixed. My hope is that anything that needs fixing is spotted early, which saves us all the trouble of having to deal with a messy or incorrect tech tree. Cheers!
  4. The rules say: "Starting with the Speaker, and continuing clockwise, each player who chose a Representative with the Spy trait must reveal it (...)" If the speaker didn't have this advantage, there would be even less of a point in choosing the Assembly II/Political II Strategy Card.
  5. Thank you both for the answers. A few comments: You have to send one of your three representatives, and you don't lose them unless they are killed/assassinated by an enemy representative. If you're the first player to reveal your spy (you hold the Speaker token), enemy spies cannot target you. In this situation, I don't see the point of not attempting to get a new technology. If nothing else, you're forcing a small detriment upon your targeted player. They would still be weak in the political arena, though -- they are never allowed to vote. I guess that's why I interpreted it like I did -- because The Nekro Virus may never vote on politics, I saw Asmodai's ability primarily as a way to obtain new technology, not primarily as a way to influence politics. Personally, I think the representatives themselves are a nice addition. When playing with the representatives, you could always change the number of Political Cards drawn during different actions or phases. Here are three examples you may try to use and combine as you see fit: - draw four instead of two Political Cards when executing the primary ability of the Assembly I/II Strategy Card - add "draw one Political Card" to the effect of the secondary ability of the Assembly I/II Strategy Card - make all players draw a Political Card (in addition to the regular Action Card and Command Counters) during the Status Phase To balance out the use of Political Cards as Trade Goods, you could change the rules so that two Political Cards may be used as one Trade Good. Changes like the ones above should at least reduce the problem with having too few cards with any impact on the game. A more drastic change could be to tweak the deck of Political Cards and/or Action Cards to further encourage politics.
  6. Hello, I wasn't able to find an answer to these questions anywhere, so perhaps you fine people here can help me: Question 1 Consider spies that choose a player and/or an outcome -- is the chosen player/outcome supposed to be: (A) declared to all players at the Resolve Spies step, or (B) kept hidden until outcomes have been resolved? Alternative A: If the chosen player/outcome is announced before the voting, then opposing players can specifically vote to make sure that the spy's chosen outcome never happens. Voting in this way may, of course, be detrimental to the opponents (depending on the Political Card), but they still have the option of choosing the lesser evil. Alternative B: If the chosen player/outcome is to be kept hidden until the voting and outcome is resolved, these spies are more versatile, and it allows for more bluffing as well as a different kind of strategy in the council. If the chosen outcome/player is to be kept hidden, the player/outcome should obviously be chosen in a way that can be verified afterwards (e.g. written on a piece of paper). Example: In the first round of the game, the players are supposed to vote for/against a law that has virtually no impact on the game if voted "For", but voting "Against" would be a small detriment to most players. The Nekro Virus predicts that The Embers of Muaat will vote "For", so they send the spy Asmodai* to the council, hoping to copy the War Sun technology. * Asmodai's ability reads: "Choose a player and an outcome. If he votes this way, copy one of his Technology Cards." Because The Nekro Virus cannot vote on Political Cards, it seems to me that playing according to Alternative A would make The Nekro Virus rather weak in general. In this particular situation, The Embers of Muaat could simply vote differently in order to prevent The Nekro Virus from obtaining the War Sun technology this early in the game. However, if the situation was played according to Alternative B, The Embers of Muaat, being an obvious target for the spy, would have to guess whether or not they were the actual target. They could vote "For" in the hope that The Nekro Virus was bluffing, or they could vote "Against" just to be safe. Does any of you know how this is intended to be played, or do you have personal thoughts on this? Question 2 Consider the example above, but instead of a "For or Against" Vote, the players are instead voting on an "Elect" Vote. The Embers of Muaat vote for Sardakk N'orr, but The Xxcha Kingdom is the elected player. For Asmodai's prediction to be correct, what would his prediction have to be: (I) The Embers of Muaat was the chosen player, and they voted for Sardakk N'orr, or (II) Asmodai's cannot be correct because the outcome (The Xxcha Kingdom was elected) was different than how the target voted (The Embers of Muaat voted for Sardakk N'orr)? The way I see it, the text on Asmodai's card can be interpreted both ways.
  7. Julia said: Plus, it could screw also your plans: investigator A returns to Arkham, but has not enough clues to seal. So he skips his Encounter Phase. Investigator B passes by, and tosses him an Elder Sign. In the next turn, investigator A seals with the ES (with the risk of losing the game if the doom track is almost full, or anyway with the risk of a monster surge and so on). I believe I misunderstood this the first time I read it. So, just to check that I understood you correctly the second time: The increased risk of losing is because investigator A spends three turns in order to seal a gate, instead of just one, right? Not because using an Elder Sign increases the risk of losing? If the Elder Sign increases the risk of losing, then there's certainly something I've missed. *puzzled*
  8. This is almost correct. It seems you missed an Other World encounter. Remember that the Arkham encounters and the Other World encounters are separate phases. Below is the correct sequence. Turn 1: 1. Movement. The investigator moves to the Witch House, where there is an open gate to the Dreamlands. 2. Arkham encounter. Instead of drawing an encounter card, the investigator is drawn through the gate and enters the first area of the Dreamlands. 3. Other World encounter. The investigator draws an Other World encounter card. Turn 2: 4. Movement.** The investigator moves to the next area of the Dreamlands. 5. Other World encounter. The investigator draws another Other World encounter card. Turn 3: 6. Movement.** The investigator returns to any location in Arkham with an open gate to the Dreamlands, and places an explored marker on that gate. When returning to Arkham, the investigator does not have to fight or evade any monsters guarding the gate. If there is no such gate open, the investigator is lost in time and space. ** It should be noted that the investigator does not receive any movement points in during this phase. Thus, he cannot use anything which requires him to spend movement points this turn. I hope this helps. =) Edit: Julia was faster. =P
  9. brasso said: Thanks guys, sorry about the noob questions That's what a forum is for: questions and discussions. ;-] And this game does have a lot of rules. A few specific rules even contradict each other. We were all new to this game once, and we all had questions on how to play this and that, so don't hesitate to ask. Welcome to the forum! =)
  10. eiterorm

    Custom Heralds

    Julia said: Yeah, Situation 3 was kinda implicit, the problem was Situation 2, as you see, so, a rewording is really welcome :-) Clearly, you have to design one investigator to force gates to stay in their place / return to nstable locations. Plus, this adds a lot of interesting points: you can use investigators to have gates moving to more interesting locations. for instance, in an Atlach game, it could be good moving a gate from the Witch House to the Twilight Lodge so that an eventual seal is prevented from bursting Actually, it's good to see that this thing that started as a joke, has become a Herald that's fun to play with :-) Done! Nice, I didn't even think of that. Maybe this herald can be used in other ways I also didn't think of.
  11. eiterorm

    Custom Heralds

    Here's the revised Pacman Horror. I rephrased the last sentence of the "Power Pellets" rules. Hopefully, the rules are clearer in this new version. I also changed the "Game Over" rules. If there are three clue tokens on the herald sheet, the investigators instantly lose the game instead of awakening the Ancient One. I think this is more thematic. For the gameplay, this doesn't change much, as it is highly unlikely that three of your investigators will be devoured by a stalking gate. Medium resolution --- High resolution Additional clarifications about the rules: - Only investigators with an elder sign or sufficient clue tokens are immune to being devoured by a stalking gate. Power tokens or monster trophies (for William Yorick) do not count. - A stalking gate in a street area is immediately returned to an unstable location when an investigator who matches the above description enters that street area. Return the gate to an unstable location according to the rules before fighting or evading monsters. The investigator is not required to end his movement in that street area in order to return the gate to an unstable location, and may thus return several stalking gates to their unstable locations in a single turn. - In general, ties are broken by the first player. For instance, if a stalking gate can retreat into several unstable locations, you are free to choose which one.
  12. Julia said: and CLEARLY the time setting is the upsetting element, not the cleavage, uh? ::laughter:: What's wrong with cleavage? And I would indeed say that the time setting is crucial. ;-]
  13. eiterorm

    Custom Heralds

    Shining Aquas said: You might be able to replace that line with "If there's nowhere for a gate to retreat, it stays in place". I have to admit, I didn't like the herald much when I first read it, but it has very quickly grown on me. Very interesting design idea that encourages proper investigator placement. That was indeed how I intended it. Thanks for the compliment. =)
  14. eiterorm

    Custom Heralds

    Julia said: Wondering why the dam(n) forum system cancelled my reply on your Pacman Herald, Eiterorm. Honestly, the site is horribly slow in these days, and the structure of the forum completely sucks. Anyhow, let's try to comment again. The Herald is brilliant and hilarious, especially in the part when stalker games becomes "stalked" and move away from the most powerful characters. It adds also a certain strategy so that even if all gates can actually move, you can coop in order to chase some of them back to another location. There is only one point requiring clarification, I think: in the Power pellet paragraph, you say "otherwise the gate will retreat according to the movement box on the Mythos Card". So what happens if the movement patters leads to an investigator with enough clues to seal? As for the rest, as I told you, it's brilliant Thanks for the kind words. =) About chasing down gates: in order to win a game against this herald, you will most likely need to designate a gate herd: an investigator with sufficient clues or an Elder Sign (from now on referred to as power investigator, for simplicity) whose job is to return gates to unstable locations and keep gates from moving out in the streets. Consider the situation where a gate is located at Independence Square and another investigator will exit from this gate in the next movement phase and seal it. In order to make sure that the gate doesn't move in the Mythos phase before the other investigator can exit, the gate herd could end his movement and stay in the Downtown street area that turn. If the Mythos instructs the gate at Independence Square to move, the gate cannot, because there is a power investigator blocking the way. About your question, just to see that I understand you correctly, consider this example: A stalking gate which is about to move is in the Easttown street area. Investigator A is a power investigator and is located in the Rivertown street area, so the stalking gate must retreat. There is already an open gate at Hibb's Roadhouse, so the stalking gate cannot retreat into an unstable location. The stalking gate must therefore retreat according to the movement box. So you're asking what happens if the movement box instructs the gate to move towards a power investigator? Situation 1: The gate's dimensional symbol moves on black. The gate moves to the Downtown street area, away from the power investigator in the Rivertown street area. No ambiguities. (I hope) Situation 2: The gate's dimensional symbol moves on white, but this would mean movement towards a power investigator, so this goes against the rules. My intention here is that the gate should still move to the Downtown street area, because this is the only possible direction away from the power investigator. However, I clearly see how my choice of words makes this confusing. I will try and rephrase this. Situation 3: There is a power investigator both in the Rivertown street area and in the Downtown street area. My intention here is that the gate does not move. It cannot retreat, but if it moves toward a power investigator, it violates the rules.
×
×
  • Create New...