Jump to content

Thomas Cartwright

Members
  • Content Count

    48
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Thomas Cartwright

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Francisco, California, United States
  1. Yes, you can use clue tokens for the four special skill checks you mention. The only checks they can't be used for are rolling for blessings, curses, etc. during upkeep and encounters that instruct you to "Roll x dice. For each success ____," without specifying a skill.
  2. Thanks. We were playing League season 2, scenario 3, so started out with corruption in order to bank some clues. Managed a win despite allowing corruption to chain, but we got lucky and had some early gates that let us clear out the corruption cards in play before things got too crazy.
  3. Just got Black Goat of the Woods and we're wondering if corruption cards that instruct you to draw more corruption cards can cause a chain reaction. For example, I have Endless Greed and it gets triggered by a mythos card. As instructed, I draw another corruption card and see that it also has a symbol matching the current mythos card. Does this new corruption trigger right away, or is it not triggerable until the following mythos phase? We've been playing the former way, but it sure tends to fill up our hands with corruption cards quickly. Getting a one-turn breather before the newly-drawn cards are a liability would make a big difference.
  4. I'm surprised this hasn't come up for me before, but last night I played a game where one Environment Mythos card was in effect (the one that makes all monsters move as fast monsters) and it was replaced by another Environment Mythos card (one that changes two investigator stats -1/+1 respectively). While resolving the "monsters move" part of the second card, I was suddenly unsure whether all monsters should still be moving two spaces or if the new Environment should already be in effect, restoring the monsters to their normal movements. It made quite a difference; I was playing with the Dunwich board, and Environment #1 would really have those critters racing for the vortices. I ended up going with the first Environment staying in effect through the second card's gate, monster placement, clue placement, and monster movement steps, only being superseded by the new Environment once these tasks had been resolved. Is this how the rest of you do it?
  5. I'm still not completely clear on when the Mutineer card is shuffled into the loyalty deck. Does it happen before any loyalty cards are handed out, so that someone can be the Mutineer on turn one, or is it only added to the deck after intial loyalty cards are distributed, like the Sympathizer role?
  6. We're going to play our first game with Lurker at the Threshold soon and I'm not clear on how the Blood and Soul pacts work. Specifically, the text: "You may spend a Power token as either a Clue Token or as 1 Stamina/Sanity when you suffer a Stamina/Sanity loss." First of all, I assume you can spend a power token as a clue token at any time, not just in response to a stamina or sanity loss. Is this correct? The way it's phrased, it could be that you spend the power token to add additional dice to a failed skill check that causes a loss. Second, for the Stamina/Sanity use of a power token, is this healing stamina/sanity after a loss or does the power token prevent the loss in the first place, like Harvey Walters and Michael McGlen's abilities? This makes a big difference when your investigator is at one sanity and stands to go insane if she loses a single sanity. Finally, regarding the Herald's "Rites of Magick" power: "…he reduces the Sanity cost of the Spell to 0 and automatically passes the Spell check," for spells where the number of successes is important (e.g. Heal) do we just assume one success when invoking Rites of Magick, or does something else happen? Thanks
  7. The Professor said: MS, I beleive that if she's instructed to discard and drawagain, she would draw two cards and select from among the three (the first card that matches the Other World location color and the two additional cards due to the second card stating, discard and draw again). Let's say the first two encounter cards are A and B, and that B is "discard this card and draw again." I think it might actually be that if you opt for encounter B instead of encounter A, only then do you draw two new cards (C and D). At that point, you can no longer have encounter A, since you already selected B over it. You have to pick C or D. It's all very Let's Make a Deal.
  8. thecorinthian said: Re: Nightgaunt etc: is the distinction perhaps that fighting a monster ends your movement but does not end the movement phase? Just a thought. Well here's another test case, one that's not as improbably as the nightgaunt/find gate combo: Can you spend movement points to read a tome at the end of your movement phase, after you've defeated a monster? This actually happens sometimes: you fail to evade a monster and get stuck in the same space it was in, with leftover movement points, after the combat.
  9. The Professor said: … and then I came across this little number: Unique Items Q: What happens if there is a monster surge on a gate with the Warding of the Yellow Sign (Unique Item)? Since no other gates may receive more monsters than the surging gate, do no monsters appear at all? A: The monster surge is resolved normally, except the monsters tokens that would normally be placed at the gate with the Warding of the Yellow Sign are not drawn, even though they are included in the total number of tokens drawn as a result of the monster surge. No, no, no ~ a Unique Item shall NOT be more powerful than an Investigator… That's funny, Professor; I was just coming here to comment on this very inconsistancy. I was all set to resign myself to Kate's newly-FAQ'd monster surge quirkiness when I came across that tidbit about the Warding of the Yellow Sign on my bus ride home (thank you FF for having everything in .pdf format). This does seem to be at odds with the ruling on Kate when she's at a gate that's not the source of the surge: -Warding of the Yellow Sign on source of surge: Allocate all monsters and then cancel the ones at WotYS location. -Kate on a different gate: Allocate all monsters as if Kate's gate does not exist. Note, however, that when Kate is at the source of the surge, she IS more powerful than WotYS: she cancels the entire surge! The FAQ is missing a ruling on what, if anything, WotYS does when it's on a gate other than the one the surge is centered on. If it does the same thing there, then it is more powerful than Kate, which seems wrong. Maybe they're assuming we'll take the card's wording, "No monsters may appear via gates at this location," to mean that it doesn't do anything at all (are surge monsters coming out of all open gates, or just appearing on them? That's getting pretty deep into the Arkham semantics). Would have been nice to have this spelled out.
  10. From the just-released FAQ (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=3789): Q: When a Mythos Card says all Chthonians and Dholes in Arkham are returned to the cup, does the Outskirts count as “in Arkham?” A: No.
  11. Looks like the just-released FAQ settles this question: Q: When does an investigator pick up Clue tokens on the board? A: Investigators pick up Clue tokens in only two cases: 1. During the Movement Phase, if an investigator ends his movement in an Arkham location or street area containing Clue tokens, he picks them up after evading or combating any monsters in the same location or area. Investigators cannot pick up Clue tokens from a location or street area and then continue moving. 2. During the Mythos Phase, when a Clue token is placed in the same location as one or more investigators, one of them may immediately pick it up. If they cannot agree who gets the Clue token, the first player decides. Note that investigators do not pick up any Clue tokens when they are sent to a location with a Clue token during the Upkeep Phase, the Arkham Encounters Phase, or the Other World Encounters Phase.
  12. Wow. Just…Wow! http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=3789
  13. Always wondered why she starts at the bank. Now it makes sense.
  14. Yes for all of them. In many of our games, it's the only chance Amanda gets to use her ability.
  15. eiterorm said: Thanks for the clarification. Based on the wording on the sheet, my understanding was that she could not cancel a monster surge, only the monsters spawning at her location. It would seem I have to play even less strict now (in those, as Full Doom Track points out, very few situations when Kate has failed to close/seal a gate _and_ a mythos cards creates a monster surge at her location). The only time we've had Kate stop a monster surge, it wasn't because she had failed to close the gate; it was because she'd had an other world encounter that sent her back to Arkham early and had to wait until the next turn to attempt gate closure.
×
×
  • Create New...