Bigger issue with last nights game. Reaper may not teleport to the inner region (Offical FAQ). So Courtney would have won as she could have just spent all day in the tower exping.
its the same thing as the battle royale
end game card would trump it, so the reaper would take precedence.
FAQ was published after reaper and the ending was made.
the rules clearly state what happens with the werewolf
but the ending card says what you do, period, and that trumps it
so why should it be any different when a different ending contradicts a different rules mechanic
Problem is an FAQ is meant to clarify. and it clearly address the situation.
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp?eidm=29&esem=4 its in the FAQ download
ending card says "must send the reaper to visit any character in any region
it clearly states any region. the ending card, like in the other ruling, would trump any rules violation
so normally the fq applies, and if you roll a 1 and grim reaper bounces around on the 5, its not going where it can't go
but the ending says must, and any.
why would you not do what the ending says.
Because it has been erattaed
no it hasn't
i don't see an errata to the 'danse macabre' ending anywhere
Maybe worth a post on forum. But obviously I agreed that it makes sense for him to be able to go there given the ending.
what it should mean is that
if you are in the outer region
and i sent the reaper to you
and you roll a 5
the reaper cannot be sent back to me
because the reaper can't enter the middle region
but a character on the crown of command is encountering the ending
so while on the CoC the text says, you MUST, so the reaper would get sent out to anyone, even someone in the inner region
but if that person rolls a 5, he wouldnt be able to send it back to the CoC
No inner region is inner region
cant have cake and eat it too
warlock on fantasy flight disagrees
"I would stick to the Danse Macabre text. It says that only the Character on the Crown of Command cand send the Reaper to other Characters in any Region. The game shall come to an end and the Character that should be advantaged is the one on the Crown space, not his opponents.
Other Characters can lose Lives but the only result they fear is the 1 or 2 on the die. But still they have Fate to prevent death, so the Character on the Crown may have a hard time winning the game. If he also had to face the Reaper coming back to him it is going to be even harder. It might be better to wait for someone else to reach the Crown, and in the meantime to build a good Fate reserve and later send the Reaper back to him!
I am pretty sure the Character on the Crown can not be the target of the "There has been a mistake" result."
i agree with what he said
Even with the Danse Macabre, the Reaper can not go to the Inner region.
The Golden rule will not work now.
Somewhat clarified by John Goodenough in a mail
the character on the crown of command, like all other endings, should be at an advantage to the others. but byeond that, by normal rules the reaper can't enter the inner region, so the only way to contradict that is by trumping it with the end card text. danse says send it to any character any region, so once the character on the coc sends it out
Jon Goodenough is the game desiner
it wouldn't be able to come back
Cant get much higher than him
nobody posted what he said, and it was allegedly claimed in a private email
based on previous rulings with the battle royale
that is much higher than some forum posters
the text of the ending card trumps
The person who said he got the email is also a highly respected member of the community.
'somewhat clarified' doesnt answer anything
It would take than more than other forum posters
previous game ruling indicates that the ending card text
would be followed in the same fashion as battle royale
Battle royale is vauge
and the answer is that the ending card trumps normal rules
This has a specific rule that says you canot not do that.
and yet the ending card says
"if a character is on the crown of command and no other characters are present, he must send the grim reaper to visit any character in any region"
that's about as non vague as you can get.
MUST and ANY
a character who rolls 'there has been a mistake result' is not being instructed by an ending card to go to 'must or any'
and so they would have to abide by normal rules
a reaper can never be moved to the innter region, even with the there has been a mistake result
Its in FAQ. Battle Royal does not break any rules and is vauge in how it is to be executed
yes, and danse macabre is NOT vague
so by normal rules, any player who rolls a 5 CANNOT send the reaper to the middle
but it has a rule conflict with a higher rule source
while a charater on the CoC follows the text on the ending card
no it doesnt
FAQ and high forum poster says no
with guidance from game desiner
"A: The Reaper can never be moved into the Inner Region even with the "There has been a mistake" result."
THATS what goodenough said
so when someone rolls a 5
he cant send the reaper back to the crown of command
however when AT the crown of command, and encountering the ending card
the card says MUST send the reaper to ANY region
Crown of command is not a new region
of course it violates normal rules
no it is violating FAQ updated rules
its designed to
along with normal
yes because it is an ENDING CARD
with SPECIAL RULES
that says you MUST send the reaper to ANY character in ANY region
But FAQ was released after ending
yes, to address QUESTIONS
it is eratta
QUESTION can you send the reaper to the inner region with a 5 result. Answer NO YOU CANNOT
so putting those two together means
on the CoC you send the reaper out
and whoever gets it CANNOT send it back with the 5
but bot to someone in the inner region
because the card says MUST and ANY
it just cant be bounced back to anyone in the inner or CoC
because the bounce back is normal rules
but can not trumps those
CoC is end card
Of course it can
its the ending card
it tells you specifically exactly what you have to do
but FAQ clarifies ending card
no it doesnt
show me where it says DANSE MACABRE in the faq
you wont be able to, because it doesnt
SHow me where it says that DANSE MACABRE is specifically able to send it to someone in the inner region. As in it says "DANCSE MACABRE can send the reaper to any region including the inner region"
I can play that game too
on the card
where does it call out the inner region
it just says any
ANY = INNER
it says ANY region
It does not say it can voilate the rules.
it says specifically what to do
on the card itself
MUST send the reaper to visit ANY character in ANY region
OUTER region, MIDDLE region, INNER region
Well Velhart who is highly regarded says that you cant send it to inner. So Fourms say no.
YOU CANT send the reaper to the inner region
in normal game mechanics
that's in the rules
and is NOT disputed
The thread is talking about Danse
you linked me it
I am well aware, I read them all
The reaper cannot be sent into the inner region by normal rules mechanics
so you disagree with the thread then
i agree with a number of people who understand the game and have the same opinion, like warlock
you pick and choose who you lisen too in the thread
THE ENTIRE SITUATION IS FAIRLY SELF EVIDENT
THE CARD TELLS YOU WHAT TO DO
YOU FOLLOW THE ENDING CARD
NORMAL RULES STATE REAPER CANNOT GO INTO INNER REGION
SO WHEN THE CHARACTER ON THE COC SENDS THE REAPER OUT
IF THAT PERSON ROLLS A 5, THEY CANNOT SEND IT BACK BECAUSE THE RULES PREVENT THEM FROM DOING SO
HOWEVER THE CHARACTER ON THE CROWN OF COMMAND FOLLOWS THE TEXT OF THE ENDING CARD
I CAN TYPE IN ALL CAPS TOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CONVERSATION OVER, YOU ARE WRONG, AND THATS THE ANSWER
THINK ABOUT IT LOGICALLY
i OWN THE GAME
IM SURE YOU'LL EVENTUALLY UNDERSTAND
SO I AM RIGHT.
that's a retarded argument
BUT I CAN HAVE MY MIND CHANGE
SO IS THIS ONE!!!!
1: You follow the text on the ending card to the letter
2: You follow normal game rules.
3: If text on the ending violates normal game rules, it doesn't matter, because the ending card is telling you exactly what to do.
so following 1, the reaper must be sent to anyone anywhere.
doesnt matter if normal rules contradict it, the ending card says do it, you do it.
this is much simmplier
a person who rolls a 5 is not following the ending card, they're following normal game mechanics
so they cannot send it back to the center, because they are not instructed by the ending that they MUST do it
Can just make house rule. In that we played it right. Even though the FAQ does specifically say the reaper cannot enter the middle region as he is all ready there
we didnt play it right
because the reaper cannot be sent back to the crown of command on the there has been a mistake result
right according to the FAQ the reapper cannot enter the middle
FAQ > game card.
the faq does not address the game card
the faq covers normal rules
it address the character known as the reaper
which is what the game card is using.
and completely and unequivocably covers every rule regarding the reaper
however the end game card tells you SPECIFICALLY you MUST send it to ANY character in ANY region
so the character on the CoC sends the reaper out
If reaper can go to the inner region it can go to crown of command.
and whoever receives it, if tey roll a 5, cannot send the reaper back to the person on the CoC
because they are not allowed to by the rules
and are not being instructed by the ending card
because the only reason it cannot supposedly go to the inner region is because he is already there. Game ending breaks that piece. So every one can then do it.
because the only person encountering the crown of command card
is the person ON the crown of command
so the person ON the crown follows the instructions on the card
a person not on the crown follows normal game rules
The best you are going to get me to agree too is that when the ending is reveled it changes the reaper mechanic and allows him to enter inner region.
ONLY for the person on the crown
No Ending trumps normal game rules
says its my turn
and im on the crown of command
I ENCOUNTER the ending card
and follow the text
abiding by the text, when it reaches the part, MUST send the REAPER to ANY CHARCTER
then when person B is ANYWHERE else
and encountesr the reaper
they encounter THE GRIM REAPER
and rolling a 5, they cannot send it to someone in the inner region or the crown, as per the game rules outlined in the faq
Reaper card does not say he cannot enter inner. It is only additional rules that adds that.
correct. official rules clearly outlined in the faq
we will agree to disagree. Either the reaper ending changes all game rules or it does not.
that's an insane way of looking at it
the person encountering the ending card, follows the text
theres no reason to throw the rules out the window
you just do what the card says
CARD says MUST send the reaper to ANY character in ANY region
YOU FOLLOW THE CARD
but once joe schmo encounters the reaper
hes not following the specific non vague text on the ending card
so he cant just magically break the rules of the game
just because the rules were violated as a result of the instructions on the end game card previously encountered by the character on the crown of command
just because person A is specifically instructed to do something
doesn't mean everyone else can. They didn't encounter the cardo n the crown, they aren't obligated to MUST send it ANYWHERE, so there's no reason for them to be able to violate normal game rules
Nother thread http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=129&efcid=1&efidt=350324
Too late in the night to do digging around the forums, but IIRC, the official answer is that Reaper can't get to the Inner Region in any way, shape or form, including Dance Macabre ending.
i read it already
that person is making **** up
and misunderstanding the actual contents of the errata
which states what we already knew
which is that the grim reaper cannot enter the inner region or go to the crown of command
therefore when anyone anywhere rolls the 5 result
the reaper cannot be sent to the inner region or the crown, as per the rules
but the person encountering the end game card on the crown of command, follows what the card says
which is that he must send the reaper to anyone anywhere.