We had a bit of an interesting situation arise last night at the end of the session, I wanted to make a quick GM ruling but there were too many variables and conflicting thoughts that I ended the session with the view that I would send in a Dev question, however in the meantime (and until I can get home to look at my books for specific wording) I wanted to see what thoughts the collective might have on this situation:
So, the players have ended up having Elaiza from Jewel of Yavin join two of the party, whilst waiting for the player that actually stole the Gem to arrive at the current location (the group has two ships which always makes planning interesting). Anyway, they all got invited to attend a meeting with a Hutt to discuss the possible sale of the jewel, hear the story of how the jewel was stolen and to talk over a potential job offer. Elaiza was invited along and the party all came together at the relevant time.
The Rodian thief quickly hustled past Elaiza, who was aware that he had the Jewel. Elaiza rolled to see if she could keep the 'jewel lust' hidden but failed her cool role, the Rodian saw her change of demeanour, she saw him see this and in a bad choice reached for where her lightsabre normally hung on her hip. I called initiative and the Rodian went first; he drew both his pistols and opened fire (he has lots of the dual fighting gunslinger talents) scoring a solid hit with lots of advantage and a triumph. At this point the Wookiee Marauder who has come to like Elaiza activated his Unmatched Protection signature ability to protect his ally and stepped in to take the hit (I know that according to RAW and a previous Dev answer that this shouldn't be activated as an 'out of turn' incidental but lets ignore that for now!).
The problem arose with regards to how many hits can this ability protect the ally from? The wording of the ally protection bit of the sig ability references a single attack, so the Wookiee argued that this was a single attack. The Rodian has a talent that would allow hits to be allocated to multiple targets, lending credence to the argument that the Wookiee would take the first hit but the hit from the second gun could bypass the Wookiee and still hit Elaiza.
And thinking about it, the Rodian could choose not activate the second hit which leads me to believe that the second hit in theory does count as a second attack.
My immediate ruling was to say that the Wookiee took the first hit (at half damage) but that the Rodian could spend his triumph to have the additional hit to still strike Elaiza. This was then questioned by another player asking if it meant the Triumph was the same value as the two destiny points that were spent to activate the sig ability. It was late, I was tired, and it was at that point I decided to leave it unresolved as I ran out of energy.
Has this come up in anyone else's game or does anyone have any thoughts on how to interpret all of this?