So I think we ended up losing but the following scenario came up last night in our game.
The final mission was available and troops assigned to it. During the resolution phase the global and orbital defence went poorly with more than 2 continents falling into panic (a loss condition). However, the app does not ask for the continents status until you complete the mission phase of the resolution turn. During the mission phase we completed the final mission (win condition).
The next phase of the resolution turn asks for the continents panic levels. I input the levels and we lost.
Did we win or lose?
Clearly the app says we lost but why does it force you to play the mission step if you already know before that if you have lost or not?