Jump to content

Triu

Members
  • Content Count

    204
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

Everything posted by Triu

  1. Triu

    Line of sight

    After reading the rule book, but before having much chance to play, I had issues with some rules -- especially LOS. After having more chances to play through encounters & understanding that the game has a more abstract than realistic bent, I have come to accept the rules as written. I still don't like some of the design choices, but they play better than they read.
  2. You misread it. That is under Advanced Rules, not Campaign Rules (emphasis mine). Epic Play, page 19: "This optional rule is for players who wish to access high level Class, Shop Item, and Overlord cards outside of a campaign setting." Yes, if you acquired items by searching tokens, you can use the money from them to buy shop items.
  3. Steve-O said: That said, I would also be fine with playing the interpretation that Fire Breath and such can move directly through obstacles. There can't be an enemy figure in that space, but if you want to go through it, fine. Thematically, I can accept fire billowing around a boulder to burn something on the other side. That is making assumptions about the nature of the obstacle. On tile 7A, the obstacle terrain forms the "doorway". Allowing Fire Breath to go through obstacle terrain would allow you to circumvent a closed door. I think, for simplicity, obstacles are meant to be impassable for all purposes.
  4. Deathseed said: And one more monster question, this one we think we've already worked out via the FAQ, rulebook, and forum, but we'll restate it here for feedback. Flame Breath (and similar powers). As we understand things, it can trace its path around corners and through obstacles like boulders (but not doors) because LOS is irrelevant to it since it is not implicitly stated to require it and it's not actually moving in such a way that obstacles would impeded it. LOS isn't required, so you can shoot around corners, but I'm not sure about the obstacles … "When counting spaces for attacks and abilities, players ignore any non-obstacle terrain in those spaces"
  5. Durin-V said: At the moment there are some ideas to build a plugin for Microsoft Word or a stand alone programm. What would you prefer? A Word plugin would be nicefull but everybody needs Word. On the other Hand not everybody could be happy with a page layout which is fix. I'm happy with Vassal right now, but I use OpenOffice Writer at home rather than M$ Word. Could you do something for OOW instead? I am guessing that it might require expertise that you don't have, if it's even possible (although almost anything is possible with sufficient resources).
  6. Triu

    Reanimate activation question

    I agree with everyone else (so far), the Reanimate can activate the turn it is summoned. Essentially does not mean "it is essential" in this case. http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/909800/familiar-activation-question http://www.pegasuspublishing.com/English-Doesnt-Borrow-from-Other-Languages-Shirt-p-26671.html
  7. "Each time you perform an attack with either 1 Melee weapon with 2 hand icons or 2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each, you may exhaust this card to add 1 Surge to the results." It doesn't change how you attack, it can grant you a surge if you meet the requirements. If you have two melee weapons equipped, you still need to choose one for a given attack.
  8. Based on the "each time" I would agree that it can only be used once. Next time you are attacked you can use it again.
  9. You are probably going to get the same answers as on BGG: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/907580/please-clarify-this-for-me-berzerker-rage If you want an answer from FFG, I think you need to submit via the Rules Questions link at the bottom of the page: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_faq.asp I have rarely seen FFG respond to posts …
  10. Triu

    Thinking of buying but not sure…

    Not having any D1E background, I just assumed it was because monsters were meant to be generic & reusable across multiple quests -- and expansions -- and lieutenants were tied to the story line & were intended to only appear a limited number of times before being replaced in new campaigns. Creating a unique mold for a single figure would be relatively costly. They could have included generic figures in the box -- or red versions of the existing hero sculpts -- to use as proxies, but that would have been a different kind of disappointment for some people. I'm perfectly happy to use the tokens or figures from other sources. You could even use unused hero figures as proxies.
  11. Triu

    Question about revive

    mt77061 said: I saw this in the FAQs section and it made me scratch my head. All I could think was that the Knocked Out Hero just wanted to lay low until the Ruling Ring was destroyed in Mount Doom or something. Maybe the Eagles to rescue the dwarves from the burning trees on the edge of the cliff. If the choice is between missing a turn (not standing up) or missing a turn & giving the overlord a card (because you're just going to get knocked out again), the former seems preferable. In some circumstances it may be worthwhile because the OL is forced to use actions to knock you down again, but if your token is next to monster(s) blocking a hall and/or with nothing better to do anyway …
  12. The hero wearing the cloak has to be targeted … s/he can't cancel a surge against another target. Flail allows a monster to target two hero spaces. Blast is less clear because you target a single hero space, then it affects additional spaces. It has been argued that heroes in those spaces are not targeted, just affected. [it's tough to parry a grenade.]
  13. Heavy Cloak: "Exhaust this card after the dice are rolled to cancel 1 {Surge} on an attack that targets you." I believe it cancels the surge, not its effect(s). As far as I know, there is a single attack roll & all surges are spent once for all targets.
  14. Zwergenkrieger said: Same thing but different: Playing twice a "Unholy ritual" card during a turn, choosing the same monster, is not allowed, too? Is this a triggering condition, too? If yes, is there a definition for a "triggering condition"? Unholy Ritual: "Play this card at the start of your turn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equal to the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keep 1 card per hero and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less action during this turn." I believe the triggering condition is "at the start of your turn" & the target is "one of your monster groups", so you can't use it twice. FFG doesn't seem to be big on explicit definitions, at least in D2E …
  15. Dash: "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn. That monster may perform an additional move action this turn in addition to its normal 2 actions." My understanding is that the triggering condition is "when activating a monster" & the target is the Ettin, so you can't Dash it twice during the same activation. You could Dash another monster during the same turn.
  16. Triu

    Dark Fortune Reroll Question

    Steve-O said: … - the card doesn't say it has to be your die that gets re-rolled.) … the trigger for Dark Fortune is "play after dice are rolled" and even a re-roll is still a roll … You didn't quote the card exactly. You have to roll dice before you are allowed to reroll. Dark Fortune: "Play this card after you roll dice. You may reroll 1 die." I don't think you can reroll another player's dice -- you have to roll a die, before you can reroll that die. The Iron Longsword, Staff of Light/Shadows relic, Red Scorpion's heroic ability, and Skye familiar allow you to force an opponent to reroll their own dice. I do agree that you can play the card at any time before the combat is resolved & the game moves on, not just immediately after the initial roll.
  17. Triu

    Random Heroes

    Steve-O said: I'm not so sure that this follows logically from the random hero thing. Monsters can't be customized the same way heroes can, so forcing the OL to pick monsters at random for open groups could serious mess with his ability to put up a good fight versus the hero party he's arrayed against. The hero is stuck with the choice for the duration of the campaign; the OL only for a single encounter. I've heard complaints about CK monsters unbalancing some scenarios. Limiting the OL to a subset of all the monster choices also forces some variety. I haven't played this rule as OL, but it has been used in the BoardGameGeek PBF forum. Steve-O said: It also might get annoying having to separate out all the monster cards the OL is allowed to pick for each encounter so that he can draw randomly for his open groups. But like I said, I'd be willing to try it at least once. A spreadsheet, or one of the data sheets available in the BGG files section, are your friend. If you won't have a computer handy, just print out a reference sheet of monsters by trait, tuck it in the quest book, & use dice to pick a random selection for the OL to choose from.
  18. Triu

    Random Heroes

    Morthai said: best option is still draw 3 from your favorite archetype and select 1 to play. - leaves options in to compose a working team and is fun. If you are just playing with the base game, I wouldn't limit the hero choices. If you are playing with the conversion kit, then having the player choose an archetype and giving him 3 random choices can expedite the selection process. It can also foster more variety in hero choices, rather than always picking a favorite and/or the best heroes. If doing so, I think it's only fair to put the Overlord under the same constraint with open groups.
  19. Triu

    Answers from Adam Sadler

    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds …" - Ralph Waldo Emerson [& FFG] FFG doesn't seem to be hung up on this whole precision and consistency thing. It's more "do what I mean, not what I say." They seem to be much better with hardware (components) than software (rules). Of course they are also under the handicap of using (American) English. "English doesn’t borrow from other languages. English follows other languages down dark alleys, knocks them over, and rummages through their pockets for loose grammar."
  20. Is it just me, or did someone break the thread formatting? Natty doesn't seem to be interested in a discussion or a debate. He's upset about the decisions FFG made for the Descent product line and he's here to vent. I don't know if he has already written to FFG or posted in the D1E forums … maybe there's more of an audience here. Troll or Ogre, he has some valid points, just doesn't express them very congenially. I would agree that D1E sounds like a better dungeon crawl (and time sink) than D2E. I haven't played it, but I have played other games in the genre. FFG made a decision to take a different tack with the 2nd edition, probably based on customer feedback (or just the designer's whim). That decision is popular with some people -- either those who provided the feedback or are new to the game -- and unpopular with those who were happy with the original & would have just preferred continued support. No point debating with a zealot. Once D2E has a few expansions, maybe opinions will change, and eventually when D3E comes out maybe we can all be unhappy together.
  21. Triu

    Leoric Heroic feat

    A two-handed magical staff that blasts foes is okay by me whether it looks like a walking stick, a quarterstaff, a scythe, a grave digger's shovel, a blunderbuss, or a Goa'uld Ma'Tok. A scythe is not the best melee weapon. It's a farming tool sometimes converted to serve as a peasant militia weapon. There are some decent European & Oriental martial variants in the [pseudo-] medieval armory. The pole-arms generally don’t look much like the stereotypical reaper’s scythe.
  22. Triu

    Leoric Heroic feat

    Sausageman said: Triu said: "Magic, Staff" … If that's the answer to explain it, then why not make it a rod or wand of some description, and save the scythe for a melee character? And I don't like to talk about reflux, it's been my bedfellow for years… 'cause it's a Necro-reaper … Ditto. I sleep in a recliner a lot. Craftmatic Adjustable Bed is too expensive.
  23. Steve-O said: Apparently fire only burns your friends, not your enemies. =P Probably to prevent a player from using a flaming figure as a "fire ship", charging into a crowd of opponents & damaging them all without any chance to evade or mitigate the damage. The intent is for it to be a harmful condition, not an offensive ability. Serendipity … I was just reading earlier about a D&D adventure where a character acquired a potion of fire resistance & some greek fire (napalm), and combined them to ignite himself & charge into a mob of orcs -- human fireball!
  24. Scoovex said: Robin, don't know, maybe only apply the pierce so it takes off the first shields and then assume the blast has a reduced effect on the remaining mobs. The surge effects only affect the target of the attack, not other figures "affected by the attack." Interesting idea, and somewhat in keeping with those that argue that you can't use defensive abilities unless you are the original target …
  25. Triu

    Leoric Heroic feat

    "Magic, Staff" … how does a dragon breath fire without the worst case of reflux? Pass the Prilosec .
×