Jump to content

ffaristocrat

Members
  • Content Count

    54
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About ffaristocrat

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , 0, United States
  1. Appears to be a rethemed version of Bauhaus by the same designers.
  2. I could see a Neutral runner faction with identities centered around the various political factions in the setting. If they do decide to make a new Runner faction, it'll be in the fourth deluxe expansion set and that won't be for a couple years.
  3. Custom Biotics means HB will be able to splash Scorched Earth x 3, Data Raven x 3 and SEA Source x 2. Dangerous days ahead for runners everywhere…
  4. offline-gaming said: When you access a remote server, the rules state clearly you access all of them. There is a side section discussiong accessing multiple cards, which states to resolve them one at a time. These rules seem to contradict. And there are no examples mentioned refering to a Remote Server I was curious… When accessing a remote server, do you reveal all the cards and choose which to resolve first? After you've gained Access to ALL cards. In a game where I had only three credits I accessed a remote server where a Melange Mine and an Ash were both unrezzed. I looked at both and trashed Ash. Its been suggested that I should not have been able to see both cards. Instead, I pick one at random (my choice) and make a decision there to trash or not. If I picked up Melange first and chose to trash it, I wouldn't have enough to trash Ash. You access all of the cards but resolve them one at a time. That means dealing with the trigger effects of accessing them (ambushes), deciding whether to trash them and/or scoring an agenda (and potentially winning the game right there). Once you've complete all of that for a card, you move on and access the next card. You don't see a card until you access it. If all the cards are facedown, you won't know which are which until you look at each of them. So yes, you played it wrong.
  5. Deep Thought is likely a reprint of the same from classic that allowed you to look at the top card of R&D once it was built up to three counters. Corporate War is a drastically toned down reprint from the original which was 3/3 and worked at 12 credits. Fairie is probably a reprint of Wild Card. Dedicated Response Team is a reworking of an Upgrade-Ambush that did 3 meat damage on access if the runner was tagged.
  6. tallmike101 said: Well, we've definitely been playing the game wrong. I assumed it worked like Magic the gathering and every other card game I've ever played. This is probably the biggest mistake players from other games make. Netrunner doesn't work like Magic. They're designed by the same guy but Garfield went out of his way to make Netrunner as unlike Magic as possible. Throw out everything you think you know and re-read the rulebook with a clean slate. It will make a BIG difference for you.
  7. Yes. There's no reason you wouldn't be able to.
  8. Cypsis can break any kind of ice. Obviously that's the foremost advantage. But it's so expensive to use, right? Well, not quite. It's usually only a credit more expensive than the best dedicated icebreakers while frequently being better than the non-best ones. In a few cases, it's tied for best icebreaker, notably against two of the most played/feared ice: Rototurret and Archer. The click priming may seem like a high cost, but think about all the effort you have to expend drawing, installing and paying for a full suite of ice breakers along with the memory to support a program suite - it'll likely require at least 8 clicks, probably several more in practice. Eventually, Crypsis will end up being more expensive click-wise but that's a small price for being able to break any ice right away. Finally, as a virus, Crypsis has great synergies with Anarchs. Djinn can find it, Cyberfeeder can pay for part of its install, Grimoire will give it a counter, Noise will trash a card because of it and Deja Vu can dig it out of the trash along with another virus. There are strong Anarch decks that only use Crypsis as their icebreaker. You might want to step back and see if your local meta has subjected itself to group think on this.
  9. Kati is comparable to Magnun Opus efficiency wise if you pump it up a few times before emptying. The more you add to it before cashing out, the better the efficiency rate. It doesn't require memory or influence so it's a good economic option for everyone. However, as a resource, it can be trashed by the corp if you get tagged so there's an element of risk there.
  10. Folks at BGG used Challonge to run their tournament on OCTGN a couple months ago. It apparently wasn't without its quirks but it might be worth looking into.
  11. You can only overwrite it when installing a new card in the server. Ditto for the Runner. She can only trash programs when installing a new program and trashing hardware or resources requires a card effect to do so. So, if Kate gets tired of going to Wyldside, too bad.
  12. Your logic is sound - it doesn't matter how the strength is reduced to zero, it still triggers Parasite. Ice trashing is a big Anarch strategy, especially when bringing Forged Activation Orders from Criminals. However, Parasite can only be installed on a rezzed piece of ice. Furthermore, if the ice is later derezzed, Parasite won't trigger until it's rezzed again because unrezzed (and thus inactive) ice doesn't have strength.
  13. BigBadBroloski said: "Plenty" as in what 5? out of 40 new ones? In wow tcg (in the old days when I played it) there was a sneak preview every 3 days starting one month prior to the release of new set. True, there were about 100 new cards, but still. It was like Xmas, running home (there was much less mobile internet in that time) to read the new spoiler. I miss that feeling, and I think that this game would benefit greatly from such a thing. They spoiled 7 out of 20 cards for What Lies Ahead - Whizzard, Cortez Chip, Stronger Together, Mandatory Upgrades, Ash, Caduceus and Draco.
  14. The rumors are true - the game night kits will have alternate art cards for Melange Mining Corp and Crypsis.
  15. Step 2.3 (from the FAQ) says the Corp has the opportunity to rez any non-ice cards, use paid abilities and rez the ice being approached. TMI says the trace happens when the card is rezzed so that's when you do it, not at a later step in the flowchart. Regardless of the outcome of the trace, you then return to the window of opportunity in Step 2.3 to rez cards and use paid abilities. There's nothing in the flowchart or the rules to indicate you can't rez a card that's been derezzed. Take for example this non-controversial sequence: The Runner approaches the ice and play proceeds to step 2.3. The Corp rezzes Akitaro Watanabe. The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, Rototurrent. The Corp rezzes Corporate Troubleshooter. The Corp trashes Corporate Troubleshooter to activate its paid ability to boost the strength of the ice. The Corp indicates they're done and play proceeds to Step 2.4 where it has players check to see if the ice is rezzed or not. Then take this example sequence: The Runner approaches the ice and play proceeds to step 2.3. The Corp rezzes Akitaro Watanabe. The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, TMI. This sets off a triggered ability on TMI causing a trace to be conducted. The trace is unsuccessful and TMI is derezzed as a result. The Corp rezzes (at reduced cost) the ice being approached, TMI. This sets off a triggered ability on TMI causing a trace to be conducted. The trace is successful and nothing happens as a result. The Corp rezzes Corporate Troubleshooter. The Corp trashes Corporate Troubleshooter to activate its paid ability to boost the strength of the ice. The Corp indicates they're done and play proceeds to Step 2.4 where it has players check to see if the ice is rezzed or not. Why would the second sequence be invalid when the first is not? That said, this is a question myself and others have submitted to FFG for a ruling because it can cause some interesting situations in the right circumstances. (Cost to rez TMI reduced to 0 and a Runner with a base link of 2.)
×
×
  • Create New...