lucaster

Members
  • Content count

    21
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About lucaster

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , BG, Italy
  1. This reminds me of that quest from Shadow of Nerekhall where Mirklace must be placed on the board during one of the heroes' activations, only to be slayed by them in two hero turns, without the OL even having the chance to activate him once. Let alone playing chess.
  2. @KronikAlkoholik my experience is pretty much in line with yours. It is as if the human Overlord player were actually a surrogate for an artificiall intelligence that was never made. If you assume this, all the unbalances make sense .
  3. Some abilities, effects and skills in games are referred to as"situational" exactly because they require a specific situation to be used in. Oath of Honor is a situational ability. We can clearly see that the situation described by OP is unfit for Oath of Honor, so why the obstinacy? The Quest Guide specifically states how to treat Reinforcements when spaces are blocked. Instead, (unofficial) rulings on the tone of "in general, when X, then Y" should be taken like grain of sault, because they are issued without pondering enough about specific instances or combinations nor future expansions, and may lead to nonsensical applications (hint: Counting through Spaces + Oath of Honor + Portcullis).
  4. I find much of the reasong and lawyering in this thread to be a bit far-fetched. You're going out of your way to shoehorn an ability in a situation at all costs, without first asking yourself whether the conditions that allow the ability to be applied subsist in the first place... or whether the thing you'r trying to do makes sense thematically. The Pathfinder ACG has a nice rule that helps in situations such this: "Cards do what they say. Cards don't do what they don't say". It'd be useful to take inspiration from that sometimes. We want to perform the ability with sequencial application? Well, the second step of the sequence cannot be performed. Had there been another Hero in place of the Goblin Archer, it would have been the same: no empty spaces adjacent to the Ynfernael Hulk -> no deal.
  5. What about this: since there are no empty spaces adjacent to the Ynfernael Hulk, Oath of Honor cannot be used with that monster. Pick the Goblin next to the Reanimate instead.
  6. My group played this quest recently. The quest description doesn't say that a bucket can only be used once. Consequently, although thematically it doesn't make much sense, we allowed the heroes to use the same bucket more than once. The encounter did turn out balanced enough, with the heroes dousing half the flames.
  7. Thanks! I couldn't find any use for that card otherwise.
  8. How many times have you played each campaign? If your OL is systematically in trouble and the heroes are steamrolling so much they are even getting bored, try the following: win or lose, the OL gains 2XP in Shadow of Nerekhall, if the OL loses the quest, he may exchange 1XP for the quest's reward Changeling card
  9. @ATM2100 Heirs of Blood campaign book (highest content/price ratio) Shadow Of Nerekhall (well-balanced, high content/price ratio) Bonds Of The Wild (Kobolds!)
  10. Can you point us to the official ruling your statement is based on? I would also reiterate what I said on the Discord channel: The Staff of Grayhaven card reads: "After making an attack roll, you may..." which implies that - at least in this case - "you" refers to the player that makes the attack roll. On top of that, OL can use "[Surge]: +2 Range", which is a weapon ability and surges may be spent; by analogy, the OL can use the Staff of Greyhaven's other abilty as well.
  11. But we are talking about a weapon ability, not a hero ability,
  12. That's true, and it has also been stated by FFG staff. However, in this scenario, the square in which the hero would be placed is not even "within X spaces".
  13. Hello, last night my group played the Rat-Thing King quest from Shadow of Nerekhall and the knight hero basically broke Encounter 2 by teleporting across the portcullis with Oath Of Honor. I know one is allowed to count spaces through the portcullis, but that wasn't the case. In our instance, the knight and the target hero were on one side of the portcullis and the monster was on the other side. Given a situation like that in the picture, can the Knight use Oath Of Honor to "teleport" beyond the portcullis, next to the zombie (or even a Merriod)? Thanks!
  14. Thank you for your replies! It's good to hear that, because the way we played the encounter actually favored the heroes significantly. I had understood that only these could be treated as black edge of a map tile (tile != space): -- Luca
  15. Hello forum! Last night my group played the Local Politics quest, I was the overlod. A couple of aspects of encounter 2 had us a bit confused and I'd ike to know what you guys think about them. 1. Is passage blocked in tile 55A? Tile 55A looks like an old prison. It depicts the cells walls; the door to one cell is still intact. The cell door has the red dotted elevation line on it (despite it's hard to notice it in this picture ): We spent some time figuring out whether a figure could move between the two squares marked by the arrow, because that would make a great difference in regard to the encounter's goals. My hero players and me personally agreed that it couldn't. However, the manual says: If we abide to the manual's wording, since the cell wall is not the black edge of a map tile, it is still possible to move between the two cells. We ended up following the manual and allow the movement. Nonetheless, we still think that the manual's rule didn't make sense in that specific circumstance - maybe it flew under the author's radar..? What do you think? How did your group handle this? 2. Can magistrates move only 2 squares maximum? Quest rules say: Let's suppose that, at the end of the OL's turn, a monster is adjacent to a magistrate. The OL moves the magistrate 2 squares. The magistrate ends up in a square that is adjacent to the same monster (or even another monster). Can the OL move the magistrate 2 more squares? We ended up limiting the magistrate movement to 2 spaces maximum. That are your thoughts about this? Thanks!