Jump to content

morenachos

Members
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About morenachos

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
  1. If one lands on a planet onto a specific area, but the planet has two areas to land on, can one then launch away from the planet from a different point of entry. ...or, are you bound to launch away from the same point of entry? Thanks in advance.
  2. Unless you are a diehard completionist - then it's not too late. Why not just get the base game and see how you like it. If you do, then you can add some expansions over time.
  3. Not sure how this was not bigger news in the SW community, but here's something to know... Jason Wingreen ... Voice of Boba Fett in 'Star Wars,' Dies at 95http://deathbeeper.com/1708402.html
  4. First off, I am a huge Star Wars fan and I really enjoy this game. I see that so far the packs and expansions are mainly centered on canon films (Ep IV, V, VI) and seemingly some novels. I am wondering what the chances are that the games will begin including characters, locations and situations from the prequels and then, eventually, Episode VII and beyond. Now, please don't make this a long chain of Jar Jar hate - I get it. No one likes Jar Jar. However, there are many other things that the game can pull from, adding to the game. Thoughts?
  5. Are the three SW RPGs from FFG cross-compatible in the way that you could possibly have a rebel, a smuggler and a Jedi (and maybe a PC droid) all in the same adventuring party? You know, like the heroes from Ep4. ...or is each ruleset in-and-of-itself a different game? Seems like they all use the same dice mechanic. What's daunting to me is the idea of having to purchase three MASSIVE rulebooks, read all of each and then remember that the rules for Don's character is in this book, but Christine's character is in that book and Steve's character is in the other book. Thoughts? Thanks, mtfbwy.
  6. I disagree. The WEG Star Wars RPG was great, IMO. Never played the WotC version.
  7. Wondering if anyone knows of a store which hosts this game in the Los Angeles area. Thanks in advance.
  8. Fnoffen said: Kallabecca said: morenachos said: Thanks for the reply. As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this… The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have. One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis. For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology". When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites). So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism? I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator. *hurumph* So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism. Oh my… I hope that makes sense. Thanks again in advance. No doubt, more questions coming… If Hyper Metabolism only lists Gen Synthesis as its prerequisite, then no, you don't need to go back and get the prerequisites of the prerequisite. Correct. The prerequisite of any tech are those, and only those, listed on the tech card in question, if any. However, the Nekro Virus cannot gain ANY technology by way of the Tech Strategy Card as is written on their Race Sheet. Unless they first play the Action Card with the name Cultural Crisis (if memory serves) on themselves. Ok, then in that case, if the Nekro Virus player wants to have the tech "Cybernetics", then even though it's one step before something he already has because of his race card - he'd actually need to go all the way back to the top and work down to get it. That makes sense - but what a great advantage to start with techs which normally require something before it. That's like starting a foot race already 100 feet ahead of your opponent.
  9. Fnoffen said: 3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool. That I get. So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right? Correct. However, you should always keep an eye on your Fleet Supply before you build. Also, you shoud always remember that you are not allowed to move ships out of an already activated system. Thus, it is almost always prudent to first move the ships in your home system away before building there as otherwise; A: you won't be able to build as much; and B: you won't be able to use any ships, or other units, left in it when you're finished building. (unless, of course, you happen to have the Warfare Strategy Card or the Action Card that mimics that Strategy Card's Primary effect) Yup. That makes sense.
  10. Thanks for the reply. As I mock-played through a round this evening, I came across this… The Nekro Virus (and perhaps other races) starts with two Technologies which actually themselves require other Tech Prerequisites - of which they do not have. One of the, for example, is the Gen Synthesis. For this race, I happened to pick Strategy Card 7, "Technology". When I activated the Primary Ability, it says I can take a Tech Advance (for something I have the prerequisites). So, I have Gen Synthesis… can I take Hyper Metabolism? I feel like this answer should be no, because to have Gen Synthesis normally, one would need Cybernetics…which needs either Antimass Deflectors or Stais Capsuals…which needs the Enviro Compensator. *hurumph* So, Do I need to 'go back' and get Enviro Compensator or Antimass Deflectors in order to fill that tech track up to then eventually have everything to get the Hyper Metabolism. Oh my… I hope that makes sense. Thanks again in advance. No doubt, more questions coming…
  11. I will say that I love the big box. As Mattr0polis said, it happens with people I know too - I point at that box and say, "…but if you ever want to play the most complex epic game ever - we can crack that box open." My vote is to keep the box, and for the record - I hope a 4th Edition does not get 'dumbed' down. This is an epic and complex game - and that's that. I am all for another expansion to 3rd Edition, however. Yes. Please. Thank you.
  12. My fellow Speakers, I have only played TI once before and I don't think the guy running it had much of a clue. Recently, I got ahold of the game for myself and have set it up in an attempt to learn it on my own, so I can teach it to others. On a side note, I really enjoy massive, epic, complex games - which TI is at the top of the list. Anywho, on with my questions. I did search the forums and the multiple FAQs, but nothing helped. I appreciate your assistance as I crawl through the mound of rules. 1. The rulebook states in step 11 of the set-up, that all players start with 3 Command Counters in the Fleet Supply. The Fleet supply dictates how big a fleet can be in any given system. However, on round one some of the races are in violation already. For example, The Nekro Virus starts with 1 Space Dock, 2 Cruisers and a Carrier as ships. That's four. Do Space Docks count as a "ship"? If so, how does this work? 2. During the Status Phase, each player receives 2 Command Tokens. Is he allowed to put BOTH in the same Area? …or does this not really matter because the very next step allows you to 'reorganize' the counters…? 3. In order to do ANYTHING in a given system, I need to 'activate' it using a Command Counter from the Command Pool. That I get. So, just to ensure I am understanding this - when it's the first turn and I know I want to build something in my home system - I need to spend a Command Counter there to activate the system to then build… right? 4. Being that Mercenaries (SotT) count as part of your fleet limit, is it best to let them float around space on their own so you collect their benefit - or are they better to have with your fleet because of their Evasion tactic? I am trying to figure out how best to use them. That's it for now. Again, I appreciate your help in advance. Thank you.
  13. Lucky. i have trouble finding 3 people to play. I am looking forward to a game convention or something like it to attract a few new players. I really enjoy the game mechanics, but it's overwhelming for most of my friends. They are clearly lame.
×
×
  • Create New...