Jump to content

Osbo25

Members
  • Content Count

    306
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Osbo25

  1. To be honest, I had this exact same thought after I posted my previous response. But I was too lazy to go back and change it. This is the correct answer.
  2. Soul Shatter can only be cast as part of Psychic Combat. It cannot be cast otherwise. Even though it is cast before the combat roll, it is still part of the overall combat. Therefore Fiery Retribution may be cast. Both characters were killed.
  3. It's amazing how many cards conflict with each other. Today I had the Vagabond (turn ends with a movement roll of 1) and the World Eater Box (with a movement roll of 1 place a random terrain card on your space and encounter it). What happens when you roll a 1? As to your specific situation,m I would think that the path overrules everything else.
  4. My seven-year old's reading ability has progressed to the point that she can read Talisman cards. My wife and I always told her that once she could read the cards she could play Talisman. We have an extra copy of the base game. We'll be breaking that out soon so that she can start experiencing the game first-hand. She already hangs around and watches everything whenever we have friends over to play. My brother first introduced me to the game (2nd Edition) when I was about her age. I am proud to be passing on the love of the game to the next generation.
  5. Then what's the point of the inner region? Why not just make it so you have to go through the Portal of Power to get to the Crown? I don't see this as being a "die hard Talisman fan" issue. It fundamentally changes the game. The game is called "Talisman," and yet all of these different options for getting to the CoC completely negate the need to have a Talisman. Every other aspect of all of the expansions adds something to the game. This aspect takes something away from the game. That's not what expansions are supposed to do.
  6. It seems to me that there is something else that lets you increase your spell limit also, but I can't recall what that is right now. Having the Genie or the Spellstone or anything else that gives you extra spells that don't count toward your limit would be a more likely scenario.
  7. Osbo25

    +296 Modifier

    I did get a little worried when I drew the Dragon Toad, but alas, I survived. (I should have uploaded the image with the first post.)
  8. Osbo25

    +296 Modifier

    I pulled off a +296 modifier the other day. I was the Dragon Rider. Due to a glitch in the Digital Edition I couldn't get through the Portal of Power. (No, I didn't have a Warlock Quest.) I had to keep running around until I could change the terrain on the Portal. In my running around I collected 37 dragon scales. I also had the Dragon Amulet (all scales match your opponent) and the Dragon Talon (all scales add 2). I then encountered four enemies on a single space in the Dragon Tower. 37 * 2 * 4 = 296
  9. The spell Marked for Glory works with the event Lottery, right? I mean, you could theoretically wind up with 12 gold, right? I can't think of any reason why not. It's like hitting the multiplier with the Powerball. But let's go really big. You have the Totem Staff from the Dungeon, which lets you hold one more spell than your max, giving you four spells. You cast Marked for Glory, then Spell Call, then Marked for Glory. When you cast Marked for Glory the second time you use the Scribe to discard your fourth spell, and then you cast Marked for Glory a third time. That's a total of four spells cast, which you can do because that's how many you started the round with. And then you use the Gift of the Wild quest reward to add an additional three to your total. By my calculations, you could roll a base 6, add 6 three times (or 18), and then add another three. That's a roll of 27 from a 1d6. And, heck, if you're the Gambler you could reduce the odds and increase the total still more by however many fate you have. Am I wrong on this? It seems excessive, but, again, I can't think of any reason why this wouldn't be permissible.
  10. 1) NO TELEPORTING TO THE CROWN OF COMMAND. It bugs me that there are so many ways to get to the Crown of Command without actually engaging the inner region: defeat the Lord of Darkness with +8, Arnkell, Dragonspire or Great Portal, etc. The inner region is a fundamental part of the game. Under no circumstances should it be permissible to teleport straight to the place where you can win just by landing there! 2) DRAGON TOKENS MAY ONLY BE USED ONCE, AFTER WHICH THEY ARE DISCARDED. It is far too easy to become far too powerful by collecting dragon tokens. Add in Dragon Talon and/or Dragon Amulet, and you become nigh unstoppable against Dragon decks, which leads to rapid and unfettered building of your stats. As such, if you use a dragon token in battle or psychic combat, you must discard it. One use only! There. I've said my piece. Now, fire away and tell me how wrong I am.
  11. Yes, this is already a rule. Core Rule Book, page 13, section "Casting Spells," third paragraph. My wife and I play it where you can only use a dragon scale once, at which point you have to return it to the draw pile. Dragon Scales may also be alchemized for 3g each (same as Alchemist alchemizing magic objects), thus giving them additional value/usage.
  12. He would gain one fate, as it is an act of replenishing.
  13. Osbo25

    Talisman Speedrun

    Here's another way to get a one-turn win: Character: Sprite or Leprechaun (starting space: Forest; starts with 2 spells) Spells: Toadify and Marked for Glory (Bolster would also work, but would require a 6 roll) Movement roll: 3, 4, or 5 -- Move into the Dungeon Draw: Secret Passage -- Roll a 6, Teleport to Treasure Chamber Engage Lord of Darkness in Battle Cast Toadify -- Roll a 4, 5, or 6 Cast Bolster -- Roll a 2 or better with the Lephrechaun; roll a 3 or better with the Sprite, add 6 (for a total of 10 or better) Lord of Darkness rolls a 1, resulting in beating him by a score of 8 or better (If the Time Card is in play, roll a 1 or better for the Leprechaun or a 2 or better with the Sprite.) Teleport to Crown of Command
  14. when using lucky charm for rolling two dice, can I roll one die and then decide on the other? Bludgeon is correct. You use the charm before you make the roll. So you could use the charm to make one die a 6 (or whatever you want) and then hope you get the result you want with the other die. What you may do, however, is roll both dice, spend a fate to reroll one of them, and then use the charm to determine what that result will be. also, can dark fate be used on a die roll determined by lucky charm? I agree with Bludgeon on this one. Here are the wordings in question: Lucky Charm: You may discard the Charm when you are about to make a die roll. You choose which result on the die to use instead of rolling it. Dark Fate: A player may only spend dark fate to reroll a die that another character just rolled. (page 8, The Woodland Expansion rule book) The Lucky Charm explicitly states that a die result is chosen INSTEAD OF ROLLING IT. This means that there was no die roll. According to the rule book, Fate (either light or dark) may only be spent when there has been a die roll. This is different than, say, the spell Marked for Glory, which allows you to "add up to 6 to the result of the die roll." In that instance someone could still spend dark fate to make you reroll, even though you can still adjust the outcome due to the spell.
  15. I would turn you, your mother, and the Riding Horse your mother rode in on into a toad without thinking twice. Then I'd dig the heel of my boot into your stupid warty face. But for the sake of civility, no, I wouldn't reveal your spells to the other players, even if I did know what they were.
  16. There is nothing in the rules that explicitly prohibits it. Whatever knowledge she has she is free to share. In the spirit of civility, though, I think it's something that is generally frowned upon.
  17. Your spell needed to be cast before he rolled the die. (I'm assuming you were going to cast Misfortune.) You cannot cast that spell after he has rolled the die, even if the die is still moving. It must be cast BEFORE the die roll. And since you cannot cast Misfortune to force your opponent to reroll his die (despite what the Digital Edition allows you to do) his action takes precedent because his is the only legal action according to the rules. But then again also, if he has the ability to CHANGE the die roll (not reroll it) he can change that 1 into a 6. Misfortune only causes a person to roll a 1 which cannot be rerolled. It says nothing about changing the die roll or adding to it. So either way, in the end his action would have prevailed.
  18. The availability of powerful followers, items, strangers, and places is greatly increased in the corners. Yes, those things exist in the main adventure deck, too, but with the main adventure deck being so big (especially with more and more little expansions added into it) it becomes harder and harder to find those good things in the main deck. For example, I can't remember the last time the Rune Sword was found in one of my live games. The deck is just too big. Of course, with the increased availability of powerful cards that can help you also comes an array of powerful enemies. This is the whole concept of risk vs. reward. I have actually found that players in my games tend to flee the outer region almost immediately, heading for either the Highlands or the Woodlands almost right off the bat. In fact, I have implemented an alternate rule for the Dungeon to be in play also for the Highlands and Woodlands: namely, that you may only travel in one direction in those corners. That is, if, at any point, you turn back, you must go all the way back out before proceeding forward again. This discourages players from just spending all of their time in one expansion. (I also came up with a set of house rules limiting when people may go into the corners, but it's difficult to keep track of.) So I guess what you are experiencing is not the same as other players. It's one of the unique aspects of YOUR games that makes YOUR games unique and special. Play more often and keep letting things work themselves out. I bet you will find your play will change over time, especially if you get adventuresome and decide to do some exploring on your own.
  19. Does anyone need the base game? I picked up the last copy at the local game store.
  20. One very minor house rule that we play with is that if you land on the Reaper/Werewolf/Harbinger then you have to encounter them before encountering the space. It adds to the dilemma of having to choose between encountering them or encountering a space that you don't want to encounter, plus it increases the number of interactions with those NPCs. (It also makes up for the times when we forget to move them.)
  21. My experience has been that when the corners are in play the main board largely gets ignored. I tried a house rule that delayed players' abilities to enter into the corners, but I find house rules to be cumbersome. However, since we introduced the Cataclysm board we have seen more play in the main area. What has seemed to work best in this regard is actually to run two games simultaneously. Click on the link for details, if you're interested. When we've done this it has caused players to want to spend more time in the main game board, though they still spend a significant amount of time in the corners. One other tactic that seemed to help was to invoke the "Fight or Flight" alternate rule from the Dungeon expansion, except to apply it to all corner regions. That is, you may only move forward. If, at any time, you choose to move backwards, you most go back at least to the corner entrance before proceeding forward again. This caused players to spend less time bouncing back and forth within a single corner expansion, and it seemed to work well.
  22. Thanks. That's the answer I was looking for. There are so many blasted rules to try to keep track of with all of the expansions.
  23. Item: Pipboy Utilizing V.A.T.S., add up to three to your attack roll in both battle and psychic combat. Follower: Dogmeat Your loyal companion adds two to your attack roll in both battle and psychic combat. Item: Potion: Nuka-Cola Heal your life up to your life value and gain a +2 strength bonus for two rounds. Oh, so many options.
  24. Here's what I have come up with in this regard: Maps are set up lengthwise across two long tables. (I actually have the tables to do this, which is what helped to formulate this idea.) The City and Highlands expansions are placed on one map (probably the main game board). The Dungeon and Woodlands expansions are placed on the other map (probably the Cataclysm). If I can get a picture of this I will get it posted. At the start of the game two endings are drawn. One of them is the Horrible Black Void. The other is one of the endings that is a creature that must be defeated. One ending is randomly placed on one board and the other ending is placed on the other board. No one is to know which ending is which. One Adventure Deck is used for both boards. Anything that would teleport you to one of the corner expansions works from either board. So if the Dungeon is attached to the Cataclysm board but you draw the Trap Door on the main board, you are still teleported to the Dungeon, even though it's on the other board. Permanent Rune Gates on the Runes spaces in the middle regions of both maps. Players who land on these must still draw a card, which they must encounter according to the usual sequence of encounters. If they encounter the Rune Gate then they can teleport to any other Rune Gate on their next turn, like normal, including any Rune Gate on the other map. Again, these Rune Gates are permanent, so they do not go to the discard pile after usage. Rune Gates that are drawn from the Adventure Decks are still discarded after use. Once a player crosses through the Portal of Power all Rune Gates are frozen and may not be used. If that player comes back out again then all Rune Gates become active again. If a player makes it to the Crown of Command and the Horrible Black Void is the alternate ending, that entire board and all characters on it are sucked into oblivion and lose the game. If a player makes it to the Crown of Command and it is the creature, all characters on the other board had better hope that he gets defeated. If the character is defeated then all Rune Gates become active again, and players may retreat from the board that has the Horrible Black Void.
  25. I don't have a Highland gem card in front of me, but we came across this issue playing a couple of days ago. The gem card says something like, "You may exchange this card for 1/2/3/4 gold if you visit the Alchemist in the City." Obviously, with the Cataclysm board there is no longer a fixed/permanent Alchemist in the City. He's now a Denizen that can pop anywhere Denizens can be drawn, and (if memory serves) he can actually remain in locations other than the City. So if a character has gems and visits the Alchemist denizen, can he still trade them for 1/2/3/4 gold? The answer that our group came up with was that if the Alchemist denizen is on the City space, then you can (per the explicit writing on the card). However, if you encounter the Alchemist denizen anywhere else then you can only exchange them for 1 gold, similar to alchemizing any other object. Has anyone else run across this or thought about it?
×
×
  • Create New...