GrandSpleen

Members
  • Content count

    2,769
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About GrandSpleen

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Washington State, United States
  1. Happy that design space has opened up now that Hama's day is done. The more I ruminate on each of these, the less I'm bothered. Pleased with many of the errata.
  2. Caldara's just an aggro hero now. That's fine by me. You can still get a turn 1 Sword-Thained Emery (get 1 resource per Arwen's ability to pay for Sword-thain) and end round 1 planning phase with Caldara in discard, spirit Imrahil on the table and in hero status (so, 4 heroes) plus 2 additional spirit allies also on the table for free. Honestly, if you think Caldara is no longer powerful.... She's a little more like Galdor now. And spirit Denethor. Aiming to get you set up early. Biggest impact in the first rounds of the game. Set up, get ahead of the encounter deck, and stay there. edit: in fact, resurrection now seems like an optional include in a Caldara deck. If you're getting Imrahil in return and you're already using Sword-thain, you've got 4 heroes on the table, plenty of resources. Fortune or Fate doesn't really do much for you other than bringing back Caldara's meager stats.
  3. I wouldn't want a limitation on Fortune and Fate as a solution to Caldara. That is only 1 of 2 possible ressurection cards currently in the card pool. Future cards would have to take Caldara into account and limit themselves accordingly too. (Houses of Healing is Lore and not likely an include in a monospirit Caldara deck, although it's not impossible --- but it can could be included in a companion deck to great effect, so any limit on Fortune and Fate would also have to be applied to this and other ressurect cards)
  4. There are three uncontroversial rules clarifications that appear at the end of the document, but not on the 'list of changes' at the beginning of the document. (Pretty sure they're new, but I'm not 100% sure-- either they're new, or they were in the previous FAQ, but they forgot to change the text color to black in this version) Here they are: Q: Can I use Proud Hunters (H 32) to add resources to Beorn’s (OHaUH 1) resource pool even though he is immune to player card effects? A: Yes. A hero’s resource pool is a separate game element from the hero card, so cards that target Beorn’s resource pool (and not Beorn) are not affected by his immunity to player card effects. Q: Can I play Elevenses (DC 36) after resolving a quest since characters are considered to be committed to the quest until the end of the quest phase? A: No. Elevenses says “Play only after the staging step” which means it is only playable immediately after the staging step ends. Q: Are there any player cards that allow me to attack an enemy in the staging area if it is immune to player card effects? A: No. None.
  5. Wow they finally clipped Boromir's wings. That was long overdue. It removes the main overpowered use of Boromir, which was to have him single-handedly take care of all the defending and attacking. The Hama and Caldara ones hurt. Out of the Wild --- outside of a crazy combo deck, I think this errata makes the card a little stronger, because it now combos with Keen as Lances better (as noted in the FAQ).
  6. Here is a related ruling: Q: I played a Knife in the Dark yesterday where a Ringwraith had two shadow cards when it attacked. Both of the shadow cards were both Pathless Country, which says "After this attack, the attacking enemy engages the next player then makes an immediate attack." How would this situation resolve?A: In the situation you just described, the enemy will engage the next player after resolving its attack against you. Then it will make 2 attacks in a row against that player. From the thread here. I interpreted that to mean that "next player" is determined at the time the shadow effect is revealed. That would be consistent with your options 1 and 3 above, but I don't know if we have anything official that suggests one over the other.
  7. Saw a news story today that Christopher Tolkien has resigned as Tolkien Estate Director (happened back in August, but the news just broke today, or at least I'm only just seeing it). This would open up negotiations for licensing of properties that he has long protected, like The Silmarillion. It's already resulted in a new Middle-Earth TV series on Amazon. So.... about that announcement?
  8. Don't know, but here are some thoughts: when you cancel a card's effects, the fact that "a card was revealed" is not cancelled. The basic game mechanic of "reveal 1 card per player" still gets satisfied. You don't have to reveal a new card unless the cancelling card specifically says so, like with Quick Ears or Eleanor, but not with A Test of Will or The Door is Closed! So, either that card was "untyped" and its traits also are cancelled, and the only thing that the game knows is that "a card" was revealed, OR it retains its type, traits, and other portions of the card like its flavor text (hey maybe someday we'll have a card that keys off of flavor text, hah!), which would satisfy Bolg's Surge.
  9. This is the only scenario in the game for which Fatty Bolger is a thematic inclusion. He was in my campaign originally That also meant I had to keep him in the party all the way to Rivendell, or suffer a permanent +1 penalty... so in my version of events, Fatty got to sup at Elrond's table.
  10. Yep-- if you can't survive the attack, you'd best Hide. Plan on winning those tests.
  11. I used control effectively in a couple of very different decks. Both were in saga campaigns, different campaigns, but both of them 2-player. Neither were secrecy decks. As PocketWraith mentions above, they were effective because they mixed control with other standard aspects of the game. In one of them, I had a combat tactics/lore deck and snuck in some Out of the Wilds and The Door is Closed -- I think only those two. It only had one Lore hero, but it was Grima with Keys of Orthanc attached, so paying for Out of the Wild wasn't so bad. I think I only ran that setup for one scenario, which was Passage of the Marshes, although I might have played it for more. In that scenario, I am pretty sure I removed We Hates Them from the encounter deck, and then cancelled it later. A good card to use The Door is Closed on, because it has Surge and effectively you are cancelling two cards. I might also have removed Bitter Reek. The other duties of that deck included most of the attacking, and a little bit of the defense, but only a drop of willpower. The companion deck handled 90% or more of the questing, and most of the defense with Erkenbrand and some other cards. In another game, I had Galadriel/Haldir/Damrod and again used Out of the Wild with The Door is Closed. That deck was paired with a combat deck which supplied Haldir with weapons. The Galadriel deck did 80% or so of the willpower, plus control (which included some control through Traps). I think I used it for the entire Land of Shadow box, but mostly I remember it being very very useful against Shelob. I definitely removed and then repeatedly cancelled Rage and Hunger. That deck also used Ranger Bows to whittle her down. I also used that deck against The Dread Realm. So there are a couple of different decks that fit control in effectively. Very different decks, but they didn't wholly specialize in control. You can pepper it in and still enjoy a big benefit, while also seriously changing the flavor of your deck and your goals while playing. edit: just checked my quest log and the control version of the Galadriel deck originated with Journey to the Cross-roads, where it was instrumental in helping me win with a very low escape count (only 1 Man of Harad escaped). It removed a Man of Harad, Marching Up the Road, and Dark Lord's Summons, then later cancelled Dark Lord's Summons with The Door is Closed (that's a Peril card, so I must have gotten lucky with turn order). Not to mention some cancels with A Test of Will.
  12. It looks like you didn't do anything wrong (killed Shagrat in the round that he was added to the staging area while still on 2B?). It means that you'll miss the Forced effect which lets you get your boons in the middle of the quest. However, since you did defeat Shagrat, none of the boons are removed from the campaign pool. So you can use them in a later quest. That's how I interpreted it.
  13. It sounds like you've understood Stand Together correctly. You can use it, then for the remainder of that combat phase, you can defenders basically in the same way you declare attackers. Multiple defenders can stack up against one attack. They still have to be ready, and they can still only defend once (unless you can ready them someone), same as performing an attack. And there is a clarification about it in the FAQ: "(1.04) Damage and Multiple Defenders If a player uses card effects to declare multiple defenders against a single enemy attack, the defending player must assign all damage from that attack to a single defending character" As for shadow cards, if a shadow card says "Defending character gets -1 defense," I think I would apply that to 1 character only, not all of the characters. Same if the card says "Deal 1 damage to the defending character." My reasoning is that it says "character" and not "characters," but I don't have anything official to back that up. When you determine combat damage, you will tally together all of the defenders' defense stats, then apply any damage exceeding that tally to a single defending character. And if you like cards that let you declare multiple defenders, here is a newer card that might interest you:
  14. Yep, hideous! I think all the engagement will happen simultaneously, which will then cue up a series of Forced effects that need to be resolved one by one. You will choose the order in which you can resolve the Forced effects. It also cues up Sam's effect at the same time, so you'll get the benefit from his Response regardless of any subsequent threat raising. You'll just resolve all of his Responses after you finish resolving all of the Forced effects. What mattered was your threat level at the time that The Ring Draws Them was resolved (end of quest phase) and the simultaneous engagement occurred. For Gorbag: I think you'll resolve his Forced effect by initiating the attack: deal him a shadow card, then you're free to resolve the next Forced effect (or if there are no more, you're free to trigger Sam's response). I think so because we've previously had rulings which stated you could take actions (such as readying Boromir) before you declare the defender if an enemy makes an attack as the result of a When Revealed effect. A Forced effect should work the same way. If you're free to trigger actions at that point, that means you're free to trigger Responses, which should be done before you take any Actions. And Forced effects trigger before Responses, so ... I would structure the timing that way. 1) engage Gorbag, 2) deal him a shadow card to "initiate" the attack, 3) resolve each other Forced effect, 4) resolve Sam's response(s), 5) delcare a defender and complete Gorbag's attack. If Sam is exhausted at the time you engage enemies, it seems you won't be able to use him to satisfy the exhaustion effect from Orc of Mordor, using that timing structure.