Jump to content

florrat

Members
  • Content Count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

Everything posted by florrat

  1. I also had a question about the book club relation card: does the second investigator has to spend movement points to (try to) read the tome?
  2. For non-AH acronyms, the urban dictionary is very handy: http://www.urbandictionary.com IIRC: If I Recall (Remember) correctly If the context allows, L.o.A. might mean lack of attention.
  3. @Dam: So suppose you enter a location with 2 monsters, try to evade the first one, fail, receive combat and horror damage, succesfully flee from it, and then succesfully evade the second monster. Do you suggest that you have to check Martial Law just before you tried to evade the second monster (because then it was clear your movement ended)? But it's still quite weird it happens after one combat and before the second. Other options in your ruling seem weirder (check ML after failing evade check, but before taking combat damage OR you have to announce before your first evade check if this check is made because you want to move on or if it's made because you want to end you movement, and depending the ML timing on that announcement). It seems more elegant if ML timing was after monster combat. Your argument about the same wording suggest that investigators may decide which comes first, per Timing Conflicts.
  4. Thanks for the great responses so far! The following questions are "open" as far as I know: 1 (except last question) 6/6.5 (I received two answers, but I still don't find it very clear: If you "lose your next turn", do you have to fight monsters next movement phase? Does this include the case of being arrested?) 10 9.5 (sorry about the ordering) 13 (except Warlock part) 17 (couldn't find all answers, see below) 19 (see below) ----------------------------------------- @Answers: About 7: So am I right that "(…) cannot be lost or stolen unless you choose to allow it" is only useful if you get an encounter/effect which says "lose/discard all your items" or "lose/discard X items" and you have less than X items? (which means that it is most often very useless since you have enough other items to discard) 16: My 2 cents: I think you should be able to use Warding Statue after failing an evade check against a monster. In the game there are a lot of occurrences where they wrote "after failing a combat check" when they meant "when receiving combat damage". Examples include monster special damage (Nightgaunt/Elder Thing/Dimensional Shambler and probably all Dunwich Horror cards). 17: @Tbla: About "#investigators>#open gates", I don't think it's the easier case… But I think your algorithm can be extended: do the same, but if you've chosen all gates, you do another round, starting with the surging gate (if it was specified), and continuing until you've done (max(#players,#open gates)) steps. I don't think your interpretation of "warding of the yellow sign" is very logical. In the case "#investigators>#open gates" your interpretation would mean that more monsters will come from the other gates if you place that card on one of the open gates. Example: 8 players, 2 open gates, 1 of them containing warding of the yellow sign, 0 monsters in Arkham. In a monster surge, your interpretation means that 8 monsters will come from the gate without the card? Wouldn't 4 be more logical? Next example: same, except 11 monsters in Arkham? How many monsters in the Outskirts? 4? 8? 19 Sorry for the vague statement, and thanks for the useful comment, Walk. I meant with the question: "For any two locations, what is the distance between them w.r.t. Hound of Tindalos movement". Of course adjacent locations have distance 1, and now I know train depots have distance 1, too. But what is the distance from, say, Innsmouth Shore to Devils Reef? 2? Some distance larger than all other distances (but still reachable)? unreachable? 24: So if you have an encounter which says "return to arkham", you'll return to Arkham with explored marker, if a corresponding gate happens to be open? That's a quick (but of course, very unpredictable/unreliable) way to close gates. I guess this WILL end your arkham encounter phase (so that you cannot close the gate the same turn?) 25: Thank you for your answers about the different options. I think that is the best way to define it, too (discarding the thing where you can discard the highest percentage of it). About the "pay $X or (…)" issue; that's indeed exactly which causes my confusing about the bank loan. For the time being (unless other good arguments are supplied) I will read it as "choose to either pay $X or do (…)". 28: Harsh, but doesn't sound unreasonable. 30/31: So if you have an encounter which instructs you to do multiple things, they all happen simultaneously? So if you have 1 sanity, and you get the encounter "gain 1 clue token, but lose 1 sanity"; you can choose to get the clue token after losing the sanity (where you might have to discard half of your clues), and if you get "lose 1 sanity and 1 clue token", you may choose to first lose the clue token? --- New questions: 32: Is there a difference between "losing" and "discarding" (example: "Lose all your items" vs "Discard all your items")? 33: Is the following rule correct: "If some monster special damage cannot be executed, and its combat damage is 0, then the combat immediately ends" Examples: -Dimensional Shambler vs Sister Mary (or does the fight continue?); -Dunwhich Horror card "if you fail a combat check, lose all of your items" when you have no items (for example if you failed the combat check for the second time) -Nightgaunt without open gates (this one was the reason I think this rule is reasonable)
  5. I've also had a game where the Ancient One awakened at turn 2. It was an eight player game and in turn 2 there were 2 investigators with the encounter "A gate and a monster appears". He awakened during the third mythos phase (in turn 2) when there were 5 gates open (during each mythos phase there was also a gate opening).
  6. Thank you very much for your fast first answers. Most answers are more or less what I expected. Some remarks 3: Can you also default a bank loan if you actually have money to pay it (but do not want to)? Because this would make bank loans seem rather overpowered. If you have some spare turns (which is not that strange with enough investigators), player 1 could get a bank loan, give all his possessions away to player 2 and then they can both shop for items, until player 1 loses his bank loan, after which you can redistribute items and move on. 6: Are you sure. In the game rules it states that when you're arrested "The player completely skips the next turn, simply standing his investigator marker and placing it in the main area of the Police Station during the Movement Phase.", so it would be logical that it would have the same result as question 6.5 6.5: There are two such encounters in the base game. In the Woods: "You meet an old wise man in the grove who offers to share his wisdom with you. If you accept, lose your next turn and make a Lore (-2) check. If you pass, you may draw 1 Skill, or draw 2 Spells, or gain 4 Clue tokens. If you fail, nothing happens." and in Arkham Asylum "Nurse Heather accidentally injects you with a sleeping draught. You may make a Fight (-2) check to resist. If you fail or choose not to resist, lose your next turn and gain 2 Sanity from the prolonged rest. If you pass, nothing happens." 9: Could you please answer this again, because I don't know which part you're answering.
  7. Below there are a lot of questions about very specific situations and which won't matter that much. So if you don't like nitpicking questions, consider to stop reading. Also, I'm not really waiting for answers like "play as you want", but would rather like to know the "official" ruling. Or, if there's no official ruling, hear opinions why one alternative is more logical than the other. Thanks in advance for answering these questions! 1 What happens if a monster is placed in the outskirts when the terror level is 10? (for example by Mother Hydra). If this happens as normal, what happens if the outskirts limit is reached? The terror level increases as normal? (meaning that a doom token is added to the doom track?). Related: if the terror level is 10, do you immediately add 1 doom token to the doom track or only for every additional terror level increase? 2 What do fliers do if they do not move to the Sky (for example with environment Angry Red Skies) and they move (with no investigator nearby)? Do they move as though they were a normal monster or do they stay where they are? (if they move as a normal monster: what happens with a gate burst: "all flying monsters move"? White or black?) 3 Exactly when can you default a bank loan? Is there indeed no penalty of defaulting if you currently have no items (except that you can't gain another one)? 4 When returning from LiTaS just before upkeep, do you pick up the clue tokens of you destination? In general, if you move somewhere in some other phase than the movement phase (for example in an encounter like: "move to … and immediately have an encounter there"), do you pick up the clues there? 5 Can you use items/spells in the movement phase if you are delayed (as long as they don't use movement points)? Or is the only action allowed standing up your investigator? In the last case, what happens if monsters are in the same location as you. You have to fight them, right? 6 Related to 5: When you're arrested and move you're investigator to the police station in the next movement phase, do you have to fight monsters that are in the police station (for example Hound of Tindalos)? 6.5 If you've had an encounter which says "lose your next turn" (as opposed to "be delayed" or "stay here next turn") you won't get any encounters and cannot use any cards next turn, right? Do you have to fight monsters in your location as normal, tough? Without weapons? 7 The .18 Derringer states ".18 Derringer cannot be lost or stolen unless you choose to allow it". How does this exactly work? If you have to discard a (common) item, can you choose the derringer, and after that say "but that item cannot be stolen, so I'll keep it", effectivelty negating the effect? Same question if you lose half of your items (for example when knocked unconscious). If both answers are "no", is the text of the Derringer then only useful if you lose all your items? 8 When you can use an item or spell in the upkeep, need this to be done in the "Perform Upkeep Actions"-subphase, or can you also do this in the "Adjust Skills"-subphase after using focus? If you can do it in the "Adjust Skills" phase, can you then move skill slider, cast spell, move skill slider back (provided that you have enough focus)? 9 Can you use "Powder of Ibn-Ghazi" (lose 1 sanity and discard to gain +9 to combat checks) when you have only 1 sanity to defeat a monster (and then go insane)? Or, if you're stupid enough to use it, will you merely go insane? 10 Sometimes the price of an item is relevant (there's an encounter which says you have to discard your most expensive item or something like that). What's the price of spells? What's the price of deputy's revolver and Patrol Wagon? 9.5 Are "The White Ship" and "The Great Seal" items? Are there other special cards considered items (except of Deputy's revolver and patrol wagon)? 11 If you use an item or spell to automatically pass some check, or add successes to that check, but the card does not state if it has to be used before rolling for the check or after rolling, when can you use it? Examples: Blue Watcher of the Pyramid, Mists of Releh,Bind Monster 12 Suppose you have an explored marker on a (moving) gate which is NOT in an unstable location. Can you use an elder sign (maybe only to close the gate)? If so, what happens? 13 About Flute of the Outer Gods ("Lose 3 Sanity and 3 Stamina and discard Flute of the Outer Gods before making a Combat check to defeat all monsters in your current area. This does not affect Ancient Ones."): Can it be used in a combat check from an encounter? If so, what happens to that combat check? If used against monsters, do you get damage from overwhelming of the monsters defeated this way? If there's a warlock (or something) in your location, do you get the clue tokens just as if you have passed a combat check against it? 14 Do "Blue Watcher of the Pyramid" and "Flute of the Outer Gods" work against the Dunwich Horror (which will make him a whole lot less unbeatable)? 15 Can Ruby of R'lyeh be used by more than 1 investigator in a single movement phase? If no, shouldn't the text be replace with "Exhaust to gain 3 movement points"? If yes, can an investigator during its movement grab the Ruby from another investigator, use it, and give it back immediately afterwards to gain 3 movement points? 16 Can Warding Statue ("Discard Warding Statue after failing a Combat check to reduce the monster's combat damage to 0 Stamina. This can also be used to cancel an Ancient One's entire attack for 1 turn.") also be used when failing an evade check against a monster? Does it also remove other effects when failing a combat check? (like losing an item against an Elder Thing) 17 Please give an algorithm to determine how much monster go where when a monster surge occurs. Please include the following problems: -monsters being sent to the outskirts by the monster limit -monster limit removed since this monster surge raised the terror level to 10 -expansions where monsters do not count against the monster limit -the card "Warding of the Yellow Sign" being placed on the board ("When you gain this card, choose a location in Arkham and place this card there. No monsters may appear via gates in this location. Monsters that appear during encounters in this location may automatically be Evaded.") If a general algorithm is too hard to give, please state what happens in the following scenarios: (a)In the following example: 7 player game, 3 gates open: Devil Reef (Innsmouth), Independence Square and Graveyard. There are 9 monsters in Arkham, and the terror level is 0. A monster surge occurs in the Graveyard. Am I correct that there will be placed 2 monsters on Devil Reef, 1 in Graveyard, 0 in Independence Square and 4 in Outskirts (and then resolving that the outskirts is too full, raising the terror level by 2)? (b)Same situation, except that the terror level now is 8 and there's 1 monster already in the Outskirts. Then after placing 3 monsters in the Outskirts, the terror level reaches 10 and Arkham is overrun. So then the logical place for the last monster would be Independence Square, right? But then we are in the confusing situation that there have been placed 2 monsters on Devil Reef, 1 in Graveyard, 1 on Independence Square and 3 in Outskirts, while the monster surge occurred in Graveyard, and no game mechanic prohibits the fact that 1 extra monster would have been placed in Graveyard (instead of Devil Reef). ©What does the card "Warding of the Yellow Sign" exactly do? Does this card work when monsters appear via a monster surge? If so, does this reduce the amount of monsters which appear as a result of this monster surge? Or will there appear more monsters from different gates? What happens if some or all monsters are placed in the outskirts? Will they be treated as "visited the location for a fraction of a second and then moved to the outskirts" (such that the card still has effect)? 18 In the encounter "You touch Founder's Rock. Make a Luck (-1) check. If you pass, there is an electrifying shock that opens your mind to the elder things of eons past. Lose 1 Stamina, but gain 2 Clue tokens and draw 1 Spell. If you fail, you find a strange carving. As you finger the grooves, a gate opens here and you are drawn through it." how many monsters appear out of this gate? The same number as if it stated "A gate and a monster appear" (so 1 or 2)? 19 What is the Hound of Tindalos distance function (include travel across different boards, devil's reef, y'ha-ntlei and kingsport head locations)? 20 Do spells still have effect when you go insane by paying its sanity cost? 21 Can you spend more sanity/stamina than you currently have? For example use bind monster on a very dangerous monster when you have only 1 sanity? 22 If you're arrested (or instructed by some encounter), you skip your next turn. What if the ancient one awakens later the same turn as you're arrested in, do you fight it normally the first turn? 23 When you're devoured (not in the final battle) exactly when does your new investigator enter play? Begin of the next upkeep phase? In the last case, can he get an arkham encounter before having a movement phase? 24 There are quite some encounters which state that you move to some other world, have an encounter there and immediately return. What happens if the encounter in the other world makes you Lost in Time and Space (you do not return then?), return to Arkham (do you just return to your original location, or to an open gate with an explored marker? Or are you lost in time and space if there's no open gate?), or delay you (you're just delayed after returning to arkham?)? 25 In the encounter "You are mistaken for an inmate. Doctor Mintz has the guards subdue you and conducts an experiment. Make a Will (-1) [2] check to discover the results. If you pass, the injections seem to increase your capacity for learning. Draw 1 Skill. If you fail, his memory drug fails miserably, resulting in lost knowledge. You must discard one of the following (your choice), if able: 4 Clue tokens, or 2 Spells, or 1 Skill.", if you fail, can you choose an option which you cannot discard (while you can discard one of the other options)? What if you can only partially discard something (for example you have 1 clue token, but two spells, are you allowed to discard the clue token)? If you cannot fully discard any of the options, should you choose an option where you can discard "most"? Does the same logic apply to the encounter "Sheriff Engle notes that you're carrying an awful lot of weapons. Either pay him $5 or discard all of your Weapons."? Because there it would seem rather silly that you have to pay 5 dollar if you do not carry any weapons. 26 If you get an Arkham Encounter "A gate and a monster appears", is it true that you will have 3 other world encounters before you can return to Arkham? (given that you won't be delayed, sent to LiTaS, return to Arkham early, etc.) 27 Some mythos cards (Strange Sightings!) have no gate opening, but say (in the headline) that a monster surge occurs. When does this happen, in the "open gate" part of the mythos phase or the "Activate Mythos Ability" part? Also, the first player gains a clue token, when is that done, "place clue token" part or "Activate Mythos Abililty" part (this does matter in rare cases) 28 Questions about The Black Man ("Before making a Horror check, pass a Luck (-1) check or be devoured. If you pass, gain 2 Clue tokens. In either case, return the Black Man to the cup."). Can you claim it as monster trophy with John Legrasse? Does passing the Luck -1 check count as "killing" the monster? (for encounters like "Two monsters surface from the island's dark waters. If you kill them both, you are Blessed.") 29 An encounter in the Curiositie Shoppe states "Draw a mythos card and move to the gate location shown on it". What happens if you draw a mythos card with 0 or 2 gates on it? Draw again? 30 If you go insane or unconscious during an encounter, but you have not done everything yet, do you complete the encounter? If so, when do you go insane/unconscious? Immediately upon reading "Lose X sanity/stamina", or after the encounter? Or does it depend on what happens next? What if you get "lose 1 sanity but gain 1 clue token"? Do you get the clue token (and before or after losing half of your clues)? And in "Lose 1 sanity and a monster appears", it is pretty clear that you won't have to find the monster if you go insane from the "lose 1 sanity". But what is less clear (and sometimes matters (Rhan-Tegoth)) do you have to draw a monster and immediately return it to the cup? 31 Related: Suppose an encounter says "Lose 2 sanity and 2 stamina". If you go insane from the "Lose 2 sanity", you'll also lose 2 stamina, right? If you are knocked unconscious from that too, you're devoured, right? If so, it means that the "lose 2 sanity" and "lose 2 stamina" will happen simultaneously. So, can you invoke the "Timing conflicts" rule and take the 2 stamina loss first? (this might be of critical importance in some case. Suppose you have 1 sanity, 1 stamina and your only items are 2 food cards…)
  8. Thank you for your very fast reply Tibs! But some answers lead to new questions: (9) Does the answer to 2(b) mean that a flying monster will go to the investigator in that case? (10) Okay, my original question (3) is now totally answered, but now I'm confused what happens in the example of the FAQ: "stay here for 2 turns and gain 2 Clue tokens". (a) Is there a card which actually says something like "stay here for two turns"? (b) What happens in that case? Because it sounds like, "be delayed for two turns", but as you just said, delayed status always completely disappears in a movement phase. And that would imply "stay here for two turns" has the same effect as "stay here next turn" which is crazy... © What happens if you move for some other reason out of that area just after you got the effect "stay here for two turns"? (for example, the place closes) Are you then "delayed" or "delayed for two turns"? (11) Ah, I screwed up my 8b and 8c indeed, I meant to have the YES and NO interchanged. So I'll ask my 8b again: Is there a way to distinguish between secondary abilities needing the hands and secondary abilities not needing them?
  9. Hello everyone, I have some questions, so I hope someone could answer them. I'm new here so I hope this is the (or a) right spot to pose them (1) If you have a skill card like +1 Sneak, "gain 1 extra die when spendig clue tokens". Do BOTH effects also work for evade checks? (2) I have some questions about flying monsters movement? I think I played it wrong until now neglecting some differences between street areas and locations. (a) Can flying monsters move directly to the sky from a location? (b) If a flying monster which stands on the street is about to move, and next to it is an investigator in a location. Will it move to the investigator or to the sky? © If a flying monster is in the sky and there are no investigators on any street area, then it stays in the sky, right? (3) If you are delayed (by Arkham encounter for example) when a gate opens under you (in the Mythos phase for example), for how long are you delayed? [Note: I've already read the following answer somewhere: "just until your next movement phase, since being delayed is a Boolean value". But this is not entirely true because you can be delayed for two turns (as mentioned in the FAQ: "stay here for 2 turns and gain 2 Clue tokens")] (4) When some encounter instructs you to be lost in time and space, do you also lose half of your items/clue tokens? And what if you are lost in time and space because there are no gates you're allowed to move to in your movement phase when returning from an other world? [the last question is answered by House rule 7 of Richard Launius found under "Support", but I always assumed you did not lose anything] (5) What happens if a clue appears at a location (in Mythos phase) with both a gate and at least one investigator? It is lost, right? (6) If something says "lose 1 sanity for each die that did not result in a succes" (or something). Do you then lose 1 sanity multiple times, or do you lose a bunch of sanity once? To be more clear: what if Harvey Walters [ability: sanity losses are reduced by 1] gets this and fails with 5 dice. Does he receive five times a sanity loss of 1-1=0 or does he receive a sanity loss of 5-1=4? (7) I have some questions about the cards "A gate and a monster appear": (a) How many monsters do appear if you play with 5+ players? 1 or 2? (b) Does the investigator which is drawn through the gate get an Other World encounter in this game turn (so the phase immediately after he was sucked through the gate)? © If (b) is NO: is there somewhere where this is EXPLICITLY stated in the game rules (I can't find it, only the implicit statement that you become delayed, else you would explore the gate with just 1 other world encounter)? (d) If (b) is NO: are there other reasons for you not getting a other world encounter while in the other world (apart from obvious cases as in "lose your next turn")? So: do you get one after being drawn through a gate by failing a combat check with a nightgaunt during the movement phase? And what if this happens during the Arkham Encounter phase? (e) If (b) is NO: What is the reason for this? Wouldn't it be more logical to give you an Other World encounter, and not delaying you. You would still have to do two Encounters in the other world before returning to Arkham. Or does this break the game in some way or another? (f) If (b) is YES: then why are you also delayed? (g) What happens to all other investigators in this location? Are they also delayed? Or does this depend on the fact if they've already received an (8) This question is in response to the fact that the secondary abilities of "Bull whip" and "Cross" can be used without using hands for it. (a) Do you need to use your hands for the shotgun to use its ability "sixes count as two successes"? (b) If (a) is NO: Then how can one distinguish between secondary abilities needing the hands and secondary abilities not needing them? © If (a) is YES: doesn't that make the shotgun really overpowered in combination with some +8 weapon combination? (d) Also, does that ability of the shotgun work against physical immune monsters? And how about the secondary ability of the bull whip and the secondary ability of the cross (against magical immune monsters)? If someone could answer some or all of these questions, I'd be really glad!
×
×
  • Create New...