Jump to content

Talismangeek

Members
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Talismangeek

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -
  1. For what it's worth, I agree with Uvatha, though I have never played this way. Logic dictates, if you miss a turn, you did not take that turn. If you did not take that turn, why should it count towards an effect that you must endure for 3 of your turns? This is why there is a difference between turns and rounds. There are many arguments here about "how it should work" or "how it was intended to work", but when you face a question about the rules and there is a disagreement, unless there is an official decision or a house rule on the matter, your only option is to follow what the rules state explicitly.
  2. I disagree with your second point. The amazon ability does not specify that you must skip the first phase (prep phase) just that you immediately fight the battle again. There is nothing preventing you from using additional objects or spells for the second battle. No FAQ needed IMO, the rule is clear to me. You may use the wand before engaging in battle. If you fight a second battle you should get to use the wand again. DE got it right.
  3. I understand the ruling on earthquake was from the FAQ, and so should apply in similar situations, but I question the logic behind it. As per the rulebook Adventure Cards section: "Most of the spaces on the Talisman board instruct players to draw one or more Adventure Cards. When drawn, Adventure Cards are taken from the top of the Adventure deck and placed, faceup, in the space where they are encountered". Therefore, the cards should be placed on the space before encountering (unless their instructions say they should be placed on another space). If you encounter the wasteland, or earthquake, before the other recently drawn adventure cards on the space, I don't understand why they would be immune. I guess the purpose of the FAQ in this case is to allow their intent (when they designed the card) to override the actual rules? Or am I missing something?
  4. Sorry to necro a thread, but this actually just came up in a game. There seem to be different interpretations of the wording in misfortune: "Cast on any character who is about to roll a die. That die automatically rolls a “1” result and cannot be rerolled". The bold part being left to interpretation. It could either mean: a) That die is rolled, and the result is automatically a 1; or b) That die will automatically roll a 1, when it is rolled. In the case of a), I would say with certainty that no, the lucky charm cannot be used to counter misfortune, as the die has already been rolled. In the case of b), I would say the answer is not so simple. The die has not been rolled yet, therefore why can't I use the lucky charm to prevent the die from being rolled? The argument here would be, do I have to fully resolve the spell before I can use any other abilities/effects to influence the die roll (not the spell)? And if so, at what point is the spell fully resolved, once it is cast, or once the die is rolled? Before you answer these questions, think of it this way: If you interpret it like I do in case b), there is no mention of the die being rolled, just that the die automatically rolls a 1 (when it is rolled). The spell has now magically altered that die (picture a 6 sided die with all 1's on it). Is the spell fully resolved now that the die has been altered? Or is the spell not resolved until the die is actually rolled?
  5. Hello, I have a quick question about the Hero Rises ending. One of the conditions on the card states: "If a character would replenish fate, and is already at or above his maximum fate, he gains 1 fate instead." It is clear that if a character is instructed to "replenish 1 fate", and is at or above his fate value, he would gain a fate. What is not clear to me, is what happens when a character is instructed to "replenish fate up to your fate value", if you are at or above your fate value? Would he gain 1 fate, gain fate up to his fate value, or gain no fate at all? All opinions appreciated. Thanks! edit: upon further consideration, I see there are only 2 options, either gain a fate or gain no fate. I am inclined to think he would gain 1 fate.
  6. I see now that it was just a house rule we played since 2nd edition. For the record though, once all 4 talisman cards are taken, you: a) have a very slim chance of drawing one from the adventure deck, and b) don't really stand a chance of winning anyways if you aren't powerful enough to steal one from another player.
  7. Rulebook says "If there are already any cards of any type on the space (such as Adventure, Purchase, or Spell Cards), then only enough cards to make up the given number may be drawn." as well as "Talisman and Purchase Cards are treated in all respects like Adventure Cards, except that instead of being placed on a discard pile when not needed, they are instead returned to their appropriate deck and are available to other characters once more." The rules also state: "Whenever a character is given or buys a Talisman or Purchase Card, the appropriate Talisman or Purchase Card should be taken." The word "given" is a little unclear, but we've always played that when you draw a sword for example from adventure deck, it is discarded and replaced from the purchase deck. It's not exactly "given" to you if you draw it, so is this wrong? It's a rule we remember playing with from 2nd edition, though we could have been wrong back then as well... So in essence, you could never have more than 4 talismans in one game, as ones drawn from adventure deck are replaced by talisman cards.
  8. No pics. Very simple though. Common tray in many tackle boxes. Looks like this: ------------------------------- ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ------------------------------- ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ------------------------------- Key is to find one that is the right size. Like I said, mine fits perfectly in the inner region. Cards can stand upright and I can almost fit the entire adventure deck in 1 row. Never cycle through an entire deck in 1 game anyways. It's no good for storage though, but great for game play. Not enough slots for seperate discard piles with the extra dragon decks though so I just throw all discards in 1 pile and sort them after. Also have to combine purchase deck, stables, talismans, alignment cards etc. in one pile but thats no prob. Still, if FFG made one I would buy it. Especially if they made one for storage. Problem is, have to take into account space for future expansions...
  9. Not really imo. If you intend to buy all the expansions it gets pretty expensive for something you don't intend to play that often. While 4th edition is awesome, the basic game is very similar to 2nd edition. Apart from the new fate system, there aren't that many differences. Of course if money is no issue and you want all the expansions, they bring a whole new aspect to the game that you won't get in 2nd edition.
  10. I ripped apart an old fishing tackle box ($15) that works great. Just had to saw off the arms of the top tray of the box which has plastic dividers that make the perfect size slots for the cards and all tokens. I can fit all cards and tokens from all expansions no prob. It fits perfectly inside the inner region so it takes up less table space. It's not the prettiest looking tray, but I can't imagine playing without it!
  11. Thanks for the input. More or less how I interpreted most of it, just nice to have something to refer to when the questions arise in a game. They could have been more clear however to avoid the die/dice confusion. As in, "you can add 1 to your roll/score when praying" or something like that. So if I understand correctly, if it says "add 1 to your die roll", that can be plural (in all cases?), but if it says "whenever a character rolls A die" then it has to be singular?
  12. Good question, which has in fact been asked before. Though if there ever was an official response I am unable to find it. Battle royale is not turn based in the normal sense. So how do you take into consideration things as you mentioned such as drawing spells, effects of spells, potions, being toaded etc? Since it is unclear and there is apparently yet to be an official response that I am aware of, here is what I suggest: Each attack counts as a turn. Any spells or effects do not carry over to the next attack. It is only considered "your turn" if you win a battle and are in the position to choose your next opponent. So by winning battles you are winning extra turns. Therefore, if you have an ability to draw a spell at the start of your turn, you may only do so if you are the one choosing the next battle. Also, if a character is toaded, they must win 3 battles before they can turn back to normal, so they are pretty much toast... Nasty toadify spell... better hope it doesn't backfire!
  13. In my experience (well over 100 times played), very rarely does the game come down to 2 or more characters battling it out on the crown of command. If it is the battle royale ending, whichever character enters coc first may choose whether to attack other characters using str or craft, even if they don't have the special ability to choose physhic combat (I believe). The inner region (not including dragon expansion) is easier to pass using craft since you don't have to dice with death which is where the big advantage for craft comes imo. Not to mention spell limit. Also some boss endings will require phsycic combat. So there is no real advantage having strength over craft.
  14. Awesome expansion, few questions: 1. First off, this is a general question that has likely been asked before, but when something is added to your die roll, (die being singular) does it also apply to your dice roll? (dice being plural). Example, "add 1 to your die roll when praying". Can you add 1 to your "dice" roll when praying at the temple? 2. If current dragon king gets 3 tokens, same rules apply as crowning new king except he remains king? 3. Dragon Priestess - When performing a ritual after rolling the die for praying, do you have to sacrifce any followers you use to add 1 to the score or can they be used repeatedly? It says you may "use" all, none, or some of your followers. Is the intent of this ability for cultist followers only? 4. Dragon Priestess - When sacrficing objects or followers to a dragon, can you sacrifice bad followers such as hag, poltergeist, or objects such as loadstone? 5. Minotaur - For stampede ability, you may add the result of your movement die to your strength. Are spells, objects and followers that add to your movement included? (maybe only if they specifically say they add to your die roll and not just to your movement?) Can this ability be used with the riding horse? If you say no because of common sense, then can you use the warhorse while stampeding? 6. Dragon Rider - When you enslave a dragon you may add up to 3 to your die roll. Can this be combined with spells, objects or followers that add to your movement? Can this ability be used with riding horse? 7. Conjurer (my favorite) - You may conjur whenever you encounter a space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards. If the space does not already have any adventure cards, you may move a faceup card there. Does this then mean, if you are on a space with instructions to draw 2 adventure cards for example, and there is already 1 card on the space, are you not able to conjure a card instead of drawing the second card? Any responses appreciated.
×
×
  • Create New...