Jump to content

Angus Lee

Members
  • Content Count

    437
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from PoorDick in Quick Q: will Weaver of the Cosmos be released as scheduled/no month delay?   
    Its release has been moved to 'June' according to the recent (April 6) update to the Upcoming page.
     
  2. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from The Gas in The new defence rules create a contradiction with interrupts   
    The new RRG (version 12a) is confusing in the paragraph of "Defend, Defense" on page 5 to 6.  It starts with a paragraph "When an enemy makes an attack, the players have the option to defend against the attack. There are a few different ways this can occur:", which is followed by 5 pullet points.  It would seem that all of the 5 bullet points are "different ways of defend against the attack", but the 4th bullet point is considered undefended, so I am not sure if the 5th bullet point (using a triggered ability that is labeled as Defense) is one of the option to defend against the attack.
    I think I will play as using a triggered ability that is labeled as Defense will be considered as having defended against the attack, thus allowing the play of e.g. Counter-Punch.
  3. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Smiticus in Can you Gain the Credits From 2 Different Bank Jobs From One Run   
    No, you cannot. From the official FAQ:
    "If the Runner has two copies of Bank Job installed, can he use
    both of them as the result of a run on a single remote server?
    The Runner cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When
    the run is successful, he or she may either access cards or use
    the ability of a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing
    cards, so once the Runner triggers one of them the other is no
    longer able to trigger its own replacement ability."
     
    Edit: the official FAQ can be downloaded in the Support section of its Product page.
  4. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Julia in Anyone knows anything about the Arkham Nights AO?   
    Many thanks for sharing!  I will definitely print it out and perhaps try it on Halloween 
  5. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from deeth82 in Welcome to the Age of War Forums!   
    Actually, it is that Elder Sign credited the mechanism to Dr. Knizia (for Risk Express) in the 2nd edition rulebook.
  6. Like
  7. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Rymdkejsaren in Really really want to like this game...   
    Most of my games have been roller-coasters, one side thinking they can not possibly win then turning it around and leaving the other side desperate, only for it to turn back again! I find if you try to apply standard tactics you will fail because you have to expect the battlefield to change quite quickly and drastically. Although sometimes the amount of random chance seems a tad high, I still think it is a game with quite a lot of tactical depth. 
  8. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Dain Ironfoot in The first player gains control of ...   
    If the objective's text has the wordings of "gains control of", it will pass along the first player marker.  For Grimbeorn the old, since it does not mention "control", it stays with one player.  I think it is clarified by Nate long time ago.
  9. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to fallenone2013 in Augustus Cole constant ability   
    Thanks for the answer Angus!
  10. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Julia in Absolutely all orcs were evil?   
    According to the Silmarillion, Orcs were created by Melkor during the time of the Great Darkness "by breeding Elves he had captured and corrupted, by means of torture and mutilation". No space for light in those bleak hearts.
  11. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to shdwfax in Welcome to the Age of War Forums!   
    Thanks Angus! I did not see that...will check it out tonight!
  12. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from shdwfax in Welcome to the Age of War Forums!   
    Actually, it is that Elder Sign credited the mechanism to Dr. Knizia (for Risk Express) in the 2nd edition rulebook.
  13. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to RBorg in Can a portal token be placed in a hex with a unit already in it?   
    Yes
     
    Richard Borg
  14. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Julia in VP and lore trackers   
    VP can be tricky. Remember, the game doesn't immediately end when a faction reaches 16 VP; victory conditions are checked only when the first player starts his next turn, and in case both factions have the same number of VP, then you keep on playing. So 19 VP could be reached, and even more. Not too many (victory by elimination of your opponent is always an option, and the longer the game, the more likely is to actually finish the game due to this reason), but probably you could go on up to 22 or 25. Plus, maybe expansions will add something more to the board, or will feature Scenarios with heavier victory conditions. Don't know, really, but if I were you, I'd consider adding some more space after "16".
     
    As for lore.. difficult to say, since this is probably the thing that could change the most the more expansions (and hence combinations) will be released (just guessing; no idea of any future ideas for BT). I'd go with 20, just to have a margin. In my games, we reached 16 once.
     
    Hope this helps
  15. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Julia in Are Heroic Abilities a Requirement?   
    The heroic ability is optional, as you have to commit Heroic die result to trigger it, and committing die results is optional.
  16. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Julia in Questions for the next FAQ - Please, post your questions here   
    Yes, agreed Angus, this is confusing because Advance does not say that the attacking unit must have remained in their place. I already got an answer on this one (in case it's needed): nope, they cannot advance if moved away. But I'll certainly put it in the FAQ
  17. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Julia in Questions for the next FAQ - Please, post your questions here   
    This is from another thread:
    Situation:
    My Citadel Guards attacked the opponent's Obscene and forced them to retreat. Due to their special ability "Ferocity", they were allowed to counter first. My opponent rolled a retreat, which caused me to retreat as well.
    Can my Citadel Guards still advance to the Obscene's original space, effectively moving 2 or even more spaces??? Or can I ONLY advance, if my unit is still adjacent to the target unit's original space?
    page 10 of the reference book under "unstoppable (lore card)" says there: "If the counter forces the enemy unit to retreat one or more hexes, the enemy unit cannot advance or use a Pursue ability."
    However, it is not mentioned explicitly in the Ferocity's entry
  18. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Julia in Questions for the next FAQ - Please, post your questions here   
    Hi folks,

    I was asked by FFG to start collecting questions for an upcoming Battlelore 2nd edition FAQ project. So, if you have any issues requiring an official clarification, you believe some points in the wording of cards or rules are obscure, or are uncertain on anything else, please post your questions here. We could try to find a proper solution together (sometimes rules are nifty, but reasoning together helps getting all the nuances; or helps understanding better the problem) and then, if they are still obscure, I'll report them to the attention of FFG.

    Also, if you received official clarifications via email, please post questions and answer here as well, so that everything can be included in the very same document.

    And gently, when you pass by, thumb this entry for visibility

    Thanks a lot for your help The game is awesome, and with your help will be even better

    JULIA


    PS-DISCLAIMER: I'm not working for FFG, just volunteering for them in my free time. I'm just a boardgamer like you and in no way, even if we start debating rules, anything I can say is to be considered "official". Thanks for the comprehension and help
  19. Like
    Angus Lee reacted to Bullroarer Took in What is your setup?   
    My setup is much like the picture above, especially if I'm the guy sitting on the far side of the table.  (My tokens are a little more organized though.   )  One thing I do that I haven't read about elsewhere is this:
     
    1.  If a character is committing to the quest I turn them 90º clockwise.
    2.  If I'm committing a character to the quest that does not exhaust to quest I turn them about 30º clockwise as a reminder.
    3.  If I'm exhausting a character for any other reason before the quest phase (Imladris Stargazer or Master of the Frog* for example) I tilt them 90º counter clockwise so that I know they aren't questing when it comes time to count up the Willpower.
    4.  Finally, if I have committed a character to the quest and an event card causes that character to be removed from the quest I turn them on their head.
     
    These are just little things that help me count up the willpower after the event card(s) is revealed.
     
     
    *Intentional
  20. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from JimmyS2 in Question about the rules   
    It means the "defender" of the original attack (i.e. the non-active player) who make a counter-attack and destroy or force the original attacker to retreat cannot advance.
     
    Edit: ranged attacks cannot be counter-attacked.
  21. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Julia in Curious why only 4 dice were included?   
    Perhaps FFG is going to release a second starter box with two other factions and other accessories including dice so that it is a stand-alone product instead of an expansion to this base game.  (Pure speculation and I am dreaming)
  22. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from INtheShadowplay in Are these standard-sized cards?   
    Yes, all LCGs produced by FFG has the same card size as most CCGs such as MTG.
  23. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from PBrennan in Shielding question   
    Are you asking about the "Shielding" keyword?  From the rulebook, P.25, "When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared as either attacker or defender, its controller may immediately place one shield token on any friendly unshielded participating unit, or to the engaged objective card, if unshielded."
    As it states "may immediately place", it is an optional effect, and if used, it must be immediately after the unit is declared as an attacker or defender.  If it passes the chance then it is lost.  Your opponent is wrong in this case.
  24. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Robin13 in wounds   
    Yes, it is correct.
  25. Like
    Angus Lee got a reaction from Robin13 in wounds   
    You're correct again
×
×
  • Create New...