Hello There, I have the answers for several questions that Sam Stewart kindly answered (thanks again!). I reformated the questions below for clarity.
1) Extra reload & Dueling Pistol Pt2 (see my previous post, on Apr 11)
Since a "Dueling Pistol" needs an Extra Reload to use more than once. How many uses does an Extra Reload have? Is it one use per item? Or is unlimited?
My question comes from the encumbrance more than the price (Its relatively cheap item, but it has enc=1) My problem is, do I need 6 extra reloads for 6 shots with a Dueling Pistol, or do I need to carry just one Extra Reload?
How many maneuvers does it take to reload a Dueling pistol? I think it is 2: one to take the reload from my equipment and other for reloading, but I want to confirm.
answer: As mentioned previously, you do need one extra reload for each time you reload your dueling pistol. It would also take two maneuvers, one to ready the item, and one to use it.
2) Talents and Quality vs Minions
If one PC fight against 3 minions with Brawl, and activates knockdown with 2 advantages, Does the knockdown apply to all 3 or just 1? What if he uses a "Scathing tirade" action? Does he apply the setbacks to all 3 minions or just 1?
answer: How minion groups are affected by things like Knockdown is usually partially narrative and left up to the GM. It may be that all three minions are knocked down (pick up one and throw them into their buddies!), or it could be that only one of the three is knocked down, but the other two help their friend up and thus still lose their free maneuver! It could even be that the knocked down minion stands up to join the group, and thus doesn't participate in the next Brawl check. The specifics should be left up to your GM.
3) Speak Binary
Does the basic form of "Speak Binary" use an incidental, a maneuver, or an action? How long does it last? An instruction as "open a door" is easy to understand, but "fire at will" might take several combat rounds.
answer: Speak Binary is a passive talent, so it does not require any maneuver, action, or incidental to use. When your character directs an NPC droid to perform a task, if that task requires a skill check, they will add Boost dice to that check. What it takes to direct that droid (an action and a Leadership check, for example, or a maneuver and a simple shouted command) is up to your GM and should also depend on the complexity of the task, but the talent does not have any rules in that regard.
4) Body Guard
If PC (A) act first and activates Body Guard talent on PC (B) while is engaged. What happens when PC (B) moves on his turn? Does the talent still work until the start of the character A next turn?
answer: The PC does need to remain engaged with their Body Guard to keep benefiting from the talent.
5) Force Talents and committed dice
Do FS talents like "Overwhelm Emotion" and "Balance" work if you have all your force dice committed?
answer: When you commit Force dice, your character's Force rating is reduced temporarily. So talents like Overwhelm Emotions and Balance work, but if you've committed all of your Force dice and your Force rating is temporarily 0, you'll add 0 dice to the check.
6) Precision strike
This talent comes with the following information: "Additionally, whenever the character defeats a minion or rival NPC, he may always choose to do so by nonlethal means, even if the environment or exceptional circumstances would normally make that very difficult or impossible." Does "Precision strike" needs to be active for the special effect (take out the enemy as non-lethal), or is a passive (and additional) effect of the talent?
answer: Your character can always take out the NPC nonlethally with this talent.
7) Brawl weapons and strain damage
Can Brawl weapons be used for strain damage? In the asked and answered questions of the forum, the answer to a question regarding Precision Strike, was: "Normally, Brawl weapons augment unarmed attacks, and can be used as part of an unarmed attack. Some talents may specifically require the user to not be wielding any weapons, which would include Brawl weapons."
answer: Brawl weapons can usually be used nonlethally because they augment unarmed attack. However, some Brawl weapons may not make narrative sense to be used nonlethally. A specific example of these are vibroknucklers, which are literally vibroblades strapped to your character's knuckles. In that case, it doesn't make sense that these could deal strain damage. As always, we encourage people to use common sense depending on the situation!