Little and Less Event in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion Posted October 24, 2012 ktom said: dcdennis said: which brings up a question ive been meaning to ask. can you respond to an action that doesnt happen? No. dcdennis said: meaning if both players pass actions in that window, can you still respond with this event? No. Remember that the "Player Action Windows" that appear on the flowcharts are not action windows. They are placeholders to tell you where players can take actions if they choose to. It is the actual initiation of an effect that opens an action window. If no one initiates anything, there is no active window, so there is no place to Respond. So, for example, if you don't use this Response in the "start phase" framework window that begins the challenge phase, and all players pass on triggering an action in the first "pre-challenge" player action window, you won't get a chance to play this event until the Response step of the "initiate challenge" framework action that begins the first challenge. Just to confirm, though, I CAN say "I'm responding to the starting of x phase by playing this" even if there are no other responses to the phase beginning? And also confirm that this would happen before Shadows?